August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Scorpio 10

by javifugitivo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The girlfriend of Jason, Ellen, has dissapeared. Jason suspects that she has been kidnapped by the company where she works: The mysterious Scorpio Company. Will you be able to surpass its firewalls and discover what happened to Ellen?

The game has been done with Game Maker:Studio. It's a hack puzzle game with 5 levels and a plot that links them and two different ends. Each level is divided in 8 sections of 10 seconds where you have to think fast to resolve the puzzles. Good luck and enjoy it!

Update: I have updated the game to fix a bug in the last level about a win condition(or the player would be stuck forever). I also added the apk version for Android ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#226Graphics3.50
#281Innovation3.36
#310Theme3.42
#347Fun3.19
#347Overall3.27
#368Mood2.98
#566Audio2.53
#762Humor1.92

Comments

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very hard :D, i love it!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50am

It was so friggin hard, and yet strangely addictive...

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very hard game but good concept!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55am

I feel like this is a fun way to train quick mouse movments. The graphics are crazy clean and well done aswell! gj!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

The letter W from font chosen made me keep parsing "Firewall" as "Firew all". But apart from that, a good (if tricky) game, that actually fits the theme really well. Nice one!

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Great game, but there is a bug - if i solve puzzle in last second i always fail.

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

That was tough!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

Holy shit, I always clicks on the wrong blocks! Is very hard, you don't have time to react from the third level.

Time to play until complete all the levels!

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

Very nice and challenging game. I like mechanics you have put into it, I could not stop playing. Music does get a bit repetitive after a while, though.

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

raver, I know about that, and I don´t consider it a bug. The time is up and you don´t have time to get the data and the firewall is closed ;-)

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Hard and addictive. The graphics are great.

Would love to see a longer version on android :P

Jorchay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

Really good! I really liked the design and the plot!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Hard enough, uhh you need fast hand ;) Theme relation is not original, but overall it is one good piece of work.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

holy crap that game is hard..

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

Great concept, and as others have said, crazy difficult! Good work!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Gets really hard at the later levels. The audio could also be a little more quite. Otherwise really cool, I had a lot of fun with this.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice game, but i had some problems with the mousemovement, the cursor didn't seem so responsive.

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Quite hard but very addictive :)
Well done !

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice game overall. The soundtrack isn't exactly what I'd expect a hacker to listen to, but it's fun, and I think that's what counts!
I also think that the game is primarily designed for touchscreens, hitting the buttons at the right time with the mousepointer is extremely hard!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

A cool game, but way too hard for me :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Great game. Challenging, fun and polished :)

As additional comments, the music can become a bit repetitive after a while. Also, I once got a puzzle layout with all the blocks of the same colour at first (yay! flawless victory!!), but it hasn't happened again.

An amazing job, congratulations!

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Ithildin, thanks for your feeback. For a future windows version more polished, I will try to improve the music with more themes. About your incredible victory, random things are .. random ;-)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Can't play it - when I start it there seems to be a big sprite on top of everything making the game unplayable.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Great puzzle game!

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Sgehlich, It's strange, I don't understand that error. Have you tried to install the last directx for windows?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Love puzzles!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Wow, really nice! Simple but challenging! Very fancy graphics too.

CLdogs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54am

Very engaging

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23am

I like it, the first time i stay looking, trying to understand what i must to do, but later....awesome game & hard difficult GOOD JOB!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

Very difficult, and at times a little unresponsive (ignored mouseclicks every once and then, possibly due to GameMaker, who knows). I almost finished the second stage but didn't make it in the end, sadly.
Well done, and also very well presented.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14am

Nice little game ! Maybe need another rule to be funnier.

I hate the music XD

Good job :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

This is addictive! Very cool!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

This game is really hard but also really addictive.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really like the menus, something with the clicking during the puzzle part is really off. Tried switching to keyboard mouse and it got so much better.

The puzzle is kind of uninteresting as it will randomly throw unsolvable setups at you unless you have very fast clicking speed speed or can instantly plan the entire round. It would be better if you got some time to look at the board before the timer started to be able to make a plan.

For me planning a round was too slow and the puzzle simply turned into click as fast as you can.

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

Thanks for your feedback Kragnir, I will try to improve those elements in the next version ;-)

Thanks everybody for the comments ^_^

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Polished graphics and clean. Great game! It is difficult to get even past the first firewall, eager to see what the others look like so will have to keep playing... :D

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Fun game!

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

As PTSnoop said, the kerning on that font is awful. The game itself was well executed though. The clicking gets pretty intense too.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

This is a really good concept, simple but fun, and i feel like it's a lot more complex than it first seems like. For me though, it's a little bit to hard, and that's partly because that the game at times don't respond when i click, but it also feels like my mouse really can't move that fast. I should probably go borrow my brothers smartphone and play it on that.

Good job anyway, i enjoyed my time with it, played it over and over but i'm sad that i couldn't even finish that first level.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Flawless design. Well done in all aspects. Even the music is perfect. Will definitelly try the harder firewalls later...

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Too hard for me on the last level. Gameplay is funny, but idea is ordinary)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]