August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blobb has enough time

by bitowl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I finally found time to participate the first time in ludum dare.

It turned out to be a puzzling game with some really bad level design. But as I finally got a (cheap) controller, it supports them, kind of (see the options screen)

Blobb (the protagonist of this game) has enough time to solve his puzzles. In fact he can take nearly as much time as he wants to. But every 10 seconds bugs (these red enemies) spawn. First one, then two, then three and so on.
So it might be a good idea to finish the puzzle fast.

NOTICE: the reset and unlock all buttons in the options menu are to unlock all levels or to lock them all!

This game is made with the libgdx-framework (http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com) and an a-star library (http://code.google.com/p/a-star-java/) as I was to lacy to dig up my own.

I hope you like it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#451Fun3.05
#466Humor2.40
#602Mood2.67
#676Overall2.95
#686Theme3.03
#702Innovation2.77
#806Graphics2.48
#909Audio1.58

Comments

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

I love the player sprite. A few levels are a bit hard, but good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

Nice variety in the levels. Love the art style too. :)

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Oh, another libGDXer here!

I like the game and it's great it has 20 levels (I completed 8 or 9).

I will have a look to your source code. That a-star implementation seems interesting :P

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Hello, i was able pass through collision when pushing a barel in the mission 9 ( i can send a capture if needed ! )

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nicely executed! I wish some hitboxes were a little tighter, especially when you need to move barrels and the like. But other than that, good use of the theme, and great variety of levels!

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This was pretty fun. Charming graphics, but mostly the gameplay was rather interesting. I like how you had to figure out everything yourself at first. I do think the enemies that spawned were hardly a challenge, though. :P

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:23am

I liked the game but the invisible labyrinth made me give up from it, it's just random =/

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07am

Spiffy game. I dig it.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Fun little game! All the mechanics were there - graphics could've been a bit more polished, but it worked well and was enjoyable.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great game, but collisions could use a little touch-up. libGDX is a great library, used it on my team's game as well.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Simple and interesting game. Good job.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Amazing art, good pace of difficulty, enjoyable!

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

That&s enjoyable game! I want to clear stage 11. XD

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Really nice and well thought out for level design (although you might think it's not good enough :), I really enjoy it.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I think this game would have been a lot more fun without the barrels, since they are pretty tedious to move around. Some of your level design was pretty original, don't be too hard on yourself. I would have liked to see the shots-->lever mechanic explored more, instead of the barrels.

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Fun up until "Every loves to push barrels". At that point the collision detection made it very difficult to play s you would be pushing the barrel and it would catch on the large collision box for the small stones. An easy way to fix this is to clamp all movement to the block boundaries (or half block boundaries like in the "Legend of Zelda") which would make it easy for the player to line up a block with the gap he or she needs to push it through.

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:27pm

My computer can't support the graphics - as sad as that is. Can't play it :_:

foumart says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice puzzles, but that mine field level bounced me off. Not saying it's a bad level, but was lazy for the pen and paper :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice first entry! Loved the randomness in some levels, but I hated the invisible maze. :P

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:39am

I really like the idea of corruption or infestation every 10 seconds (rather than a hard time limit). The puzzle design got frustrating at "Everyone loves barrels" and the level before it. That's around when I quit. Barrel pushing wasn't fun, and I didn't like the trial-and-error aspect of the level before.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very solid puzzler! I like it, simple idea but very good gameplay. :)

Zerot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Collision needs some work but the concept is nice. I could at least understand what to do most of the time.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:49pm

The levels are short and simple. Most of them not so hard. I like how you don't instantly die when your time has run out, but the level just gets harder instead. Too bad there was no audio, but nice game overall.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:12pm

invisible labyrinth : bad idea

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:40am

Interesting variety of puzzles! Good work!
The collision could be improved, though, as the player's collision box seem to be a lot larger than the graphic. This problem becomes prominent in some of the levels where the path is small, or ones with barrel pushes.

thesunnyk says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I kind of didn't understand this. Sometimes you timed out but the level didn't reset. Some of the levels just plain old weren't explained too well. The hitboxes were also slightly too large. The different types of switches were not explained, and some looked too similar. However, I like the concept of solving a small puzzle in 10 seconds. I also think the sprites look nice, and the zelda-style presentation warms the heart.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:27am

It seems like it was on the way to becoming a good entry, but the finicky controls and awkward collision detection made it less fun that it could have been.

Endurion says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice game!

Marred a bit my too large hit boxes and also a few nasty levels (invisible maze, boxes with hidden switches field)

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice little game. Got stuck at the minefield level, couldn't figure out what to do.

loxo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great puzzle game! I like the levels and the player sprite. Some audio would be nice.

CogComp says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice how the room moves around the character the way it does. Really like it!

Entity2D says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:47pm

The collision (especially on the barrel levels) could be better, but otherwise, this is a great game.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Very very good job on the puzzle. Challenging but simple.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice work, I love the level design. Very varying. I loved the minefield level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]