August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Big Sad

by Ghandhi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mac and Linux launcher may not work.

Game has two endings.

Controls:
Arrow Keys and WASD to move.
Left Mouse button to restart.

Feel free to post hating comments. I like them more than no comment.


48h is still not enough for me.

My dev team on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Clockwise2013

Here is PayPal donation link if you'd like to donate :) http://tinyurl.com/lxgflr4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#215Graphics3.53
#227Mood3.23
#347Overall3.27
#362Fun3.16
#473Humor2.39
#612Audio2.45
#700Theme3.00
#884Innovation2.50

Comments

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

Love the pixel art!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

I feel like I cheated by never collecting any coins. The game is cute!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13am

The big sad! I liked it

I got to the heart without touching coins, thinking it was special reward, but all coins guard the heart!

solid everything, I liked the graphics

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

As a platformer it is rather good, however your use of the theme is rather generic. Although, my game is based on the same principle. Overall your mood is nice and cheery.

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

Great graphics. Well polished, too! Wish it had music, though. Great job!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19am

I liked the calm mood in this one. Really focused execution. :)

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54am

I also did the no-coin thing the first time I won. I also found the hidden billboard.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57am

It's a good attempt! The pixel art is very nice looking and you've chosen good colors.

In a platformer, having the camera lag BEHIND the character is pretty annoying. If you move to the right, you actually can't see where you're going at all. Consider locking the camera to the player, or playing with those settings in general.

Otherwise it's a pretty OK platformer, keep working on it and see if you can get it to a more finished state!

zanval says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The game was very nice and I loved the two endings.
It looks very polished and the platformer mechanics are great.

I only wish it had a little more content.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice polished game. Very nice looking graphics.

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Cute little game :)
I love the graphics and the colors!
It's a nice platformer, but as someone else mentioned, camera should be fixed dead on the player!
Maybe the controls were a little too perfect? could be nice with more momentum and gravety when moving around.
I'd love the game to be a little longer, but i know 48 hours isn't that long :)
I enjoyed playing it!

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

First try, I thought i exploited the fact, i evaded coins. But seems like it was a good idea anyways. ;)

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Mac error: -bash: /Users/SkyTheCoder/Downloads/bin-2/mac.sh: /bin/sh^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

You can run this with the jar launcher, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice pixel art, cool idea with the second ending.
Great game for an Indian pacifist.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

This is a fun little game, it could do with a bit more playtime. Good work!

pigmej says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Chujowe. Pozdro&Poćwicz

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

nice game like the art and the endings, good job

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I really enjoyed that :) managed to get both endings after a few trys :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:16am

Very cool entry, man! Beautiful pixel art. The camera was kind of annoying but that's ok. I made it with two endings! I did some exploring and found some signs too ;)

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice simple game. Tap to restart was a bit awkward to me, after the time ended. I was expecting an automatic restat.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Very clever idea the "try with no money" thing :-)
There are a few annoying moments where you jump but you do not see where you are going to land, but it's still a good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]