August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Cog Boom!

by bisk8s - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are locked in a old cog factory.
You have 1 minute to get out. Fix the doors to get extra 10 SECONDS. Try to get out befor the timer runs out!

Source links:
http://playcanvas.com/bisk8s/crazycogboom
https://bitbucket.org/glucena/crazy-cog-boom
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ofa0zcrp9i9wl4j/7NiD40qtyY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#326Graphics3.29
#426Audio2.76
#593Mood2.68
#798Innovation2.65
#832Overall2.77
#1047Fun2.21
#1131Theme2.12

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I like playing it, but I do not understand why the puzzles work like they work a bit confusing...

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

It's brilliant but a little hard.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

@ratalaika
The puzzles are like passwords. a random combinbation from 1 to 5. Hint: they are always the same for each broken machine. Try to write them down.

@okmmjyygv
Thanks, I love hard games (:

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

@ratalaika...
I'm willing to make a bigger version of this game in the future, any sugestions to how improve the puzzles?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

The graphics and presentation were first class. Really really good. I like the mix of the 3d game with the 2d puzzle element, that was original.

I don't understand how you can program something that looks this complicated yet not add a press a key to try again rather than refresh the page!

I think adding a sound when a cog slides into place would have made it more satisfying. Also at the moment it's just kind of randomly trying out cogs. It's just trial and error. You need to think of some kind of clue about which cog fits where.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice art, clean and crisp! It's kinda hard to place the cogs though, I'm not sure if it's because it doesn't match or the placement needs to be precised.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Thanks @ddionisio I will take i look, i got some complains about that. I couldn't test it propperly in 48h.

When the cog does not match it get reset as well.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

@Dream Of Sleeping.

I know :(

Maybe it was the sleepness, sorry. I will add a button after the voting. I'm afraid that do that right now would be against the rules.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great presentation. Really dug the art. Might want to re-think the splash font.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice clean cut art style.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Still not sure how to know which piece goes where, so I actually bruteforce it
besides that you could have cleaned up some of the textures so they don't look with grains in it.

Still good gam

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Type or paste your English t

@RobotParking Thanks, I actually, write with the mouse.

@BradleySmith your game is prettier for sure :)

@Tork
I was Willig to put some hints at the path, but I've lost to much time with another issues, so actually you really need to brute force it.
That texture was driving me crazy!! I'm noob with Blender, so I think I messed up the UV unwrapping. Next version will be a loot prettier I promise!

Everybody sorry for the typos, my English sucks.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Good, but your timer has 50 more seconds on it than it should. :)

bisk8s says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18pm

@Mythalor did you beat the game without that 50 seconds? Wow, I can't do that even with the passcodes writen in a paper in front of me O_O

The 10 secs are the bonus you get for each door :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Cool setting, good graphics, cool music.
But I haven't understood the gameplay. Is it just trial and error?

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool! The bridges near the end were a great touch.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

I really like the cuts in between the puzzles especially the elevators.

I was placing the cogs trial and error. not sure if I was missing something or that was intentional.

Nice work and it looks really cool

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Fun game and I really liked the sequences between the puzzles (even though it was stressful that the time kept ticking), felt like some good old stuff from the demo scene. :D

A longer level and some more variations for the puzzles would be nice. But good job! :)

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Ok that was strange,
that 3D scenes looks promising but I didn't really get the point with the game,
beside, the game is really simple, you just have to try to put the cogs at their right position?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:58pm

i have escaped! nice memory game but where does the theme come in?

superfoonly says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I wasn't sure what the pattern was, so I ended up just trying every piece in every slot each time. Fun little game, and nice music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]