August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Genetist

by ratalaika - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Join the DNA to create a close path before the bar is emptied!!

The path can end in the edge of the board as well.

If you complete half of the board your mutant will be perfect! If not... Well, it will have some "issues"

Made with Spiller AS3 by ratalaika, owner of ratalaika Games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#274Audio3.04
#472Fun3.02
#520Innovation3.01
#550Humor2.24
#610Overall3.00
#703Mood2.54
#773Theme2.92
#789Graphics2.50

Comments

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

The gameplay is fun - reminds me of Pipemania and Atomino - but feels a bit too luck dependent. The music is great. :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55am

Game as of yet doesn't work for me, Mac OSX lion 64-bit

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

Max score 40 - I loved the music, reminded me a little bit of an old NES Batman game.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Nice, but a bit frustrating when no luck :)

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

This is a really fun game! The music is really cool too, and the graphics are well done. If you can port this to Android/iOS, then it'll be even better (as the controls seem suited to a touchscreen)!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Thanks for the comments hehe

@Zephyr89 What browser are you using?

I'm on a mac os x too, mountain lion - 64 bits under firefox and works :S

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08am

@Terrabyte
Yeah I thought on publishing as Android game but then I realised that not so many people will download it to test it xD

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Great take on pipedream-like puzzle games. I felt that the pool for drawing new pieces from was a bit too small for the amount of time available to think and plan.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

A pretty good idea overall but whether you can win or not seems to depend on random luck

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very cool - could be a addictive lil' mobile game

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Fun little game. Wish it weren't all so luck-based though. Ended up with one end left and none of the pieces I had could be placed.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Whoo that sound is hurting my brain, fun game though

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16am

Sometimes I was getting "Game Over" and it wasn't entirely clear why. But it's still the sort of game that, when you lose, demands "just one more go...". Good game!

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

Very challenging, nice music, good match to the theme. I like it!

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

Fun, but a little frustrating, feels luck dependant.

JokerDen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

First when I heared music I was like "what's a f?" but now its sound very cathy for me. Not bad.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

It isn't starting... just showing a black screen

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

@Reaperguy That's weird what browser are you using??

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Very interesting little game. It's pretty fun, but it does feel very luck dependent. Quite a few times, I've lost, but only because all of the DNA pieces to choose from were ones that wouldn't fit.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Good music and frantic gameplay, I like that!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I enjoy a good puzzle game, and this is a fun one for sure. Quite tricky but well-executed all the same. Nice job!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very good music, and the game is fun, but I really feel that sometimes I depend more on luck than on skill.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Surprisingly addictive. The music fitted the game very well. Nice job! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Really nice puzzle game! :D

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very pipedream-esque. Nice music, nice game! Rather tricky as well.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Funny puzzle game! Might be great on mobiles!

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Maybe in the next android game? YEAH!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

@Acrimiens
It'll be ported to android for sure ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice! Might want to check spelling of 'geneticist' if you continue development. It's a weird word to say.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Awesome concept! The 10 second element was a bit light since you kept getting extra time. But it was there so who cares.

Very stressful too.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

i have no idea what kid of creature i created in each level :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Luck plays a pretty big role in this. But otherwise it's quite fun :)
I love the music, btw!

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Good game concept. Greatings!

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Cool idea. Music loop was got annoying because it was so short.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Fun little game, quite challenging too!

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Would be nice if you could pick pices by shortcuts 1,2,3...
Liked it :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

@Mesene You actually can :), I may forgot to add it in the desription :S

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Not bad - too hard in my opinion, but that didn't stop me from trying again and again. Made it to level 3. Nice job on the graphics/sound too.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Good idea!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool idea. But damn would it be much more fun if the levels was thought out instead of being completely based on luck.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Cool puzzle and like the music. A bit hard at times, but really rewarding when you manage to solve a tricky one. Could definitely work well for a touch as you already have done =) Theme is a bit weak though, just felt like an average timer going on.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

This game is surprisingly fun, and the music is nice! I have to admit, I didn't expect much when I saw the word "genetist" - it's supposed to be "geneticist" - but I'm glad I tried it! I had a streak of incredible luck and got to the point where the little mutants that show up in the top row start going offscreen because I had made so many. It can be a bit annoying when there are no pieces that can be placed in the grid, but it's a very good game anyway.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Neat idea, but it could use a little polish.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Well done, but very difficult.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice puzzle game! I loved the idea. I loved the mutations!

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Challenging and pretty fun. It reminds of Bioshocks hacking.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice puzzle game. I like the music, very engaging !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Thanks to all!!
I'll work on the "only luck" thing, and I'll also correct the word "genetist" LOL My bad english...

Draktharr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

fun game but I feel that the not enough time was added when I connected a piece, so it was a bit hard

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Fun game - music reminded me a lot of Flying Battery Zone from S&K :P

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Enjoyable, if extremely difficult.
It felt easy to get caught up in placing strands willy nilly.
4/5!

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16am

Great game. Can definitely see this on a phone

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32am

Great music, but too luck dependant =/

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56am

Power to all the puzzle-producing people.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10am

It's a good concept for a mobile game! Right now it's super hard though, but I did manage to win twice :-) It would be more fun if you had better-defined rules for what elements appearing. Still, it's a neat idea.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08am

Very interesting! Music is great by the way. Like it!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14am

Woha, i loved to see the result of my mad DNA combination. Is it random generated or there are only many possibilities?

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21am

@infernet89
There is 24 mutants there are randomly combined depending on your score :).

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40am

Didn't understand how actually i need to connect DNA. Reminds Pipes game. I like idea.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very interesting puzzle game kinda like Dr. Mario/Tetris. Could've used a little more time, but I liked it.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The gameplay feels like it depends a lot on luck (more pieces to choose from would've been nice!), but I still played pretty long! The music is nice, and so are the sound effects. I love the little creature depictations in the upper left - I just wish they were bigger. Nonetheless - a pretty fun game that you want to try and try again. Good job! And congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fun! Nice music.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice entry, I couldn't win even once though... I tried to connect the strand to the edge of the map and succeeded a couple of times but then nothing happened... I'm likely missing something... O well :P

Good luck!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Pretty fun puzzler, a bit random in places but all around pretty enjoyable

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

good job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Uuu nice one :) Funny music.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The gameplay is generally fun. Good audio too.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

innovatite but too much randomness.

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Hah! I love the little mutants you can create!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Quick and interesting!

I like it!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Great game, i remember playing the beta and never being able to actually finish a single stage, but i still kept playing, I like the change to the timer (now it resets on every piece).
Awesome music

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48am

It was quite fun and original :D

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11am

Clever puzzle mechanic! Kept playing until I beat it... though I did get lucky...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33am

Seems a bit luck-dependent to me too, but a decent game nonetheless :)

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:53am

Classic gameplay but i don't think it fits to be done only on 10 seconds (maybe too hard ?).
Audio is a bit repetitive.
Nice job btw.

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

Hehe, nice idea for the games theme, classic concept, but well made :)

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

I never realized how easy and fun it can be to splice DNA. This would be great to release on mobile platforms.

RustyC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:51pm

It's an interesting concept but it seemed very clunky. It felt very difficult to select pieces and then place them and it wasn't made clear you can just connect to the edge of the grid. It was nice to have music but it was a bit annoying. It also seems very luck based, maybe weighting the frequency of the tiles would have helped. Good attempt.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Interesting game. Loved the audio, good job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice puzzle game... enjoyed playing it for a while...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Funky and elegent puzzler, had me playing for a while :) Love the music too, great work!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Fun concept! good job :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This is really addictive, I can't get very far though. It's a little bit too much luck of the draw with which dna strands you get next, which can lead to your demise, possibly a tetris-style "your next dna strand will be: X" would help out a little? Or more than five choices... or a limited number of "shuffles" you could use to get new dna strands, I dunno, but I'd love to play a post-compo version if this was solved somehow.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Fun game, quite addictive! Nice one. :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:31am

Really fun puzzle game =]

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52am

great idea and execution. loved the simple gameplay!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

is the game still up?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

Interesting idea and nice game, the 10 second time restriction is a bit much.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Pretty hard for me :]
Music is great!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Ahhhhhhhhhhh I keep misclicking AHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I played it a few times I wasn't able to complete it, I think it's too hard or maybe I'm really bad.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

fun but a few times I picked up the wrong strand and couldn't put it back :/

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Not sure why I was getting a Game Over sometimes, nice take on a Pipe Dream type of game though!

Also your logo character is amazing.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Cool concept. Danged hard.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Reminds me of good old games !

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Oh no! pipes from bioshock are back! :) cool game m8! difficulty is just perfect.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Good game, really like the gameplay and the fact that you have to think but not too much so you reach the timeout.
With precipitation you make bad choices and that's the difficulty in that game.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

simple presentation, but hard and fun. Great 48 hour independent entry. I can see this being a real mobile game with a little bit of a music and graphic update

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Something about this I found really addictive. Sweet music and nicely balanced gameplay - cool concept. Just too hard for poor old me... nice job though!

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool music! I was rubbish at the game but still enjoyed it.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

That music is awesome. I had a lot of fun playing this game!

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

I wasn't able to win, but I kept replaying because I loved the music so much! Cool idea, I wish it would throw me a bone every once in a while :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

This game is brutal! But for some reason I didn't want to quit until I at least get one win! I manage 2 levels in a row. I had fun playing this game, really challenging!

I think 10 seconds was too short, or might be better if placing a tile adds a little more delay.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Interesting game, but the 10 seconds is too short for this. It feels like you need to be very lucky to get the right tiles.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

I really do like this game! It reminds me of a better version of that pipe game that everyone plays from time to time! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Nice concept. Music was really good. Great Job!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Neat puzzle game. Really liked the background music during gameplay. Sometimes the difficulty seemed to be based too much on luck of the placement of the starting piece. If it's near a wall, then it's an easy win.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

I like these kinds of games, nice take on the idea. As others have also mentioned it could've had a way to make it less luck based, like maybe having a "extra pick" option you get for every X score earned which would let you shuffle for new parts, or maybe a display for the upcoming parts.

Nice game nonetheless!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I don't care when the media says, I love toying with the fabric of nature! This was a really nice, addictive little game. It could perhaps have done with some sort of tutorial level (for slow learners like me) but once I got the hang of it I really enjoyed it.

X-0r says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Aaah, a pipegame! Took me a while to figure out all the connecting and stuff, also that you can only attach "valid" parts. I believe that there should be some sort of destroy/remove possibility, either on screen, or on the ones to choose from. The way it is now, you're quite a bit dependent on luck (which means, trying again could lead to better results ^_^)

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Very neat concept, but this feels very luck-based :(

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Fun gameplay, pretty hard though!
It gets tough when you have no luck and you don't get the pieces you need.
Pretty fun!

Nice work!

Khopa says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Awesome.
Great gameplay !

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

The mutant sprites was really neat. Very fun to play! I think shortcuts to pick the DNA pieces would be great. My highscore was 122 points. :)

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Cool idea, nice little puzzle. The placement felt a bit funky sometimes, but overall it was fun.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

It took me 5 tries to finish the first level. After a few tries you get an idea how to beat the game, but it is still very challenging and I don't like the ammount of luck you need. Nice sound and also good controls. Keep on making games.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very nice work, original idea and good execution!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Spent way too much time playing this lol. Fun game!

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Neat little puzzle game. The music went well with the game, but got a little repetitive after multiple plays. A lot of the game comes down to luck, but I played it a lot longer than I would have expected because it was simple and fun.

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The music is plain awesome! The gameplay is also very addicting.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Simple but really fun. I enjoyed the music!

cafeine says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Nice and surprisingly addictive! I agree it would do well as a mobile game.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:08am

So much fun! Make sure you spend more time polishing this and launch a mobile version. It's perfect for touch devices.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:59am

Great game, original concept. A bit confusing at first, but I enjoyes it. My best score is level3! x)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:47am

Love the music and it's amazing fun! Great idea well made.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:29pm

good job are the only words I can find.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33pm

What can I say if not... "good job"

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Pretty fun to play. Good job on it.
Wish I could rotate the DNA strand though xD like someone said, right now it's a bit too luck-dependent.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice idea!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Pretty solid, but RNG factors in a little too much. Still had fun playing a few rounds, good job!

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Scored 58 with two-and-a-half molecules completed. Nice game, although rotating pieces would be a great plus (I got stuck because of bad luck a few times).

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:36pm

The music was interesting. The concept was also nicely done. It was hard though because I would always end up with the wrong pieces.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Liked the music. Good effort.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:17am

This game was actually really cool! I think the difficulty was a bit high but maybe it was because I don't have much practice on these types of games. Anyways, the game was really cool. 5 stars for innovation! :D

Sebastian says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

Frustrating when it refuses to give you the pieces you need, but pretty addictive nonetheless!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:24am

Fun little puzzle game. Seems quite hard though, feel like the game could give you more pieces to work with. Love the music.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Here we have someone who fits the title "L".

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Really cool music, but it gets really frustrating when you always got no piece that fits. I think you did a "good job" ;)

fluffypillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Really addicting :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Found myself playing for ages, was so satisfying!

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

good job

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Liked the music. I could never beat the game. I never got the right pieces I needed to complete the dna. :(

Skully says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Really addictive and well made, great job :)

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Very nice puzzle idea! Super fun to play and really challenging, it kept me playing over and over again. Catchy music and a neat art style. Great job!

TheHermit says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:41am

I liked the idea of this puzzle-game but I'm not sure the 10 second limit helped the game play. The issue is that it was very random how many pieces you'd actually need to close the path - if you started with the core next to a wall, or in a corner, it made a huge difference (and one time I started with the four end-cap pieces in my inventory).

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

Super hard, but it's a cool concept, love how frantic it gets!

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Good Job http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/09/01/l-for-loser/

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Pretty tough puzzle game, love the music.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:32pm

@darkshadow I posted on the blog post too:
Hello! I test every game that I rate and comment. But in sometimes I think it’s better to stick with a simple good job, so the fellow know who comment than say that the game didn’t protrudes on anything or say that game actually sucks.
Finishing a game in 48h seems enough for me for a “good job” comment.

I have some comments that are more elaborated when the game deserves it.

If you can’t say anything good, don’t say anything or in my case “good job”.

That’s all I have to say, I’ll continue ratting games on me free time and I’ll continue saying “good job” to those who didn’t protrudes on anything or in the case that game sucks.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Pretty fun game. and damn hard too. :)

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

@ratalaika okay fair response. Only the best games get long reviews and sometimes a sentence is plenty. I personally ensure that the comment regardless of length is non generic to show the creator that you have taken a little time to appreciate what they've done.

If you really can't think of something specific then perhaps vary your comments a little bit so you can't be mistakenly accused of copy-pasting reviews.

Anyway fun little puzzle game, the frantic piecing together of parts reminds me of building your spaceship in galaxy trucker.

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:43am

Simple, but really fun game. The music is catchy and the gameplay is solid. Good job!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great Puzzle! You may have all my fives! :D

motty says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:04pm

A good effort.

This is one of several games I've played here that I felt have suffered, as games, because of the theme. I'd probably really enjoy this if it weren't for that 10-second timer, which here as in many other cases means you have to go in cold to 'Extremely Difficult' mode. Yet without the 10-second timer, there is no theme connection, so I totally understand putting it in.

I'd love to play a future iteration of this with some tweaking of the time-related bit.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:10pm

With mouse is frustrating, but with touch I imagine it must be great! Please port to android :)

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Cool puzzle, I felt the tie in to the theme could have been a bit better. Using 10 seconds as a time limit for things is a bit limiting (I had the same issue with some of the stuff I did in my game).

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:12am

Very clever use of the theme, definite potential for a full puzzler. I would look into puzzle variations.

deathray says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:40am

Too luck-dependent, but it's still fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:51am

nice game - i was terrible at it -- or maybe it was your random number generator that did me in! -- great job

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Fun puzzler! The time constraint was somewhat infuriating for the type, but still worked ok.

imef says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Interesting game! reminds me a bit of dominos.

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The concept is interesting alot and the randomness contributes well. Got only to level 4..

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:59am

Pretty tough game.

tompudding says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice idea and quite fun, but I think it actually would have been better without the time limit

gravyhands says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:33am

Not enough time! I feel the theme detracts from the game. Each should take a different number of seconds based on the difficulty of the piece position and the starting pieces.

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:23am

Fun, incredibly catchy music, a bit too dependant on luck but well done !

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Highest score I made was 96, made it to level three. I really liked this game. Really great idea!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:59pm

A little bit too much luck based but has a nice concept. A good job overall.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:38am

Just a black screen here too. Windows 7, 64 bit, Google Chrome.

DWallin says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:07am

The game has a promising mechanic but the execution of it needs some work. The better you get at this game the more success relies on the luck of the draw but games like this should generally have the opposite quality.
A good use of randomness should dictate the nature of the challenge more than the difficulty.

frogmaster says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:24am

I don't care if game is hard or random as long as it is fun! It's rewarding, educational and addicting. Nicely done!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:30am

once i figured out what i was supposed to do i just played it over and over. clever and fun.

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Good game, well done!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:23am

The game play is fun. The cursor for me was a little off from my mouse. For some reason my mouse needed to be about one space to the right of the where I wanted to place the piece which made me lose a couple times. Cool game though.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:52am

Nice game. Graphics and audio are nice. The gameplay felt a bit repetitive. Very innovative. Nice work.

canvapps says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:58pm

addictive is the word for this game! I got challenged at it :D
great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]