August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flippin' Matrix

by DaVince - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aka: The Tale of Old Man and Ninja Hacker.

- Run StartGame.exe to start the game.
- Run config.exe to change the graphics/sound/gamepad.
- Keyboard and gamepad supported.
- Source is in games\FlippingMatrix\.

It also runs perfectly under Wine in Linux. In fact, I made
this entirely while on Linux.

You need the editor from spheredev.org in order to be able to
edit maps, fonts and sprites. Pictures and sounds are in a
standard format. Music is also provided in source format
(.it).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Audio3.52
#109Overall3.64
#122Theme3.71
#152Humor3.19
#187Fun3.42
#207Innovation3.50
#272Graphics3.38
#351Mood3.00
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

Hey, i saw your blog posts during development and they were some of the most promising looking out there so i searched for your game and finally managed to find it. (Searching functions of Wordpress arent the best i have to say)

And its great! Exactly what i imagined it to be. Easy to figure out, hard enough to get through. Especially the teleportation puzzle was a bit tricky.

I also dont think the game was too short (yeah, i actually read all the text at the end). I thought it was pretty lenghty for an 48 hour competition.

The art style is simple, but good. I especially liked the animations at the start. The music is very fitting as well.

I generally tend to give everyone high scores in the "Audio" section since i am so horrible at it, haha.


The only little critique i have is that the old man couldve had some more action. Often i was just stadning around with him waiting for the 10 seconds to go down. That was a little problem especially in the middle part, it got better at the end with the doors to unlock and the server rooms to explore. Balancing that perfectly when you are under stress to finish a game in the time limit is hard though.


Overall, great game, really enjoyed it. Fantastic job!

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Very well done! I like the idea and the old man's comments.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

@Lars: Thanks a ton! Glad someone was looking forward to it. I recommend bookmarking all the people who seem to have interesting projects, that's what I do. ;)

I agree entirely on the fact that the old man hardly gets any action. My plan was to have him solve some puzzles in some of the middle bits, but in the end I didn't get time to code it all. That's where the "too short" bit comes from. The old man does almost nothing but wait, unfortunately!

@michall: thanks! Was going for a bit of humour. :)

DaVince

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

There's some good humor in this one. Switching to the old man while jumping across rooftops was a funny surprise. The music in the old man's world helped a lot with the humor.

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Great concept, though i keep dying because of the screen switched mid-air. Silly grandpa!

Here's hoping it will continue someday, as i still didn't get the exact relation between the old man and the ninja :)

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

That was one of the most enjoyable games I've played so far.
I really enjoyed the style of everything and how one side is really fast paced while the other not so much. The audio was really well done too!

A minor bug, I managed to get behind the house and walk under the map to the next level :/ Not sure if that was intentional. Didn't detract from the gameplay at all though so no worries :)

Great game! :)

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

The mechanics are well executed and it look marvelous, however I felt like the old man needed more things to do as I found myself waiting to turn back into the ninja most of the time. Still, great job

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I agree with Skully. The old man needs more things to do because you are just waiting to be able to play again. Or maybe there needs to be obsticals that take just under 10 seconds to do, and if you don't complete them before you are an old man again the old man dies. Like you could be on a slope that's too steep for the old man to stand on without sliding down to his death. So you have to hurry before you switch back.

Still very impressive overall. I really like the graphics, especially the grainy effect on the ninja scene. I think my favourite part was in the house at the beginning.

Radnen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

Great game, but lacked innovative gameplay nearing the end, if it were more like the beginning all the way through it would easily be 5/5 for me.

I didn't have time for sounds or music in my game, so way to go on that front!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57pm

The beginning part was really cool, so good job on that! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

It's quite a clever game! I think it would be nice to have more things that only the old man could do but it's not like 48hrs are that much.

It's a good game for being your first "Let 'em Dare" ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

ZOMG really really good game. Very promising idea, yet I would love to have some speed-up-this-bloody-timer key ;) Good work! Good luck!

DaVince says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Thanks for the reviews so far, all! It's tough to keep the coolness count up. :P Also, yup, looks like everyone's thinking the same thing about Old Man, even me!

doonay21: I can grant that wish! Open games\FlippinMatrix\scripts\start.js in a text editor and change the line saying
var DEBUG = false;
to
var DEBUG = true;
You'll now see some debug stuff on the screen while playing, but button 3 (key S on the keyboard) will now act as an instant switcher. Actually makes it a bit more enjoyable, I think. :P

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

This game was nice! I would like more things to do with the grandpa because i just waited with him so i could use the ninja instead... But overall a very nice game!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Great music, plus I like the reality-swapping idea. I had no idea what I was supposed to be doing, I wandered around for a while, found server rooms and died falling from roof-tops and eventually got in a lift but none of it seemed to be taking me closer to any objective - so I guess a bit more narrative would have been nice. Overall though, really great work

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:50am

Whoa, what a take on the story. It was short, but I've enjoyed its smooth gameplay and nice music. Cool that you've made a joystick support, too.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Funny concept!
So our ninja hacks everything right?
Why didn't he just hack the game to instantly win?
Oh, he can only win every ten seconds? To bad...

Velro says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I'd like to see continued development for this! Great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]