August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run

by smrt_co - Jam Entry

Try to run to the next trench. Life expectancy is 10 seconds.

This game has been frantically developed (ha ha), by Bojan, Mirko and myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#300Humor(Jam)2.38
#330Graphics(Jam)3.12
#330Mood(Jam)2.81
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#457Theme(Jam)2.73
#459Audio(Jam)2.06
#506Fun(Jam)2.33
#526Overall(Jam)2.54

Comments

Velro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Downloading from Mega feels sketchy and requires a bit of hoop jumping.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Run wouldnt Run on my pc. I downloaded it and it would not open :/

smrt_co says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

@Jupiter_Hadley
I just downloaded it and it's ok. You should be getting a .rar archive, 16.2 MB large.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00pm

The idea of a soldier running out of a trench is interesting, I like it. But I hardly run for 4 seconds before dying, so it's hard.
I think this idea can make a great game if you work on it again. :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

LOL the voice at the start, amazing. And apparently I completely missed the point but won? Nice game tho!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice concept....but wath's the strange voice on the begining.

smrt_co says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24am

@iterative deepening

It's supposed to be a general, giving a speech before a charge. :D It's silly, I know.

@RHY3756547
No, we missed the point while making this game. You were a good soldier. Have a cigar. :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Like the idea of running to the next trench. One I haven't seen so far!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Good idea that could be great with more polish. Didn't like having to wait for the blahblahblah at the start each time.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Quite interesting.

smrt_co says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:15am

@GarethIW
Thanks. I knew that it would be annoying, but we didn't have the time to implement some intro skipping.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Wuuhwhuu whuuuu hwuuu GOOOO ! Runs nicely on my computer, a good starting point for a game, more clear objectives would be nice and a real voice instead of that general dude :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Oh healz no.. The start is sooooo creepy :P I like it! :D

RustyC says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:01pm

A nice attempt but could have done with a little more fleshing out.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

fantastic concept, but could be a little easier, sometimes it feels quite random if you die, or perhaps it's just my computer that's too slow.

i can actually see this turned into a lengthy experience, so please keep working on it.

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:06am

Nice atmosphere

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Great job, totally has that dark nightmarish feel like in "All Quiet on the Western Front". You guys successfully made a game in 72 hours that has more impact and meaning than every modern dudebro shooterfield war game put together. Well done. Also nice spin on the theme.

smrt_co says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Thanks for the comments! I really didn't expect anybody to like it. Actually, I expected the Spanish Inquisition. :D

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I liked the speech at the start.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Haha, that was awesome. Loved the speech at the start, made me larf every time. And yeah I died a lot.

Haven't seen a game like this and it was so cool to see. I did have one question though, who was I and who was I fighting against? That's two questions...meh.

Wuuhuu wuh wuh whuuhhuhuh. :D

smrt_co says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:23pm

@Almax27

Thanks! :)

You were a Serbian soldier, fighting against Central Powers in WWI at the Salonika front.

OR

You were a platypus, disguised as a human, fighting against The Three Pigs in a war over construction material domination.

OR

You were a pizza delivery guy who got an order of one Roasted Garlic and Peppers and one large Margherita, and they are starting to get cold.

OR

You were an invisible man, but you forgot your pants in the trench yonder. Some stuff are also getting cold here.

Take your pick. :D

Livsk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Good game. Nice atmosphere and nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]