August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Polarity

by Matthew Brown - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Catch and destroy orbs using your shields and lasers. Polarity switches every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#101Audio3.46
#120Overall3.61
#258Mood3.16
#281Innovation3.36
#326Graphics3.29
#353Theme3.37
#373Fun3.14

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Solid puzzler! Love the aesthetic :)

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I love this kind of simple and nice graphics. BTW good concept...

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Nice arcade game :). The music is a bit repetitive, but the sound effects are great. But the gameplay is actually quite interesting, really enjoyed playing it.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Really good graphics and music! And a good game too :) Great job :) !

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

5380

I like this a lot. Nice graphics and music. But it can get really confusing, haha.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Interesting idea. I love the game mechanics. Simple, but executed well - especially the inclusion of chains. My score: 7680.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Cool game, Would be nice with some noise if you do it wrong.

TomboFry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Plays very well, I just don't think I'm very good at it :L (My score was 8820)
I really like how the sound effect when catching/destroying the orbs fits in with the music, makes the game much more enjoyable

wtfrara says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Really nice!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Congratulations. You just melted my brain.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Good idea! Love the graphics

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Smooth visuals, and I like how it is more score based than trying to survive for a change. Nice touch with the music and how it ends with the game.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16am

nice game, and new idea :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18am

Very nicely done; I like the innovation, the sound was great and the game was genuinely fun.

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52am

Fun game! Nice chill atmosphere, nice mechanics. Playing on a touchpad wasn't too comfortable. I think it would work alright with spacebar for lasers, left and right to rotate?

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Cool! Reminds me of a jam entry from Plants vs. Zombies creator George Fan... can't remember the name, but you were a giant squid with evolving tentacles.

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:07am

Attractive, neat aesthetics- nice touch having it throb in time to the music.
I kind of wish lasers were a toggle, it was a bit annoying holding down LMB.
Feels like the more I play the better I get, which is really satisfying.
Interesting idea executed really well

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Simple but fun game, and well executed. The graphics and music are nice and fit perfectly with the game. Good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]