August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Day In A Life

by EvilObjective - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Day In A Life of Dr. Bruce Tanner, aka 'Hulkster'. Help Bruce keep his temper under control when the most mundane of daily events could set him off at any time.

A- move left
D - move right
S - ?
Left click on various objects in the environment to complete the goals and ensure Bruce Tanner does not turn into the HULKSTER. Left click also closes scene title screens.

**HINT** Since many are finding the 'turd' level impossible, here is a hint: Moving the Hulkster all the way left then back all the way right should get rid off all the poo and leave a couple seconds on the clock. If people are still getting stuck I'll ask an admin if it would be okay to edit the game to make it easier. I really want people to make it to the next level, as it is my personal favourite.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#60Humor3.68
#528Mood2.76
#587Fun2.89
#633Innovation2.85
#656Theme3.07
#785Audio2.08
#860Overall2.74
#933Graphics2.24

Comments

simple says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Really enjoyed playing this game.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Nice idea. I was a little confused about how to put out the fire until I saw the water on his desk!

Skye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

not really too much fun. The idea is really cool though. You should take more time and develop this into something bigger and a bit more polished. On the level with the dog poo there seems to be a bit of a bug where you can't walk very far for a little bit sometimes.

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Is there an option to replay a level we failed or do we have to replay all the game?

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting game idea, but can be very annoying sometimes. Not bad for 48 hours, that is for sure.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting idea. I love the humor in it. The sound is however a bit annoying (still better than my complete lack of sound).

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice! I Lol'd when he gets angry with Ben Afflec been Batman!

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Great use of theme.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

That was fun :-)

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

i died on the turd level. laughed out loud a few times :D

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

haha awesome :D

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! And I also apologize for the crappy turd level -it is too hard, shoulda cut it. Ah well.

@HunLyxxod no replay option :(. Once you've Hulkstered, that's it.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Funny Game, nice work!

aglushakov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

The idea is great!

Nice job!

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Hahaha! I love the Humor in this one! Good work! I'm just so sad I couldn't complete the level with tanner stepping in that poop.

Could you give us a hint? How do we complete it? xD

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Pretty interesting idea. Graphics were obviously lacking but the content was pretty funny. Levels were a bit easy though and on act 5 I got stuck in the left side of the screen and could not move =(

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I really wish I could replay a level without playing through everything again, but that's probably my only complaint. Laughed out loud a couple of times. Good work!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Awesome! made me lol

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

I really want to continue from where I lost because I was real far :(

Maybe a check point after a few levels or each level?

I really like the concept and the comedy. funny and fun game.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11am

I love meth cooks too!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09am

Enjoyed throwing the laptop out the window.

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Again thanks for the feedback everyone! This is my first LD so the more feedback the better. I updated the description with a hint for the 'turd' level:

"**HINT** Since many are finding the 'turd' level impossible, here is a hint: Moving the Hulkster all the way left then back all the way right should get rid of all the poo and leave a couple seconds on the clock. If people are still getting stuck on it I'll ask an admin if it would be okay to edit the game to make it easier. I really want people to make it to the next level, as it is my personal favourite."

@Everyonewhowishestherewasacheckpointsystem Yeah I agree. Didn't seem necessary at the time because the game is quite short. But it is annoying playing the same levels over and over again isn't it?

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:11pm

good job

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Fun game, loved the batman scene.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:09am

Interesting game. I wish the game didn't send you all the way back to the start if you lost though. Its just kind of annoying to have to restart the entire game after 5 levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]