August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Second Base

by BeardoGames - Jam Entry

Hey all! Here at Beardo Games we've got all kinds of weird ideas that we try and wrangle into game form. "Second Base" is one that we've had a ton of fun working on, from late Friday brainstorming over plenty of beer to a backache-inducing Saturday through Monday spent in front of our respective laptops to bring this game from our brains to your computer. We're Miles (artist/musician) and Chris (programmer), and this was our first Ludum Dare. We hope you like our game!

------------

Your goal is to get to 10 Second Bases with the women you meet at the ten locations of the game. To get to second base you first have to succeed at first base, so let the kissing begin!

Controls:
Click to select a photo, then click on it again to start the level.

Press Left arrow (or A) to extend your tongue. If your tongue's not out, you're not kissing, and if you're not kissing you're losing point each second.

Press Up or Down arrows (or W and S) to move your tongue up or down, or just leave it be to match how she's kissing (HINT: the more you match what she does, the better you're doing in the game).

Press Space to do a SUPER TONGUE KISS, but beware: do it too long and she'll get sick of it.

Succeed at kissing for long enough and you make it to SECOND BASE!!!

Can't quite get the hang of it? That's too bad, cause if too much time passes, she'll get tired of your lousy kissing skills and you'll get dumped back out to the level select screen.

(DEVELOPER'S NOTES: there's still a bit left that we wanted to include but NO TIME. For instance, you can play levels over and over, there's no real fail screen, no nasty tongue and mouth sound effects, and so on. All of that's coming in the future though!)

UPDATE: New download links! Our hosting for the old location was having some major sketchiness that should now be fixed. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#34Humor(Jam)3.82
#48Innovation(Jam)3.71
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#283Graphics(Jam)3.29
#313Audio(Jam)2.76
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#369Overall(Jam)2.94
#386Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

Haha! Really liked this one! Some of the girls has tongues that moved all over the place, but I got Neil Young to seduce most of 'em!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

Har har, really glad you liked it!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

Hilarious! I feel more confident in my kissin skills now. Nice work :D

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Haha! Great idea. Love that it's not a time based thingie :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Crazy

infinitedog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Your game is kinda weird XD. I love how you interpreted the theme haha

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Did this bring your website down? I am getting a server not found error.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59pm

LOVED the look of this, thought the idea was brilliant but... very little feedback, on performance, that I could see. Now, hey, sometime's that's a challenge in real life, but games could do with a more obvious difficulty curve. =)

Man. That drool. The writhing. It's hilarious and repugnant and strangely arousing. Great work!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Hey everybody! Looks like the site is down at the moment and I'm away from my computer. I should be able to get it reported elsewhere in just a bit!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Aha, looks like it's back up now!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Aaaaand the download is fixed. Moved it to more reliable location. Have fun!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37am

I couldn't stop laughing. Amazing job! Can we be best friends?

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Kindred spirits! Your game is first on my list for tomorrow morning!

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

You've got guts in a positive way ^^

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Real awesome take on the theme, and idea too.. you sir have done good.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I matched her tongue for like 1 mn and nothing happened. The premice is fun but the lack of feedback makes the game pretty frustrating. I think I'm missing something here, but I can't seem to grasp the point. Sorry!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

haaa that was great, I was laughing the whole time. I feel dirty now :(

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Just awesome. Everything. Only thing I could have used was some more feedback. I gave the thrift stop lady the helicopter tongue, but apparently that wasn't what she wanted. Typical.

Gabriel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This is SO MUCH FUN! Really got me laughing! hahaha
And the graveyard level is really freaking scary (for me at least). hahaha

It really could use a little more feedback so you know if you're doing well or not. It also took a little too long for me (I wonder if I was moving back and forth through an invisible 'success meter' until I finally reached one of the extremes and either succeeded or failed).

Anyway, this is just hilarious, had to show it to other people! You really managed to create something visceral here. hahaha

Congratulations!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Interesting game for sure! Great job for first entry!
The thing I saw a bit off was that you have written WASD as controls together with arrow keys but they seem to not work.

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

That's a truly unique and funny game!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Ahahaha, that was... something.

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Haha, spendid! It's missing some goal though, it doesn't seems to track which levels I've already completed (but to be honest I haven't finished all 10 of them to see if something would happen). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]