August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Floor Is Lava

by Sloth Jesus - Jam Entry

Avoid the lava and hit switches. I made this game with my own blood sweat and tears.

controls are arrow keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Audio(Jam)3.95
#36Fun(Jam)3.68
#57Theme(Jam)3.68
#78Overall(Jam)3.64
#169Mood(Jam)3.24
#243Graphics(Jam)3.45
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#419Innovation(Jam)2.64
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:38pm

God damn lava.

Simple but fun game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I reelly liked this game. Great work!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I wish i wouldve been able to make sound of that quality for my game. Superb job in that aspect.

The gameplay is very solid as well, jumping felt a bit wrong at first, but as the levels got narrower and walljumping more important it was fine.

Good job.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Good job.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice, reminds me of Rayman

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

This game was awesome! I really liked the simplistic art style and the music was super rad! Great job.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Cute, stylish and well rounded. Good music too!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

Nice job! Pretty fun, and I liked how the levels incremented in difficulty nice and smooth, so sucky players like me could enjoy it more. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

Hey really cool! Really enjoyed it =)..

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

Sweet, it becomes really stressful after a while. Music, graphics and gameplay are really great.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01am

Nice simplistic graphics. great music also.

Lurieh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Controls are very good. Music is great.
The waving lava makes it a bit difficult to know when we might hit it or not, feels a bit randomy.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Simple but fun! the game was otherwise very well done, but the controls are bit difficult because of the weird jumping physics. Also the tiles are bit hard to see from the background, you should make their colors more different.

orunbot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

First thing I noticed were the amazingly well done controls. Great game, beautiful minimalistic art. This one's a winner.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Unexpectedly cool! Simple and fun! I get high!

mortus says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:45am

Fun game, cool music and nice controls, but sometimes jumping through a narrow hole in ceiling was hell. Reducing inertia while the player is touching ground won't hurt IMO.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]