August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Need The Cheese or I Will Die

by JimMakesGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Silly platform game in which you might evade or kill enemies and get a piece of cheese in each level. Each level lasts ten only seconds before you die of cheese deprivation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Humor3.12
#192Fun3.41
#277Graphics3.37
#286Audio3.00
#322Overall3.30
#517Mood2.78
#548Theme3.19
#989Innovation2.31
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Great game! Enjoyed watching you make it, everything came together well.

laffer35 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10am

I'm very impressed with what you managed to come up with in such a short period of time!
Cool game, was a lot of fun watching you make it!

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Watched a lot of the stream, looks like it came together very well in the end. I'm glad you didn't aim too far and get a head of yourself.

LastofAvari says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

What a nice game you have there =3
Cheese FTW!

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Hey, I'm mort96 from the live stream. Not sure if you remember me :P

Anyways, great game/decapitation simulator!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51am

Nice and fun! The animations are very good!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Good work on this Jim! I saw bits of the stream here and there, looks like it all came together nicely. The graphics are very reminiscent of the Amiga days, and I enjoy the quirky sense of humour.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Movement feels pretty great (though jumping is a bit floaty). Simple game but executed really well.

Soundboy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Love the sprite work!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I love your alien! He's cute. Great work.

vissenekku says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Very nice! And very addictive

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I got all the cheeses!
Nice animation skills.

pillbrain says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really nice work. Liked the sprites and the gameplay although I do think jumping could be tweaked a little.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

This is the first game that's ever made me want to eat cheese. Especially enjoyed the last level with the pit!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24am

Nice and simple oldschol game that reminds me of the dos era apogee platformers. Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

You've managed to nail my favorite genre. Platformers featuring aliens who need a constant supply of cheese to survive.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:10am

I like this entry. Nice graphics :)

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11am

nice game (:

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Really liked it, fun and humorous!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25am

I like how the levels get tougher progressively. I got through some levels through pure luck! :P
Love his dying animation, if that doesn't sound too sadistic.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice work - love the graphics. I jumped out of the level on one of them, and fell in infinity ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]