August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Feed Me Word Things

by beaugunderson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Entire game was made while I was walking on a treadmill desk. Didn't do any work Saturday as I was at a Black Sabbath concert.

Somewhat inspired by Spaceteam.

After judging I hope to add a list of people's favorite words, leaderboards, more variety, and a revamped game mechanic.

I tested in Chrome and Firefox using the latest version of each on Mac and Windows--but if it fails in one try the other. :)

Source code on GitHub: https://github.com/beaugunderson/feed-me-word-things

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Fun3.50
#168Audio3.26
#191Humor3.04
#243Theme3.50
#276Overall3.36
#298Mood3.08
#450Innovation3.11
#505Graphics2.96
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Nice to see a typing game in the compo

bhopkins says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Doesn't seem to be working for me, using chrome.
I see this message after pressing enter:
initialize warp
warp coil malfunction
sentient creep malform%%#
breach imminent
batton airhatch
reverse rotocoil
jettison humans
set us up the bomb
dowlink eng{#`%${%&`+'${`%&NO CARRIER

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

I peaked around 63 WPM, but on the next level, I suddenly lost after the first word. (I think) It didn't let me restart since there were no words to choose from.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

I liked it, though the second time I died there were no favourite words for me to click...

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Cute game. The voice saying "Feed Me Words" is both creepy and adorable.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

I was surprised to realize that I love this game for some reason. It's innovative, fun, humorous, and has good atmosphere. A typing game is all those things. Take my 5/5, and let me live in shame of this fact.

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Really loved the audio. Fun game!

beaugunderson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

@bhopkins, Mac or Windows? If you look in the console is there an error?

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Good gob for working on a tread desk

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

Very neat! Damn those |'s, though. Always throwing me off guard.

drilltail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

I couldn't get it to work in Firefox; I had the same issue bhopkins described. In Chrome, however, it works fine for me.

Fun game with a nice flavor, I'm surprised at how much I got into it. Good job!

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

Really liked the whole tone of this.
The sense of impending doom ads a lot to the typing experience.
The graphics were great, as were the fake words. The sounds were a little obnoxious.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05am

Didn't work on Firefox 23.0.1, Windows 7 - played it on chrome, quite enjoyable!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice game. I liked the the atmosphere and the vague plot. Pretty well done. And coded while in a treadmill, wow! Good job!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The sound effects showed thoughtfulness, and I seriously enjoyed this game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Hmmm word games are not my favorites, but this one seems really good! Nicely done!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Sweet! If you don't believe that I'm giving this 5/5 for Graphics, just watch me.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:50am

Picking favorite words after losing is fun :P I so much hope to see a final most awesome word or something like that^^
The glitchy graphics gave it a nice look, but the sfx didn't fit too well, imo.
Anyways, it seems to be a good game to start learning how to type =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]