August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Exploratite Mitae

by Lubial - Jam Entry

Make experiments on a small insect survival abilities underwater...

Update : Web version added. Seems to work better on Chrome than other browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.67
#4Audio(Jam)4.26
#6Graphics(Jam)4.72
#23Overall(Jam)3.91
#40Theme(Jam)3.75
#100Innovation(Jam)3.47
#197Fun(Jam)3.15
#385Humor(Jam)2.03
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18am

Nice concept ! Experimentation :) I made it to the top hehe. The graphics are impressive ! The music is great too. Very nice job !

Costa says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21am

awesome! like the idea, the graphics and the sound. respect!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Cool Graphic and mood. I wish i could do more than breath

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This is very nice! Full props for the mood!

johnfn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Verrry nice. Nice concept, beautiful execution. Though once I figured out what to do, I won rather quickly...

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Wow, loads of cred for achieving that in such short time. Liked the top too, and great to get to play an unusual type character.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09pm

probably the prettiest game I've seen in three ludums. gorgeous, yet moody and somewhat brutal. if it was a woman, I'd have a lasting crush on her.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:33am

I love the mood that the game sets, and the little legs flailing around in the water! Tickity tickity tickity! Hilarious.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The graphics are awesome and music fits so well. It has a dark watery mood. Love it

MrBlade says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:13am

Oh my, this game is quite simple, and amazing, but if you think about it at a deeper level this game is rather dark. The sounds and graphics very amazing. I love the concept. I think not adding a timer made this game loads better. The use of light was very good. I don't deal with dark or sad things very well; I couldn't play more than twice because the dying animation was too much for me. Knowing that I killed this poor little creature was just too much. Maybe games need more of that. I felt oddly responsible for it. That was the worst part. Anyway, great work. Maybe a bit too dark for me. HOW DOES THIS GAME NOT HAVE MORE RECOGNITION?! GAHH. Keep it up! 9/10

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:33am

This is brilliant. Incredibly moody and ridiculously polished for a 72 hour submission. Very impressive work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:50am

It was a bit laggy for me, but the quality is exceptional for the amount of time. Well done!

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:57am

A very beautiful game, and an exceptional mood. I loved every part of it. I'm really impressed.

lalanl says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:33am

I am awestruck. The feel of your game is sooo good. Thank you for making it!

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:17am

Good game, amazing feel and mood. Awesome audio and graphics. lacks content though. There isn't much to do or very much variety.

Devaki says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:22am

on man, that ending left me breathless(!)

Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Fantastic entry. I loved the style and music. I'm curious if there is any way to win, or if you always end up suffocating?

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:14pm

A really impressive piece of work. The mood is unbelieveable. Is there more gameplay then 'experiment'? It was not clear to me...

someone says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Unfortunately this game doesn't seem to work in Wine.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Wonderful atmosphere! The visuals and audio blend to make a lasting impression. This is a very beautiful experiment!

Broxxar says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Great audio, graphics and of course, mood. I found the experiment write up at the end was a bit difficult to read though, a combination of the resolution and the hand written script.

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:54am

Really interesting game!
Just a little (very, actually)... sad in the end (not a bad thing... but I wasn't expecting that). The sound effects at that moment really took things a step further!

Great job!

ratking says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:28am

Beautiful and very atmospheric! The sound let me feel like playing some epic adventure I'm going on, until...

Joror says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Excellent mood and sound - gameplay is simple but very effective. The menu screen is a bit blurry to read, but not much else to find fault with. :)

michail says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Very beautiful game, great audio!

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:38pm

The graphics, the sound and the overall look and feel are just awesome!

Ithildin says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Amazing game, excellent in all categories!

(It surprises me that it took me so long to find it. Sometimes you think you've seen the top picks on a particular LD edition and it's far from truth...)

Great job, congratulations!

Sebby says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:50am

Beautiful! I like the concept, I can see the parallels between experimenting and learning to play the game, and the evolving lab experiment. Was heartbreaking to see all the dead bugs when I finally reached the top.

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:00pm

good idea. awesome job!

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Beautiful graphics and audio. Good one!

Erhune says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Very beautiful ambiance. I loved the stark contrast between the calmness of the environment and the constant stress of the gameplay.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Amazing graphics/audio/mood. Didn't much care for the controls, I would've liked it more if the left and right keys were used for turning instead of moving, but that is just personal preference.
Good job!

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:51am

I love music and art! Very atmospheric!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

This one the award for the most feelsy game this LD! Great job man!

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

This game really sets up a mood. I feel sad for the little creature... The quality of your work is overwhelming!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very bautifull, congratulations.

jerombd says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:08am

Awesome! Great mood and stunning graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]