August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Candelabra

by DuFF - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press space to light the first match. A match burns out in 10 seconds. Carry a match by clicking and dragging. Keep the flame alive and light the candle. Don't drag the match too fast or it will blow out!

----------
A lot can happen in 10 seconds.
Once unborn, now alive.
Once surviving, now dead.
Anything can happen in 10 seconds.
Things come, things go.
Emotions take over, then fade away.
Everything has happened in 10 seconds.
10 seconds can change you.
You can change the world in 10 seconds.
Some things you can change without changing anything at all.
----------

Headphones recommended or the oscillations may just sound like a buzz.

Created with the Unity3d game engine. Used the iTween and Polygon Tool libraries from the Unity Asset Store. I excluded Polygon Tool from the source because it is not free. Audio created with sfxr, LMMS and edited with Audacity. Art created with Paint.NET.

Thanks for playing!
gregaring.com
@gregaring

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#163Innovation3.58
#220Mood3.24
#233Theme3.51
#465Audio2.71
#505Graphics2.96
#518Overall3.09
#858Fun2.55
#885Humor1.67

Comments

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Cool idea! I like the exploring in the dark.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Excellent idea but when I drag the match it blinks :/

I loved your music and the mood it creates btw.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Cool game. The flicking was a little annoying, but it is annoying with a real match too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

I think I experienced a glitch. My torch kept going out. Or maybe I Just didn't understand the game.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

Nice take on the theme, great atmosphere idea. With nicer graphics, this could be a really great indie puzzle game (I sure would play this)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

Boring game but the idea was alright

crashbanito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

This game makes me want to smash my mouse through my monitor. It's incredibly wince inducingly difficult. But you know what? I like it.

DuFF says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

Thanks for the feedback :)
@Anoarith the flame is intended to flicker the faster you move it to warn you that it's about to blow out. Glad you enjoy the music!
@Clurect yes, that mechanic will test your patience :x

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Cool, but flickering all the time is annoying and it feels just too slow.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

A neat idea. Not sure if this is a bug but when I lit other matches there would sometimes be two of them.

The humming sound was slightly annoying to me.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Awesome idea! It'd be nice if the candle's flickering was more smooth but it's no big deal.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Very interesting idea, and appropriate visuals. However, it seemed the difference between "too fast" and "as fast as you need to go to win" was pretty small, I had trouble being too fast or too late. Then again, that did make it more challenging, and the flames weakening did give fair warning.

Nice work!

Anoarith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

@DuFF ohhhh okay. Indeed, it's better when I don't try to go too fast ><. Very good game.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Trippy, man. I dig it :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Best for today so far

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I love the athmosphere. Actually the 10 seconds theme is not giving justice to this game. It can become much slower and creepier! Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Fun and difficult! wild design work and music

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Very well done! Really enjoyed the game. Great use of theme.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Aggggg, the first level was for some reason extremely frustrating for me, but I'm glad I persevered. Surprisingly addictive, probably because of the aesthetic, the ease of screwing up, and the well done atmosphere. Great stuff!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Pretty good work! I love the concept. I know it would sort of take away from the point of the idea, but a time would help loads. As others have said, the flickering is kind of annoying and it is just a little bit buggy. Sound was amazing. Keep it up!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Nice little concept

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Cool use of the theme and mechanics. It's the kind of game that can get to your nerves. Nice job!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:42am

Nice idea, but execution needed to be more solid. Wasn't really fun to drag the torches around and they blew out too easy. But neat idea, so I'd polish it up and see if you can get to the fun part? Keep at it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:02am

good job

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Good idea dude, very cool

Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:50am

Terrific use of atmosphere and dramatic onset of music!
I first thought those were bombs and I'm trying to commit suicide... That would have been brilliant..

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:18am

Interesting idea. The visuals are quite nice.

uncade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:15am

Great idea! I think the candle blowing out was too finicky though

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Thanks a lot for your comment on Lost in the Darkness! Yeah - the friends actually blend in on purpose to give the player a sense of discovery. I'm not sure how good that idea was in hindsight (and yes, the hints weren't obvious enough), but I've got great reactions from some test players. It's a matter of taste and patience, I guess!

In the beginning, it was a bit hard to understand how fast I can move the matchsticks (maybe I just don't understand the feedback?). After a while it got easier, but I still had problems with it. I really liked the atmospheric change when you lighted the candle!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Great use of the theme, it's amazing how you approach such a banal matter and make an excelent game with it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]