August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Canvas10

by Naked_Samurai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An Experimental game about art created within the time span of 10 seconds.
This is my first time participating in the Ludum Dare and it was a good experience.
Tools used
Visual C# 2010 Express
XNA 4.0
Photoshop
Audacity
(The music was recorded from a session at the Chrome Web labs � Universal Orchestra)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#171Innovation3.57
#238Mood3.20
#302Audio2.98
#313Graphics3.31
#497Theme3.24
#596Overall3.02
#677Humor2.04
#908Fun2.48

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:52pm

nice logo...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45am

I can't really figure out how I feel about this. On the one hand, it's not really a game (since I don't really consider the act of randomly making art a "game"), but on the other hand it's a really interesting idea and an awesome interpretation of the theme.

The color/tool choices were odd, but you definitely can get a lot out of limiting creative options, so that's OK.

What would have been really cool is if you could see what other people drew for various things.

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18am

Thank you for trying the game. Even I wanted a gallery where you can see what others had drawn, but then there's a 48h time limit, so I might add it later.
I agree with you when you say it can't really be called a "game", it all comes down to what you define a game is.
I created this so that you are the judge of your work, you win when you are content with your creations.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

It is a interesting little artsy toy.
The logo and quote at the end were the best bits.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Well done. Good implementation. Controls were fairly intuitive. It has a clean interface. I liked the themes.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Yeah, definitely feels much more like an experiment or a "toy" than a game, but I still really liked the concept and the execution is pretty consistent, and it's quite pretty. Nicely done :)

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I love the concept, I really do, very innovative. It feels like the tools weren't designed with the theme in mind, they don't work well with 10 seconds. Perhaps different tools should be unlocked on each canvas, but I love when it shows you all 4 images at the end.

I think there's a lot of things that can be done with this very high concept idea. Wonderful piece of software, would love to see it go places.

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Very nice look and music!
I would say this technically is not a game, but still great job!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Heh, I recognize that font from Sim Golf.

http://i.imgur.com/AVGzKmQ.png

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

This was fun, definitely an interesting take on the theme. I don't think it's fair to say this isn't a game, the timer definitely added some challenge and there was a clearly defined goal... even if there wasn't enough time to reach it.

You included a bit of an explanation for that in the game, though:
"Art is never finished, only abandoned." - Leonardo Da Vinci

Of course I could be reading too much into it. Either way, great work. Made me think.

Anton_D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Really interesting concept!!

TomboFry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I got a blank screen after a little while, but while it lasted it was good, and somewhat relaxing.
Like TheSambassador said, it would be awesome to see what other people drew (but then you know what people on the internet are like...)

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Very interesting concept. Though I'd rather see a challenging game, it was very innovative.

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

It's great to see that the people have understood the quotes.
Can't figure out why a blank screen appeared, never came when I tested the game, well there's always a buggy situation no matter how much you test a game.
Thanks for playing guys

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I really like this. I had a bug though: sometimes when showing for pictures together, the screen turned black for a while and after that everything was gone (4 white canvases).

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very Interesting take on the theme. Was the lost memories repeating a purposeful metaphor?

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I love this game.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Intriguing idea. It's a shame my graphics tablet didn't really cooperate with this game, though... :)

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

@Infini8
if you mean the theme "lost memories" appearing twice in the stage, then that was not planned.

But it does provoke some thoughts when you mention it, and there may be many more lines of thought that I have not explored, I am very interested to hear them if anyone has any.

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

@PTSnoop
Thanks, yes there is an issue with graphics tablets.

My Wacom Bamboo also didn't run any better, probably need to implement a better drawing algorithm

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Interesting concept. After the first 4 pictures the screen just goes black and I'm unable to get any further. Some more features like smoother brushes or a paint bucket would have added a lot more to it.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Not working for me. I have XNA, .NET and all the stuff for creating and playing XNA games (hell.. I made XNA game myself), but this one is not working (Windows 7 64bit).

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

@doonay21

I compiled and built this on a Windows7 x86( 32bit ) system, don't know if that's the problem.

coeoliver says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

this game rocks

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

I was hoping that at the end, it was goign to have the moon orbiting the earth, with a bunch of stars in the background and stuff.

Would have made for a more interesting ending, IMO

Also the 'stroke' should be changed to do a better paint stroke, instead of duplicated boxes. switch to spheres

Naked_Samurai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

@namrog84

yes, different brush strokes and brush sizes will be a good addition.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:24am

good job

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:26pm

That's interesting atmospheric implementation of the theme. Definitely a game. Would be great if my drawing vere uploaded to some gallery, yes. And maybe dont just spawn rectangles, draw lines with the mouse.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:03pm

This IS a game. No doubt! The player is playing with his own self.. while the first "level" has a clear objective the real challenge comes later. You have no time to think.. And just run with the flow... Showing what was done in less than a minute was rewarding indeed :) I really like that. According to different brushes and stuff - it's not necessary. When you have just a couple of minutes to capture a beautiful naked body on a sketch(for example) you don't think much of the expression(as colors or touches) - you just grab a charcoal and lay down a few clear(grand) lines.. that's how the best sketches are done. Thank you alot for this refreshing experience :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]