August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimate Survival Lab

by Reaperguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So.. my first game jam and first game ever are just finished!
I'm very pleased with the result, even if there are still a lot of features I want to add and the graphics are pretty bad(made them in ten minutes in Photoshop).
Here is a quick recap of the game:

--You need to survive as long as possible avoiding spikes, rockets, and lasers. After ten lives, you die.
--The lab is always evolving: every ten seconds, something happens: gravity changes, obstacles get added etc.

Move with WASD and pause with ESCAPE.

Survive as long as you can and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Audio3.14
#314Fun3.24
#471Overall3.14
#503Innovation3.04
#630Mood2.63
#633Humor2.11
#656Theme3.07
#785Graphics2.52

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I think you can survive as long as you want to survive, if you are standing under the '1' of "10Seconds" in the "Ludum Dare 27"-map... :D

But what does this have to do with the theme..?

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

It's written in the description, every ten seconds(there's a timer in the lower left)something happens, like rockets getting faster, laser charging faster, gravity change, etc.
The small icons represent what will happen next.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

hey this was actually pretty well put together! And tbh it has more then enough to do with the theme. 10 seconds was a pretty bland theme :P. GJ!
-@TeddyNashor

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

Pretty cool. It's like the opposite of an RPG: the game is leveling up ("Faster Rockets!") instead of the player. Had fun with it.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Very good concept. Remind me that game : http://armorgames.com/play/6740/treadmillasaurus-rex

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Definitely could be cleaner, but it's really fun!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

I really liked this concept. The moment that totally sold me was the gravity change. I died almost instantly once that happened but the shock of it and how I scrambled to recover was really fun. Having so many lives kind of takes away from the feeling of trying to play perfectly but other than that it very very cool. Great Job!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

Controls are a bit 'floaty'. Reminded me of the bullet hell type games which are always fun.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Survived almost 3 minutes. Overall good, but I find that the difficulty was not climbing that much fast, somehow lowering the pace of the game. Gravity change don't happen often either. The music is pretty good, was it made for the compo?

Ooya says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39am

Nice work ! I love this kind of survival game which become harder with time. Your controls are a bit weird (you can jump in mid-air if you fall from a platform), but it's nice to play yet.
Good job ;)

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Fun little game.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice game, I hope you consider doing a post-compo version with redone graphics and tighter controls!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

@Sebastian
Yeah that was planned, i will still work on it for five days dor the GiTD contest by adding upgrades, better graphics, more effects, etc. and after it's finished I will upload it on Kongregate

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

Hah, I totally suck at it but it's great. Link is totally out of his depth in this version of Hyrule

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06pm

That was awesome! Thought it'd probably be a lot simpler for the player if the controls didn't adjust with the gravity, and rather stayed based on the orientation of the screen.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

This is a very neat game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Frantic survival action with multiple maps. Very nice! Perhaps the overall grey color was a bit dull but still a solid game! The music was also pretty good!

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

The controls are a bit awkward at first, but a very cool game!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Lots of things going on, feels full! Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Cool concept! Controls might be better, really hard to get used to gravity change. And no offensive powers for the character?

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice game overall!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

This was really fun, it's kind of difficult to get the hang of but really enjoyable once you get into it. Nice game :)

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

It feels like it's getting harder way to slow. Yes, I die as I crash into stuff, but 1-2 minutes into the game doesn't really feel harder than at the beginning.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Fun game! I like the change of gravity! :)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice mechanics. Sounds/music is great as well, I enjoy your game a lot!

munchor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great game, decent use of the theme, I like the gravity changes and other mechanics. (too many lives though and hard to see that those things on top were lives).

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13pm

good job

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

2min 49s! great music

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Good music, but the game slowly gets boring,you could perhaps introduce the differente things(spikes, rockets) over time...
like every 10 seconds!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

The controls are a bit "loose" at times, but other than that, this is pretty good for a first game! :)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Haha! I was a rocket dodging fool...until the direction changed on me...then I was just a fool! ...Then a laser happened... Liked it! Good work!

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Great music and fun to play.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice idea. Fun. Good job!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Awesome music. Falling after the jump felt "floaty". Don't know if that was intended. Also, When gravity changes, controls become really hard. Have you considered changing the controls in different orientations? Great game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Pretty rad! I would've preffered it a bit faster though. Reminded me of a good old "N" game :)

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Not bad for your first game! The controls were interesting.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Hell yeah! The music rocks!! It was fun to play this game :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

The sounds are so good, a little bit difficult but I really like it.

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Fun!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Sweet game. Very hectic.

Toadpud says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Very good for a first game, especially being done so fast!

thephantom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12pm

very good game , but i would prefer if you made the movement smoother :)

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Did you do the music, too?

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Very fun game! Not a huge fan of the jumping though.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

Awesome first game =D

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Pretty nice for a first game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice idea! Wasn't particularly fond of the controls, but the audio is fantastic! What did you use to make the sound effects and music?

I did get stuck somehow on my first playthrough. I was near a corner when the gravity shifted. Then, somehow my guy disappeared. I think he may have been shifted into the wall somehow? Not sure.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

Whoa this is a great game. Nice! Love it.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10am

Like your style. Good game , right theme using.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12am

The life was unnoticed at first, it looked more map environment.. The jump is a little buggy. It comes down too slowly and you can jump at mid-air, if you are falling off a platform.
But i see you put a lot of effort in it, so keep going!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Fun game with some very creative ideas. Gets quite hard after some time.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It's okay. Didn't understand how to play at first but got a hang of it after a while. It's pretty floaty too

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Thats nice game idea, controls are quite bad but if you put up some better graphics and controls this game would be super awesome. Good job.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice use of the theme, but controls felt a bit underdeveloped. I'm sure you can improve them really fast though. I like the concept.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

This is pretty sweet, really like the switchup with the gravity bits, threw me off a bit with the controls at first but got used to it, awesome!

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16am

It's a cool idea and it works pretty well.

Also I found a bug when the gravity changes from right to the default down. If you stand in the bottom corner you fall out of the map and can't be destroyed.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I love the music and gameplay. It's a really god action survival. The only point I don't get is what those down falling arrow means? Enjoyed it, great job :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Fun idea, I dig it. I was able to glitch myself out of the level by jumping against the bottom of the screen when the gravity shifted

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41pm

That was fun. Nice frantic gameplay.
Online high scores would have been nice.
Hmm, somehow the player has disappeared with two lives left and the game is continuing...

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22am

Really fun to play, somehow reminded me of N.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

man, what did this guys do to deserve getting stuck in a place like this? loved the idea and music. would have enjoyed tighter controls!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

The jump mechanic annoyed me a little bit.

Very good concept. For some reason the level/art/game reminded me a little bit of N (from metanet)

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice first game, congratulations.

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

The game is cool, but the character move slowly and the jumps are a little odd ^^

stenol says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Funny game !

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Cool idea. The gravity change is super tough.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Nice idea the gravity change, very challenging!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice one! Reminds me graphically of those elephant games on Newgrounds.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The visuals could maybe do with a bit of polish but the variety keeps this game fresh and makes for a very enjoyable experience. The music is great too.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I really like the interpretation of the theme and the concept you came up with! The game is fun and provides a nice difficulty curve. The music fits well!

Two things that would make the game better in my opinion:
- Instant-death instead of 10 lives. Being hit carries not much meaning right now in the beginning.
- Interesting events that change the environment of the lab. Maybe I was just unlucky, but everything I got was more of the things that were already there: Spikes and Rockets.

That's a pretty great "first game ever"! Congratulations!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice game, but needs some more tweaking in my opinion.
It felt like the difficulty was rising too slowly at the beginning. And there are often safe spots in the map where you can just hide until the next gravity switch/rocket that spawns right next to you. The gravity switches could be more frequent, as they require you to adapt your strategy, so that you can't do the same thing over and over again.

Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:17pm

About your jump... I looked at your source code and you seem to have done it correctly with gravity acceleration. But at runtime there is no downward acceleration at all. The falling velocity is constant at 0.8 without accumulating! And the jump velocity of 30 only actually lasts for one update when it's supposed to be (30) - (.8) - (.8)...!

My theory is that somewhere in your code it is resetting Game.player.vy to zero on every update! So the next update will be using (0) - (.8) instead of (30) - (0.8) as vy!

Otherwise, it could be that "this.vy += this.gravity;" is not doing addition assignment but assignment only??

It's pretty clear what the problem is, but I just can't find it in your source code! This is so weird...
If you write some code to print out the player.vy at different places in your program for debugging, it might be possible to find where the problem is!

Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:23am

I FOUND YOUR BUG!!! Just thought of this as I woke up. Can't believe I didn't realize this last night(er...this morning).

Inside player.as you have:
private var friction:Number = .8;

Then at the end of player.update():
this.vx *= friction;
this.vy *= friction;

Your friction is very high for player and will only restrict maximum downward velocity, but not upward velocity!

On the way up, you have:
vy = -30, (-30+0.8) *0.8, ((-30+0.8) *0.8)+0.8) * 0.8... so on until player is going downward
which is = 30, 23.36, 18.048...

But on the way down you have:
vy = (0 + 0.8) * 0.8, ((0 + 0.8) * 0.8) + 0.8) * 0.8... So on, but only until vy == 3.2
Because (3.2 + 0.8) * 0.8 == 3.2 !!
Your vy downward can never exceed 3.2, but your vy upward is way higher than that, like 30, 23.36, 18.048...!
That's why you have a very fast jump upward, but very slow fall downward!

If you change the player's friction so that
0.8 / (1-friction) >= 30
which is:
friction >= 0.973333333...
Then your current code will produce a nice parabolic jump!

Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:42am

Better yet, remove
this.vx *= friction;
this.vy *= friction;
from player.update() altogether and just set your initial jump speed and your gravity to something lower.
Your jumps will look a lot more natural!

Reaperguy says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@theholychicken
Thanks, man! That was indeed what was wrong. Didn't even notice that the jump was odd after having played it so many times.
Well... you deserve at least a place in my credits(i added a map for them) and your games will be the first i will play in all next LD! Thanks again
(Impressive that you understood something about the source code, even I don't understand anything anymore)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:27am

glad it helped!! ;D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]