August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OKAI

by Rongefilet - Jam Entry

OKAI is a survival game set on a planet with a 10 seconds day & night cycle. You must survive as long as possible, avoiding night spirits contact, gathering fruits to restore your health and rest to be able to jump again.

Controls:
- LEFT & RIGHT arrows to run
- UP arrow to jump
- DOWN arrow to sleep

This game has been realized by NoNameNoSocks team (one developer and one artist) with the following tools:

Graphics: Flash
Code: SublimeText, Phaser (HTLM5 game framework), TypeScript
Sounds: SFRX, Psycle

If curious: https://twitter.com/NoNameNoSocks

This game had been created and tested with Chrome, use it if you can.
The game might be a little long to load, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Graphics(Jam)4.62
#37Mood(Jam)3.85
#109Theme(Jam)3.50
#118Overall(Jam)3.50
#164Audio(Jam)3.21
#264Innovation(Jam)3.04
#300Fun(Jam)2.92
#437Humor(Jam)1.80
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Really cool! Nice balance between collecting fruit during the day and dodging enemies at night. The music really adds to the atmosphere as well. The circular environment and parallax scrolling are very artistic as well.

BTW, I'd love to hear what you guys think about my game! We were on very similar wavelengths on how we interpreted the theme!

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great mood and art, solid controls. Only wish there was a bit more of a challenge.

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15am

The night spirits don't seem to appear much at all if you sleep at night. Basically you 'win' the game by permanently sleeping, there isn't much gameplay or any kind of goal to work towards.

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Nice graphics, it looked like I was playing a cartoon! Music was nice, well polished. The only problem was that it wasn't very hard.

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

I really liked this piece overall! Being available on the web and chrome at that, so I could translate and play it easily was a big bonus! I thought the art and music was very nice and you guys did very well with the theme. I had no glitches on my end that I could see and it ran smoothly enough. My connections pretty bad so I blamed any lagging on that.

The only critique I have is that, without levels or any real goal aside from getting the fruit and resting, I got bored rather easily. Played it for a good long while because it’s so beautiful but still, grew tired. As this is your first jam though, you guys did excellent in my book ^^

Hope to see more from y’all real soon!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Really good looking graphics and nice audio. The gameplay is a bit repetitive, I wonder if you could add something that would add some urgency to the game. Great job for 72 hours!

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very smooth gameplay and controls. It just needs to get more challenging earlier on. I survived 14 days and THAT was hard. I see a lot of potential to take this game further. with more features as the game progresses. Nice work you guys.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Very nice, specially the graphics. Needed more variety, but nevertheless, great work for 72 hours! A complaint would be that collisions with fruits were a bit off.

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Really Good!
I think it only needs to be way harder. Maybe more ghosts from the start, and I think the rest level should increise slower.
Anyway, I really liked it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

Gorgeous game. I only survived 4 days on my first run, but beautiful! Well done.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31am

Thank you all for your feedbacks. We had definitely not enough time to balance the game's difficulty, we both goes to work on monday and it restrain the time we had to tweak some gameplay details. But eventually we thought about releasing a final version once the votes are finished (not to interfere with it) with some new monsters at night and an improved difficulty. Thanks again folks !

domrein says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very cool. Fun art. I liked the game, but agree that it's too easy and simple.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

cool concept and nice art!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

Long loading time indeed, it would be good to have a loading screen so the player knows to be patient ;-) The graphics are the best I've seen so far, love the small planet. Sometimes the game froze for a moment, but maybe that's just my slow computer. The learning curve is a bit shallow, I made it to level 19 where it started to feel impossible, but the first 10 levels or so were easy as pie. The fruit is sometimes hard to catch. Very nice entry!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Amazing mood, great graphics! The gameplay is nice, but the difficult could increase a little faster. I survived for 24 days =)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Cute graphics! Nice game as well, I enjoyed it. I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

Reyn says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:17am

Well done, was mentioned in this blog post: http://indiegames.com/2013/09/screenshot_daily_game_jam_week.html

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:06am

Cool entry, cool concept. Nice mood, very calming.
I thought the collision with fruit could use some tweaking and the difficulty could ramp up some, but it was nicely atmospheric.

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I really liked the mood of the game, but I found the gameplay a little too repetitive... Anyway, good job and amazing graphics! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]