August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Catabolism Runner

by igleyy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm beginner if it comes to game development, it's my third game in my life. Earlier I was able to finish only tic-tac-toe and pong.

I'm glad that I managed to finish Catabolism Runner, feel free to comment.

Source code isn't to clean, that's because I focused at actually creating something playable rather than creating extra clean code, I will do better next time.

If someone would like to compile it by himself I added compile script into sources archive.

Added Windows port, have fun :). If you're missing MSVCR110.dll please install Visual C++ Redistributable from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#660Humor2.06
#820Audio1.95
#1009Theme2.56
#1043Mood1.83
#1043Fun2.22
#1095Innovation2.07
#1128Overall2.24
#1148Graphics1.70

Comments

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

I am not sure what framework you have used for your game and whether you are planning to port it, but you might want to create a Windows binary to increase your audience. Also remember that to participate in the competition, you have to submit your source code as well.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

Windows or web port would be appreciated!

igleyy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Source code added.

After I get back from work I will try to port it to Windows. I used SFML only so it should be easy. We will see :).

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

And linux build is 64 bit only and I can't see obvious way to build from sources.

William Bundy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

Yay! Linux games! It's kinda like Robots (or Tobor, if you're a windows oldie). If you wanted to extend it (so that the game doesn't become impossible past the 1/8th of a second mark), I'd suggest that you'd add a teleport function.

igleyy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

@deniska
I added compile script to sources :).

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

I get a missing library error when I try and run it, I'll see if I can install it later and get a rating done for you.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

as an advice for the future (and future LD's ^^ ) please always consider creating a Windows port as soon as possible. Since the time right after submissal is crucial, many ppl will see you entry, can't play it because they are using Windows (most used OS), and will just skip it without rating it. (also, see the hint page for more tips)

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

FYI: The Linux binary didn't work on my ArchLinux (version mismatch in libGLEW), but thanks to the source code I managed to compile it and play it.

The first two levels are a bit boring, the third one is easy, the fourth one is very difficult (but I managed to beat it \o/) and after that it seems to be impossible.
It's a shame that you have to start over at level 1 when you lose and adding some more gameplay elements would make it less repetitive.

But it's a good start anyway, keep making games :)

igleyy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Thank you guys for your feedback. At the moment I'm installing VS on Windows to prepare Windows port.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Can't start because MSVCR110.dll is missing :(

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Congratulation on your third game in life! It is working well on Windows 7. If somebody is getting "MSVCR110.dll missing" error - try to install Visual C++ Redistributable.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Virtual high five for the linux build, I got to 0.125, then the ghost was just too fast.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09am

Getting the right timing when passing the ghost is critical. A nice short game that is lacking a bit in depth.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16am

Not bad. Try to add some level design and not only a ghost going faster. It can be more funny with maze for example.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17am

Not bad. I would like more variety in the game.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

This music made me crazy @.@ lol
Good job ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Shit just got serious! Great work, gets hard fast!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Wont start on my computer: "The program cant start because MSVCR110.dll is missing from your computer"

igleyy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Please install Visual C++ Redistributable from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679 :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Hey this looks great for a beginning game :)

I can't seem to compile SFML2 which is needed by your game. Any hints or links to suggest? :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Pah, forgot to say, I am running 32-Linux so that is why I want to compile. My repo only has SFML 1.6.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Hello again, I got it working. For how I did this see below, but first comments!

This is a fun little game, go muscle mass! It gets difficult quickly, that Catabolism really goes quick after a few rounds. It is a nice idea that can be expanded on nicely with other tiles and different Catabolisms :)

Technicals: you should add a framerate limiter, it runs the hardware at 100% usage and skyrockets my pc via it's gpu fan. If you develop this more later, make the enemies move towards you diagonally too, on the first few stages you can twart it easily just by going up and down ;D

Good work!


---
Compiling SFML2 worked when I used the code from github (and not the download from the sfml site). Then secondly I had to 'export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib'.

igleyy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Thank you for suggestions :).

Kurisu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Keep doing games :) I liked how you had done the effort to provide clear in game instruction.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

very clear and fun game ..neat

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

Cool entry! It got hard quickly! haha

Kotstulle says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:18am

there are only two difficulty levels: super easy and unplayable hard :D a simple and funny game, but a bit unbalanced :D

Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:07pm

You've got a good structure for a game here. As others have said, some variety in the levels would be a good next move; objects, stuff like that. Good stuff though, Windows build worked perfectly :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]