August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

QuickHunt

by MvdLaar - Jam Entry

In QuickHunt, you play the fastest hunter alive. For every animal you must hunt down, you get a mere 10 seconds. Try to stay within these 10 seconds, or you will have to make up for it when hunting for a next target!

Think fast, throw fast and hunt fast in this exciting topdown shooter, or rather stone-throwing game! Can you get the world's best?

In the bottom left is your hitlist: it says what animal you need to hunt next. Be quick and shoot as many animals as you can before nightfall.

QuickHunt is a topdown stone-throwing game with a clean, geometrical artstyle. The game was made by Marc Peyre, Timo van Hugten and Matthijs van de Laar. We form Twirlbound, a Dutch game development company.

-- As a bonus, and due to popular demand, we added 9 wallpapers to the zip file! --

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.66
#48Overall(Jam)3.78
#66Mood(Jam)3.63
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#187Humor(Jam)2.83
#191Innovation(Jam)3.21
#263Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Really love this art style, great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Enjoyed the art style. Well done!

Schulles says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Woah!

I just love those graphics; simple but so damn cool! This game really made me want to download blender and unity and give it a try! Running around and scrolling is amazingly smooth! The animals looked just great and the frogs even jump around! It's those details that make a game awesome like this one. The whole art fits perfectly together.

I didn't like that the AI made the fox run into the building and not even turn around, or make them stuck in the trees all the time, but I loved how the animals were smart enough to run away, when I didn't hit them with the first try...

So the graphics is a 5/5. The theme, well, nothing amazingly original, but well executed 4/5. The audio is missing music completely, but other than that: georgeus; 3/5. Innovation, I would say that's a very innovative classic hunting game 4/5. Humor, the cartoony graphics and the whole cute and funny look of the player, etc. make it a 4/5. Mood is nothing deep, but cheerful and bright 4/5.

Now, about the fun, mhh, gets repetetive too fast, could need some changes like things to buy, different stages, maybe enemies? Something more than just shooting at animals with stones, although that's also fun for a while: 3/5. And why does it take as many rocks to kill a boar that it does to knockout a tiny froggy?

That makes a 4/5! Thanks for sharing and congrats to the team! :)

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57am

@graebor and @Jarcas Studios: thank you so much!
@Schulles: thank you for your kind words! It is basically hide and seek combined with tag, if you strip it down to a very basic level. We wanted to keep this simplicity, also regarding the art style, so there is no difference in strength or anything. And of course we didn't have enough time for a lot of depth.

Thanks again!

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59am

Really fun game, and some of the best graphics I've seen so far this time. I especially liked the transformation from day to night.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

Great aet, nice concept, controls could be a bit more repsonsive

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

It's amazing how you managed to put up so much animations in this amount of time! Really adds to the game. It's a fun concept, but it's also frustrating sometimes to be running around the entire map when you don't see the right animal.

Rather daring to put it up on Kongregate already btw ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07am

Wait a minute! I remmeber this one in post on the main title!
I fell in love in this style of graphics, you did well on this side...and, well..you did well and on the other side to))

Love death animations, it looks like slow-mo, especially with the rabbits)

Great job!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17am

I love this art style it remembers me the knytt stories. Continue please!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28am

Sorry for my last comment. It was to other game... My review of QuickHunt is:

STUNNING! I've no words, i love the art vrey stylish, the theme,... It remembers the classic Ecstatica and Alone in the Dark.

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Thanks everyone!

@TehLulzinator: that's kind of the idea of the game - the frustration you get when you don't find the right animal. It's the balance between the euphoric hunting streak and the frustrating 'shit-I-had-50-seconds-now-I-cant-find-any-frogs'-feeling. Thanks for playing!

@Nezzhil: thanks so much!!

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Holy wow. This art style is amazing. I would love to play more games in this style. Great job guys.

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Graphics and animations are totaly awesome. The gameplay was a little bit boring after a while. Anyway very nice entry.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Amazing, how are you creating all those models and terrain in lowpoly?

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Thanks everyone!

@juaxix: the terrain is made with a perlin noise generation, as well as the mountains; it's procedurally generated, the level is never twice the same. As for the environment: we made some props, put them together in prefabricated sets and the code spreads them over the level. Works like a charm!

Omnus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Love the low poly style. ...and hitting animals with rocks.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Amazing art style. Could have used some more sounds though

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

@Venturelli: have you tried hitting trees, rocks, the cabin and bushes? :D Nah, I agree, maybe some music would have fit. Tried for about 2 hours but nothing pretty came out. Thanks for playing!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Impressive graphics and great mood, congratulations!

Friday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really well made! My complaint is that it turned into a game of luck rather than skill after a while as i couldnt find the animal i was looking for.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Dude, these graphics and animations are /incredible/. You're a really talented artist, seriously.

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Quite a nice game. Did get stuck on a few small rocks though, but other than that it was quite nice.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Amazing graphics and addicting gameplay. Really enjoyed it! Good job :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice work!!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Fun little game with an amazing graphics style.

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Loved the art!

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

GOod little game and good art style. Great job !

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

GREAT game. Love the style, the colors, the smooth movement and animations.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Best Jam entry i have played so far.

Cannot critizise anything about this really. Stunning job.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Art style really works, also I love that the dead animals stick around. I ran crazy at the beginning and killed a lot of things when they weren't on my hitlist... made finding animals on my hitlist harder.

good job.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Impressive and fun game with outstanding graphics and animations! The idea of time between kills was confusing, but it didn't interfere with the fun.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It was very nice just to spend time in that virtual forest!

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Good graphics, good sounds and good mechanics. You did great!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I fell in love with this one

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Looks lovely! Would be good if the camera oriented with the hunter, and if animals fought back or attempted to evade or whatever.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Beautiful!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Beautiful, funny idea, nicely done !

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

AWESOME art.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Awesome graphics but the game isn't all that fun and the controls are sluggish

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

The graphics are great!. The controls felt a bit slow, but the gameplay was fun.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Graphics = SUPERB! Nice game overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Great art style, felt bad about killing all the animals though.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Great simple effective design. The look overall look is a great style.

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I can't emphasize enough how much I like the graphical style of this game. the audio was subtle but great as well

such a lovely game - very well done :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Great job, this game is awesome! Nice graphics.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

For the most part found myself spamming rocks, however this is a very visually impressive game! Well done guys!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

The graphic is stylish, i liked it. But the gameplay is a bit confusing that it's has little connection to "10 seconds". Nice game though :)

Slader16 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Really fun, great game!

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Beautiful game, simple, clean, polished, fun. Great job!

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Extremely polished game! Pretty to look at, nice sounds and mega-awesome for the leaderboards! <3

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very good graphics and awesome design. Great job°!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Your graphics are adorable. Nothing happens for me when time runs out. Also annoying how often animals (or I) got stuck.

Amnoon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very nice game. You are very skilled to finish this game in 3 days. I love unity too but I am very new. Can i ask if you use some special shader or lights to get that final result?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Well this is just amazing.

The art is gorgoeus. Gameplay too. You can't just kill things, you have to be careful not to kill too much. Paired with the exploration this is great.

Nice Work!, is what I'm trying to say :P

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

really great aesthetic
i love the sounds aswell very calm
great mood
great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really beautiful 3d art style, reminds me of Godus. Rated very highly. :)

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Thank you so much, everyone, it means a lot.

@madk: hmmm, we have never heard about that problem before. Could you try the Kongregate mirror?

@Amnoon: our first version of the terrain and props had shadows and some ambient occlusion in them, but we didn't want that; we therefore flat-shaded them. Now, every face is just one single color, apart from the faces around the point lights. We used a simple directional light (and two directional lights from different sides to get some more depth in it) and an ambient light to get the colors going. But the shaders, Unity-wise, are all just diffuse shaders or transparant shaders. No special shader we wrote to make it more flat. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The art style really makes this game stand-out from a lot of other entries, nice addition of the web high-scores at the end there too.

Amnoon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:07pm

@MvdLaar: Thanks for the Reply! So, you get this result only with models with a simple colour in the Diffuse and a good distribution of lights? I ask it because the way that the shadows suits to every face of the model it is awesome. I am shocked that only with a light and no smoothing groups in the models you can reach it! I am not an English native so this is what i have understood jaja.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Lovely :D

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Great art style. Could work better in the theme and the feeling of the game.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Cool graphics, the game is inovative, but the control can be improved :)

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32pm

realy liked the graphics - di you do all the animations - not bad - missing a "big mission" or ending.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

The web please doesn't work on linux, please release a linux binary!

RedHot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Is there any chance you have a video of your progress? It's a hell lot of work done in 3 days. I know Unity speeds things up but that's interesting. How was the content created?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

I'm not completly fan about the game concept (and the camera) but I love the graphic design.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Loved it! Though some of the randomness got in the way (the chickens were nowhere to be found. Maybe they were in the house?) Anyway, well done.

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Love the art style.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Fantastic! I'm stunned that this masterpiece minigame came out of Ludum Dare :) I've played this for quiet a long time now and will continue to play it more!

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38pm

We think QuickHunt is beautiful, fun, and peaceful (for a brutal animal killing game)

skywing says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I love the origami look the game has, and throwing rocks at stuff is really fun too.

DevMax says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Very nice game, good graphics, good gameplay. Very good overall.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Best lookin game Ive played (im sucker for the low poly look). Really quite fun too altho i felt bad killin the cute animals :D Great job

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Lots of atention to detail, I liked it :)

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

It feels really great.

The controls, the graphics, the gameplay. It all adds together really well. Great game.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Graphics were sweet

sometimes collisions/animations were a bit off

too bad I had to animals :(

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Wow! Great work on the aesthetics! So much detail and in 3D, complete with day/night cycle.

Controls was a little slippery, but other than that, great game!

nanotech says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40am

Wow, super polished. It all fits together so nicely.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45am

This is a great looking game, animations are perfect and it's overall fun. So unsettling looking at all the dead animals in the forest.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Very fun game =D

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08am

Really love the graphical style.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

As everyone else, loved the style. Although I could not really enjoy the game because of my Intel 3000...

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

Very atmospheric! Visuals and animation are awesome!
Good job!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

Amazing entry. Loved the art. :D

N427 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

Pretty fun, loved the graphical style!

Stryphe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56am

Nice graphics and very enjoyable game play! Well done!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26am

Great art, very smooth. Nice audio too.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07am

nice sound fx and the aesthetics for the 3d. Great job! If you can, I would love some insight on my entry too: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988

Vaughn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40am

Clearly an amazing piece in almost every regard. As most people have noted, the only criticisms would need to be made in the control and collision department. Otherwise, really beautiful work!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54am

Great art! Fun and simple game, good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

Nice graphics but there's a lack of interest in the concept...It'll be great to have victory and defeat conditions!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07am

really simple enjoyable mechanics, and well executed graphics and audio, great game!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Love the art - that style is one of my favourites (check out Erwin Kho) and one that I've never been able to get a handle on, so I've very jealous ;) The collisions felt a little sticky, but such a solid entry overall!

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

Simple gameplay and great art style! It was a bit hard to find the right animals and I always ended up in negative time, but it was a nice little area to roam around in. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19am

I looooove the art! The game is very fun !

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23am

Nice graphic, nice audio, nice concept... great job !

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice concept and Cute graphics!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

The art style in this brilliant! Its funny how you can kill everything by throwing stones at them. I always end up with negative scores though. Them pesky ninja chickens! :(
Really enjoyed this!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

You have a very nice art style going in this game. The graphics are great! The sounds is also very well done. I'd like to see a full game made using this style and your skills.

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great work!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Quality Quality Quality - splendid job! everything is top notch

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Loved everything about this and can't really fault it at all. In an expanded version, I'd love to see more dangerous animals and a system which allowed you to upgrade your weapons overnight. That's all it would take, I think, to make this into a game which I would pay to have on my ipad. Great work!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Very cohesive and beautiful art style, well done!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

good, fast paced and smooth gameplay with fantastic visuals. relies a little to much on luck and i'd like to be able to change the camera, but great entry!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55pm

great art, nice concept, really amazing in such a short time!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46pm

You people are all awesome, never expected all this!

@RedHot: first of all, we had the extreme luck that everything just... Worked. The first time. No time was spent revising things (apart from gameplay), we didn't have to discuss much and when we did it was while working. We were able to work 55 hours, our artist even more, so we could do a lot.

As for the art specifics: as you can imagine, the trees, bushes, rocks and grass al take less than 5 minutes, certainly when you keep in mind that I, a designer, can color them easily in Unity: we don't have to UV Map or texture anything.
The terrain and mountains are generated and the environment props we put together in small sets to be randomly placed by the code.

Which leaves a hell lot of time for the characters. To be honest, we were shocked as well: our single artist, Timo van Hugten, modelled (low-poly), rigged and animated 6 living creatures in three days. I colored them for the bigger part, so he didn't have to do that, but that is just plain amazing.

Things like the cabin were done in an hour... The 2D art was done by me... And a sick amount of mechanics and code by Marc. So it is very possible but I just got to admit that we worked very, very hard!

Thanks again everyone!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Excellent art style!

ananasblau says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Your game has a presskit for a reason. Excellent work.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29pm

well designed graphics! feels like you thought the design through first..

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:13pm

@Ananasblau: hah, didn't think anyone would notice.. Came up rather spontaneously; I scrolled through the newly made images and imagined some could be used in some way by others.

Thanks guys!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I hunted frogs. OMG ;) The graphics and all the animals are so beautiful. LOve the art style and animations.
I just miss a little bit more feedback and pace. Maybe fleeing animals or particles when you strike them.
What ever, nice one!!!

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Genuinely pretty game, genuinely fun. I'm struggling to think of criticisms, it was made with excellent scope to a high standard. If I had to push, the red trees block vision but that just adds an interesting challenge: Do I go for this frog that's hidden or risk finding another?

Brilliantly fun game.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Beautiful graphics, solid gameplay. Awesome!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37pm

@Just Tom: glad someone recognizes that, exactly the reason we wanted to keep the high trees, it hides some parts which made it a little harder. We tried with lower trees and even transparent trees but that didn't do it for us. :)

Thanks for playing guys!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Very solid graphical design!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Lovely graphics, and the throw physics feels satisfying rather than frustrating which is all too common. Only thing it was lacking was some suitable music, or at least some more sounds (could hardly hear the background ambiance at normal volume), audio cues from the animals to help you hunt would be brilliant.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Great game, the art style is really nice and the ambient sounds also work well. The controls seem very organic too. My only problem is the random spawning of the animals can make 1 try go really well while the next you get stuck with an animal to hunt without it really being in the level yet (it seemed that way anyways after running through the whole level once before finding a second rabbit) but the scoreboard is a nice touch too. Awesome work!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@darkshadow: thanks for playing! We did have cues from animals in place, but unfortunately not enough time to implement them correctly; it felt silly to just put random sounds of animals in there.

Have you tried playing it with headphones? :) The 3D sounds add a lot to the atmosphere!

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice graphics!
The game was interesting (though laggy on my pc), and I found funny that I was able to kill a friggin' boar with a small rock. xD

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Really nice polygon art style.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:36am

Beautiful!

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

Solid entry. Nice art style. Congrats!

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

Awesome art and sounds. The gameplay is somewhat lacking but I think if you redid that part and made it more flashy/rewarding, the game would be even better. Good job.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Fun little game, although the rock-throwing mechanics felt a little bit finnicky. It was hard to gauge where an animal would be in the next couple seconds. Also, I went on an animal-murder spree in the beginning b/c I thought that was the point of the game, until I noticed the specific targets in the corner :/

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Made my best of LD27 list! Real great work!

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Fantastic art style.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

fun i love the artstyle

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I kind of feel back for all those frogs I killed but this is a lovely looking game :D 5*

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

It is amazing ! Excellent design btw

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

This is very pretty, and the ambient sounds are very appropriate too... a nice entry, enjoyed it :P

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

rough around the edges, but amazing graphics for a 3 day game. also hitting animals with small stones is kind of cute.

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Amazing graphics ! These animals are very fragile.

brobutter says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Interesting concept and well executed. Good job!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

Loved the art, but the floaty controls really put a damper on it. Also The trees really got in the the way, wish there was some opacity shifts when they were in the way.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Fantastic art! Pretty good sound too. Well done!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Graphics looks profesional. Good style. But want more fun in gameplay

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:54am

Love the art - really think this style is coming into fashion now. Sound effects are effective and I loved the approach of night with the changes in lighting. Gameplay is a little limp, but I could see it becoming a lot of fun with a couple of modifiers (multipliers, etc). Nice work!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Loved the low poly art, a bit less the gameplay

5ants team says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Great job with the visuals! The gameplay is original and catching, but I don't understand at all why the time goes backwards to -10 and beyond.

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Best 3D art in this Ludum Dare, in my opinion. The collisions are a bit clunky, but this has a lot of potential if you keep improving it.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Graphics were spectacular, gameplay was well thought out, but pleasantly difficult. Excellent entry.

Webravenz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

amazing graphics !

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The art style great. Also the movements and controls feel very smooth. It seems a bit random if there is the right animal near you and that can be a bit frustrating. But thats not a big deal.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Ohhhh this is so pretty! I felt so calm stoning the cute animals! I would love to see a few challenges and penalties, but this was a great entry!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:43am

Beautiful art. That really carried the game for me. I want to run around an RPG with this art style. It wasn't really fun for me to run around and kill things in a specific order but I played 2-3 games.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:42am

I did a terrible score but I definitely like the graphics. The concept is nice too and it's very immersive !

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:57pm

That visual style is amazing - I love it. The soundscape works quite well in getting the right mood across.

I like the gameplay a lot, although sometimes it seems to be a bit unbalanced. Hunting 4 boars in a row when I already had problems finding the second? Hum hum. I REALLY like your choice about just throwing stones at the animals instead of shooting them.

Some music couldn't have hurt! If you can't make it yourself or you just don't have enough time, try out a generator like http://abundant-music.com. It has pretty good results.

Press Kit? Wallpapers? In Ludum Dare? Somebody took polish to the next level :D

Congratulations on finishing your first (and super-polished) LD entry!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I'm a huge fan of those low-poly characters. Really great! Simple and addictive game oozing with style. Very good job :)

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice graphics, all those animals nicely animated.

NateAGeek says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I did like the game... Controls felt a little off. But other than that pretty good.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:09pm

This is beautiful and plays well with lots of replay value. Amazing!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice art style. I was impressed with the number of objects modeled and the animals seemed to be animated well.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

graphics and mood were good -- graphics great -- but not much of a game here -- nice effort

MvdLaar says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

Thanks again, everyone! You're all awesome.

@sP0CkEr2: what would you have liked to see to make it a game, then? :) We went for a small game with one mechanic only, to polish that up as much as we could. What elements of a game are missing? :)

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

Very nice visual presentation, i loved the style of 3d models! I hated a lot trees, because the hide some animals.. maybe make them a little transparent when they are right over you can help at this aspect..
Also, when i had to submit my score, there were a "loading.." text written under "name submit". I waited a bit but nothing showed up, i think it's a bug or something. (played the Web link)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Art is stunning for a game jam entry.

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I love it when somebody uses the time restrictions for their advantage, as has happened here with the art style. Everything is kept super simple, but the choice of shapes and color look very very pleasing and contribute to the mood.
The 10 second theme could have been picked up abit stronger, it merely becomes a simple timer, but overall this is a very fun and well done game :) Kudos!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

This game is great. I like how you interpreted the theme. Your graphics are amazing too. Great job!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:04am

That was very nice looking! well done

as3boyan says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Graphics is so good!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really awesome game!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Very beautiful and well polished game! I could see this game being extended with more weapons, ai behaviors, and specific goal sets.

HippyJonYo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:03pm

That's an amazing amount of polish for such a short time! Great job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:14am

Grafics is fantastic!)) But i want more fan)) very great job!

Chinchilla says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Awesome visual style, sound effects maybe need a bit more punch.

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Wow! great job, I really dig the low poly graphics! A cool game concept and nice sound effects too. The weakest part I felt was the theme integration, but for the game jam, I guess thats minor!

Jhelle says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:16am

Amazing papercraftish graphic style. The game was enjoyable but controls felt a little bit floaty

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Blown away by the graphics! Loved the mood, environment and night shift effect. The find-and-remember gameplay is pretty interesting as well. Theme only fits so-so, I think. All in all, a great game. Poor animals though :(

Taiters says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Cool game, liked the art! Well done

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Really funny hunting game... Killed lots of animals ;)

loxo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Great game, I especially like the graphics!

Taugeshtu says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I'd like to know how you shade things this way :)

smrt_co says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Beautiful graphics. I really enjoyed playing this game. :)

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Amazingly well done!
The collision felt slightly clunky at times though, ex: getting stuck on small rocks.

urth says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:25am

Nice graphics and game concept.

Blue Steel says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:05am

too difficult to play for us people with only one arm .. :( other than that good

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Wow! I just love the style of the graphics! Artwork, sound, physics just all feel right.

Pixzule says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I really loved this game! I also recorded it and put it on YouTube for my show, if anybody cares to watch I'm putting a link here.

http://youtu.be/22a69FA3B80

MvdLaar says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:28am

@Pixzule: thanks so much! We shared the hell out of it. :) Great video!

Mesene says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:21pm

So clean and polished, I enjoyed it :]

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Love the looks of this one! Only thing I didn't like was being stuck in the woods, not even seeing my character, apart from that a very polished and - at least seemingly - finished game =)

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Really amazing art style. The controls felt a little unresponsive which made it less enjoyable, but aside from that, really well done.

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Nice art! i think you can improve the game by adding ability to rotate the camera by the player, cause it's getting a bit boring searching one animal for a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]