August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Wrong Door

by Tangible Games - Jam Entry

The Wrong Door is a real-time point and click adventure game with puzzles, fully voiced character dialogue, arcade car chase sequence, fancy graphics and multiple endings.

Done in 72-1 hours!

Hints here: http://files.tangiblegames.com/HintMe.pdf

There is of course a credits screen inside, but before you get there...
Dmitry Tokarev - Programming (Everything)
Eugene Kochnev - Programming (Chase)
Sergey Busygin - Art (Everything)
Ivan Butorin - Art (Characters)
Irina Cybina - Additional Art (Some objects)
Nikita Ptashnik - Sounds, Text and Voice (Boss)
Andrey Orlov - Voice (Ivan)

We've had great fun while making this game :)
First ever Ludum Dare entry for us. We thought we wouldn't be able to finish in time, but surprisingly we did! We even managed to get some sleep during the race.

We hope you will enjoy our little gem! Regrettably, we didn't have time to compile it for Mac, as we had planned, but will hopefully do that tomorrow.

To play it on Windows, you may need to install OpenAL and vcredist, both are in the Zip file alongside the game.

Note: To play again, if you win, you will have to manually close the game and restart.

Hint book will probably be needed [UPDATE: http://files.tangiblegames.com/HintMe.pdf ]- write in comments if you have troubles beating the game, we'll try to help! ;)

ATTENTION: There are some drug references, so this game can be considered unsuitable for minors. Parents, you know what you're doing :)

In case you wonder, voiceover is recorded in Russian "by professional developers", don't be too harsh!

If you will come up with nice English texts and - also (will be even better) - voiceovers, please, send them over, and we'll make a "Platinum" edition later. :)
Here is a link to all English texts: http://goo.gl/Y2xyBs

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#13Audio(Jam)4.06
#17Overall(Jam)3.96
#20Graphics(Jam)4.56
#30Humor(Jam)3.85
#43Mood(Jam)3.77
#73Fun(Jam)3.53
#135Innovation(Jam)3.36
#158Theme(Jam)3.40

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58am

Dear lord your artist is amazing. xD

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Hard, but perfect !

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

Love the visual style and humor! Also love the take on the theme, very unique. Impressed that you even added voice overs!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Great game. Only thing i didn't like was the small wait between failing and being able to retry. Got a little tedious but everything else was awesome

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19am

Awesome arts and Audio design. Simply loved it ! It's an almost complete game in fact, really impressive.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23am

Amazing! Is there an end to the road sequence by the way?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

You can actually escape from the thugs on your little trusty scooter :) Click in the same or adjacent lanes to accelerate...

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

I just spent my shortest 10 seconds.
It's incredible how it's beautifull and funny and nice and I just 5-stared everything.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Dude i love THIS!!!!! awesome graphic, music, all is marvelous!!! goood job!!!!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Wow this is great.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

What a great game! So beautifully drawn. Awesome take on the theme.

DevMax says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Truly amazing work done on the art. The game itself is pretty interesting, the only gripe I had while playing is the time it takes to reset. Other than that its well thought out.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

DAT art! Oh and the music! That was great. Since it was kinda hard, it would be nice to restart the game quickly.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Incredible graphics, nice gameplay, dramatic plot. Really well done in 72 hours. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice art and music, but the game is very hard, and the overall rythm is weird (why so many loooonnng fades ?!?)
Nice game, anyway ! :D

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Amazing is all i can say good job :D

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Wow! This is really good! I'm really impressed you guys got this done in 72 hours. If you post the English script as a single file somewhere so I don't have to tease it out of the game, I'd be happy to edit it a bit for you, though I think you should leave the voiceovers as they are -- they're great!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Great graphics, really funny. Good game.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

The art here is first class! The Russian voice acting is great too!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

<3 the sound,
Art is Amazing!
<3 the theme and the everything, humor, style, just all awesome

bitserum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

The graphics and audio are great. Awesome job! I liked the exploration with what little time there was. But the game is too hard and having to sit through another few seconds of beating and same intro again and again was tedious

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

good job

Amber says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:49am

I was laughing loud enough that my husband told me to stop shrieking. I love the art style and the sound effects, and the music fits perfectly. The fact that the beating went on for so long was hilarious the first few times, but then it got a little tedious. Overall, great job!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:16am

Aw man I can't play windows games. Looks pretty sweet.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:39pm

@jomomomo

We still want to post a Mac OS X version, when we fix one nasty retina-display related bug. No Linux version is possible, though, if you wanted one.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Hey everybody, Mac OS X version is out! :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:29pm

looks and sounds amazing, but it's just too hard. in that scooter-sequence, the fact that you're always in the centre of the screen makes it very hard to react in time when you speed up and has to avoid the stones. i also tried to open the safe but when i had done that once i couldn't click on it any more after that, which seemed strange. and i would actually like to be able to remember were all the things are instead of having to click randomly at the drawers, hoping to get the right one.

but, all these things aside, this is a fantastic entry.

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Excellent art and sound effects, fantastic! Very very very difficult

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]