August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Raptor Rescue

by jormungandr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The impact that will wipe out the dinosaurs is almost here!

You have 10 seconds to grab as many of your fellow raptors and bring them back to your time machine.

Once safe at your time machine, time reverses back to 10 seconds before impact, allowing you to rescue more raptors.

Currently you can either run setup.exe to install everything you need, or try your luck with ludum dumb.exe in the debug folder, if you have xna 4 installed. Or you could compile it yourself B)

Game was made with c#/xna. Sounds were made with TuxGuitar and Audacity. Sprites with Paint.net. Gifs with Licecap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#199Theme3.57
#253Fun3.32
#352Humor2.63
#392Overall3.22
#450Innovation3.11
#629Audio2.41
#700Graphics2.65
#781Mood2.45

Comments

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45am

I really enjoyed this. Great job.

Jorqell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Brilliant use of the theme.

monkeyman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Great fun game!! Addictive!

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

This is a really fun idea. Really great use of the theme!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Hey man! Glad that you finished! I saw your posts when you were having doubts and making updates and stuff. Nice job! I am glad that you at least added SOME sounds. :P The dying sound, was that you just BASHING your microphone about? XD Pretty great otherwise, nice graphics, well done. Keep it up man!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

Cool concept, nicely executed with it.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

A nice entertainingly simple game!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

Fun game but the deaths seem kinda random and I didn't want to restart the whole thing. Better to save a checkpoint everytime you get back to the ship?

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really fluid and fun, awesome

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Sure Graphics could be nicer, but it is a really fun game at the end. Plus, it's one of those I follow the posts randomly during the 48h. Really cool game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

I love the idea and the graphics are charming!

timothyolt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

This looks great. Sadly couldnt get it to work in WINE, will definitely try on my Windows partition ASAP.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Haha funny entry! :)

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

113 raptors rescued! Fun to play, and upgrades are very well thought. Good job!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:22am

Fun and silly :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Wow! I enjoyed this game, the theme was solid, the graphics were good. Well done!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

I like the time reversal effect. A cool take on the theme overall.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48pm

The game is surprisingly fun. It would be great if you had developed this concept in a more diverse game.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very funny game, raptors are so sweet <3 :D

mitkus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Cool idea! It was very funny to see raptor carrying a bunch of other raptors on his back.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

Great! Had a lot of fun playing and awesome use of the theme!

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Simple and fun game with an interesting concept. I really like the upgrade system! Background music is a bit repetitive and I ran into a sound bug where opening up the shop at certain times would cause the sound effect of the meteors to loop really fast and go on forever. Use of theme was great and it was really fun to play stacking all the dinosaurs on top of each other! Good job!

Jools64 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:35pm

This game is really fun. It's so simple and yet it continues to feel fresh as you upgrade. It goes from fairly slow and easy to very fast and intense. The curve feels very natural and well balanced.

Excellent job!

jormungandr says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:04am

I'm glad everyone likes it.

If you were holding out for the web port, I can't seem to get it working properly, so that's essentially scrapped :( (If you were wondering, I was trying to set it up using JSIL, but the documentation isn't complete and I have no idea what I'm meant to do. Other people seem to have gotten it working so it's probably my fault)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]