August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Perception

by Reyn - Jam Entry

Time is subjective. This will help guage your internal clock. Please note online scoring is now working.

Just added the android version [11mb]. Tested on a Galaxy Note 2, YMMV

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#59Theme(Jam)3.67
#191Mood(Jam)3.18
#202Innovation(Jam)3.18
#222Humor(Jam)2.71
#257Graphics(Jam)3.40
#341Audio(Jam)2.65
#365Overall(Jam)2.95
#418Fun(Jam)2.61

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Great concept! You should add a clock to show what time the player actually got.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Thanks. At the end there is a list of times per scene. There is also an online score board which I hope to improve on tomorrow.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice idea! I totally did not expect that :P

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Yeah, got 10017 on the last one! Pretty relaxing game, I loved this. Would be entertaining to have a nonrelaxing version filled with noise and music and action to see how bad it messes you up.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Awesome job. The visuals were interesting and helped make counting a little harder, especially the horn from the boat! The ending was a nice touch as well, the whole thing oozed personality and mood. Nice job mixing 2d in a 3d space.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

@vandriver Perhaps you should try the directors cut! When it got to the 'Mississippi' level I was almost an entire 7 seconds off XD

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Hey, you are right, we all almost the same came concept ;-)
Only I mess with player with music, and your approach is more on the mood and vision.
Your take on it is very interesting, if I was better at graphics, I would have gone your way.
Director's cut is hilarious !!! Very creative.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very interesting, the director's cut is fun.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very great little game :) I liked the concept and how vision can appear to alter your perception of time. Very interesting idea and a great use of the theme! Good job :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30pm

yay, mr Chronos on all 6 scenes on directors cut. Hilarious btw :P
Very innovative, I really liked the way the theme was used :P

RustyC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

It was interesting. I would have liked if it told you if you were above or below and if you could start the clock with space as well. It's fairly simplistic but well executed.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, our scores were poor, but we enjoyed playing it.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

Enjoyed the scenery, very calm. Director's cut is an interesting addition too.

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

This is such a strange game, but I really loved it. Also the Director's Cut is pretty awesome (you sneaky bastards). :P

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Interesting! Was a bit different!

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

Very cool use of the theme. Having to guess 10 seconds by itself wouldn't be much but by adding in the little vignettes really sells your game. The ending was a nice touch and a director's cut is always nice. Your game reminds actually me of one of these, picture within a picture (within a picture, etc) things:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoL7wRgBugM

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Best director's cut ever.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Seen this concept around in other LD entries, but this one does it prettier. You need more distractions though. Try to put people off. ;)

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Hahahah direction cut was awesome! :P Really original idea! I'm mr Chronos!

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Wow! :) very nice. Like the different scenarios and the director's cut is pure mastery :D

xel says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Pretty cool concept. The Director's Cut was absolutely brilliant.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:34am

I like the mood and the concept of the game. Pretty relaxing too. ^^

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:03am

Nice concept, certainly different from most other entires :)

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Great mood.

Hit the 10 seconds pretty precisely every time. I love that you were able to put scoreboards and statistics in. Extra points for that.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I like the concept, it reminds me of a minigame in Rhythm Tengoku for the Wii.

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:12pm

It was nice, but I wanted a little bit more from this. It could be interesting to incorporate the visuals more or have more distractions, as others have commented.
The Directors Cut was weird, but an awesome inclusion ha ha - maybe the actual version should be the Directors Cut?

kibertoad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:14pm

really cool idea with interactive painting and director's cut. it's a shame you really don't have much to say in both.

Diventurer says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Decent entry. Not much to do though, to be honest. You could have implemented different mechanics. I actually managed to get 9920ms on scene 4. :D
My worst was 8500 or something, on scene 6.
Did you record the sounds yourself? If so, nice work!

Oh, and can you rate my game? I don't want a blank rating. You said my download didn't work, but it does now. :)

Ritzblues783 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I love the expanding world concept. The Director's cut was much more challenging and funny! Most 10 second games are frantic... this one is quite the opposite!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice concept and well applied.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I actually enjoyed this, a nice change of pace from the other games I've played this LD!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice game, i had something similar in mind when I started. I discarded that because it's so easy to cheat when you have a clock ticking in your room... :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Clever theme usage... Like a lot directors cut =) Congrats.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Interesting concept. Not bad.

Xgor says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I liked the graphical style. I just wish gameplay was something more interesting than just guessing the time.

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:43am

Yeeowch, apparently my internal clock is broken, and I must burn my toast often XD For whatever reason though when I tried not counting and just pressing the button when I felt like it I was much more accurate.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:37am

Nice. Director's cut was amazing. I need to work on my timing though. Welcome to Ludum Dare! Hope you come back for plenty more.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]