August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Match

by Tavibo - Jam Entry

Hi there!

This is our entry for this jam. It's our first time joining ludum dare. We hat a lot of fun making this game and looking forward for the next jam.

This game was developed using MonoGame and C#. Because of that we are using OpenAL for music and sound effects. If you need to install it we ship the oalinst.exe aswell. Some People might get problems if they are using an ATI graphics device.

CONTROL
- Arrow keys to move
- Space to light a match
- Return to exit dialogs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#283Audio(Jam)2.86
#330Mood(Jam)2.81
#338Graphics(Jam)3.09
#351Humor(Jam)2.18
#385Overall(Jam)2.91
#422Fun(Jam)2.59
#477Theme(Jam)2.65
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very nice Game with a good idea. The music and sound effects are really good.

Tavibo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Thanks you very much!

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great concept and great lightning effects. Lot of content too, great job overall :)

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice game ! 3D perspective is very clever for thie game !

I'm lost :'(

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

great grafics and really good sounds. good job!

Tavibo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Thank you everyone!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

For your first Ludum Dare, this is pretty good! Since the game seems to be about exploration and perception, managing a limited resource doesn't really seem necessary. Also the traps were maybe a little too hard to see. I can understand blindly stumbling into them while you don't have a match lit, but when you do, it seems a little frustrating. Then again, if the matches were unlimited, I might not feel as much pressure to explore the mazes quickly (and without caution).

More visual landmarks would also help to make the maze navigation a little more interesting. It's pretty easy to go in circles (especially if you're walking in the dark), and just a few different detail tiles would help with that. For 48 hours, it makes sense though, but it may be worth considering if you plan on continuing this post-jam.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53am

The "10 seconds" theme is not very sensible enough...There's a lack of feedback about traps, and the overall rythm is quite slow.
Presentation is good with menus, tutorial and sounds!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

The game freezes every time I hit "Start"

Ahn1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

@Jupiter_Hadley you have to install OpenAl. It is the "oalinst.exe" in the game directory

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I was a little confused by the mouse pointer on the menu at first - I assumed the game was going to be about igniting things with the mouse. But once I got into the game proper, I liked it a lot. The music and art style work very well together to build an atmosphere.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

i got a crash when i hit the start button

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

I like the idea. The menu is solid. The visuals ingame was a bit repetitive, and I seriously couldn't see the traps (I'm colorblind maybe that's why?)
With a bit more variation in terrain, and making traps a bit more visible, this game would be pretty neat!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Such a shame that I can't open this because it looks like just my kind of thing... :( I do have an ATI graphics card, however. It just hangs when I try to open it.

Tavibo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:17am

Hi panurge,

we got several people already that got problems with ATI cards. I don't have one, thats why its hard for me to investigate. Pls check if you have OpenAL installed.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:44am

Interesting idea and good application for the theme. I don't realize how the traps are activated, they are random?

Tavibo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:26pm

No they are activated as soon as you collide with them

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Great concept and execution of the theme. The lighting effect really adds a lot to the atmosphere and challenge of the levels. I did eventually run out of matches and the level became pretty tough. Good music too! Well done!

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

do not working on windows 8 (((

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]