August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Measly Seconds

by BenWoodford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 measly seconds. You use A and D to move and W/Space to jump. These are all configurable of course.

The aim is to reach the very obviously marked goal navigating your way past obstacles and utilising basic physics to overcome impossible feats.

Every 10 seconds you will reincarnate and your previous character is left wherever it falls. You must use your incarnations to reach the goal via any means necessary. And yes, you can collide with your own corpse(s).

10 Measly Seconds was written in a weekend as my first full game using Unity3D (to... make a 2D game). I have no artistic skills to speak of as I'm purely a programmer at heart, but alas I make do with what I have (which turns out to be a lot of primitives). I'm aware it bears a slight resemblance to Thomas Was Alone, this wasn't deliberate I assure you, cuboids are just so easy to work with.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

Really good platformer. I especially liked the idea of using the failed cubes as building blocks, although it lead me to the issue of running out of time at the wrong spot, ruining my later attempts at trying to beat the first level. :S

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Really good use of the theme and unusual idea of using the previous attempts as blocks. Although when you are a tiny bit too slow and you block the path for any future attempts it was frustrating. Had to restart a few times to get it right :P

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09am

Pretty interesting idea!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Good one! Innovate concept. Good job!

sunnysmiles says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Very nice and innovative design

truiton says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Great idea, but maybe add a touch to stop the timer and restart early the level, sometime 7-8 seconds are a long time to wait for the next reincarnation :D

galman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Really nice idea! The game really reminds me of "Thomas was alone" for some reason.. The movement was quite not precise, but other than that it's a great game! Well done :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

Solid idea, great game, very simple looking but fun to play! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]