August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Frictionless Fury

by elementz123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions are in game. There are 4 levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#656Theme3.07
#666Fun2.79
#820Overall2.78
#829Audio1.93
#938Humor1.48
#964Mood2.12
#1035Innovation2.21
#1051Graphics2.00

Comments

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

I like the idea, but here are my suggestions:
1) make instant respawn (like just pressing spacebar)
2) make more levels
3) add more stuff..

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Thanks for your feedback!

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31am

Please give me a keyboard shortcut for starting a level and going to the main menu. You ask me to hold my hand on spacebar, arrows and the mouse. I do NOT have 3 hands :D. Honestly that killed the experience for me, not the fact that I kept dying.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Ah, I can't believe I forgot to do that. If I was allowed to change it I would, but I think its against compo rules(not sure).

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I absolutely love little games like this. Great time killers, and they leave you with a sense of "I can do this" but you have to keep trying and trying and trying.

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice game. Simple, but there is nothing wrong with that.

I completely agree with laserbeam. Pressing "R" to restart or something similar would be much appreciated. Another thing; it would be nice to see my score on the end screen. I think I had 4 or 5 seconds left, but I'm not sure. Games like these demands that you do them again and again to beat your highscore, but I don't know what my highscore is :-P

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Nice idea and a solid implementation. Making us start from the beginning each time was brutal but I finished eventually!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Thanks everyone for the awesome feedback! I just added a keyboard shortcut for the buttons just now, but I think it would be unfair to edit this entry.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This was way harder than I thought it would be, but in a good way. Fun little challenge. Nice work.

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

A fun little game. :) I found myself thinking "just one more time", over and over again. Always a good sign. Well done! :)

As others have said, space for respawn would be great! :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Very simple. Good effort!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Wow, that was really really hard. Looked easy at first but.. dammit.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Having to go back to the first level after losing at the second and third was kind of frustrating

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

harder than it looks. A great challenge. I made it to level 3 after about 10 tries. I'd like more levels, a faster restart/respawn and some easier levels on the way to some of the harder ones.

Really nice concept and execution of the theme!

realtutsgml says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Very frustrating, I couldn't help but notice that it was not frictionless. Good programming though. Good Job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Would be cool if dying send you back to the start of level instead of the start of the game. Other than that, a nice simple little game you have. :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I like the idea of added time to the next level, encouraging you to go as fast as possible early on to get more breathing space for the harder levels (like level 3! grr). Could do with more stuff in the level, maybe moving obstacles. I actually kind of like starting from the beginning provided a bigger version of the game is split up into 5 level chunks. It really forces you to learn the levels quickly in order to advance.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

ah... fun...
slightly addictive..
but frustrating...
having to start over after multi fail on 3rd lvl... especially on collision detection...
definitely more levels...
maybe power up (for wall bounce or walls you can bounce off from)...
but all in all, pretty cool for 48hr compo.
btw... like the timer carry over...

Ninquo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

SAAAAAAAAAAAANS! :D
Apart from that it's a great game, took me quite a while to finish it

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Good idea, and fairly smooth ball control -- but a couple of suggestions, which are pretty much the same as other people have said: keyboard shortcuts for playing and restarting, and restart to the level you died at, not to the beginning of the game!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:12am

Maybe add so that you can keep trying a level until your time runs out. Lack of friction make the game kind of interesting.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Thanks for the great suggestions and feedback everyone!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38am

Games like this, especially for jams, should sort of checkpoint each level. It's generally not fun to replay the previous levels? Nice idea though. Work on it more and maybe give it a theme and new art.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

good job

myachin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

hard control, but i like it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]