August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kickbox

by Epiphane - Jam Entry

If you have a flair for the exciting, this game is definitely your type! Every 10 seconds, something exciting happens to change up this simple slime-volleyball-esque soccer game.

NOTE: If you are running the mac version, make sure that you right click Kickbox.app -> Get Info and check to make sure that "Open in 32 bit mode" is CHECKED.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#138Fun(Jam)3.31
#229Innovation(Jam)3.11
#245Theme(Jam)3.19
#252Humor(Jam)2.55
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#330Mood(Jam)2.81
#364Audio(Jam)2.58
#489Graphics(Jam)2.56

Comments

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

It's hard to judge a game like this without someone to play against nearby, but the quirky engine makes for some good fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

This was real cool. Same as TehLulzinator, It's kind of hard to play on your own. The 10 second switchup was a ton of fun though! Great job!

PS: Go Mustangs!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

Amazing job, great game. I LOVE games that let me flip anything. Playing as a rect and doing ninja back flips is the great in the game. XD Nice job. KEEP. IT. UP. Glad that you added sound. The installer was a bit annoying, but it was worth it. Hope to see you making games in LDs to come!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00am

So funny! Great job!
It's a football game but I find the way you did it is really innovative! Sadly I played alone so I couldn't use this game at its full potential.
ps: Slow motion rocks

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21am

Doesn't run with my mac :P

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I brought this to work today to play it with a coworker. It is, indeed, pretty awesome with 2 players. The characters offer a surprising amount of variation. I played the ghost guy and my coworker played the twins; at one point (when Giant Mode was on) my player got sandwiched in between them and they dragged me around for a while. Was hilarious.

TheCze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very fun game, especially against a human opponent. Slow motion was my favorite effect.

The game crashed on our third game though, we were using the two characters on the bottom right, maybe that helps you locate the problem.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06pm

That's a nice game, I like the ball changing physics. Nice one. :)

Epiphane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

@MunkeeBacon and anyone else who can't get it running on a Mac, try right clicking the application -> Get Info. Make sure that your Mac opens it in 32 bit mode only :)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37am

Amazing game! More fun while playing with another player.

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09am

I played against myself haha it was fun

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

Awesomeeeeee game!!!! i love it!!!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

A fun and pretty silly game. I like how all of the characters actually had slightly different properties... and pulling off kickflips to send the ball flying was cool. Changing the game effects every 10 seconds was a pretty neat touch! Thanks for putting this together!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Quite interesting and neat game

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

This was really fun and creative! I think it's better than Slime Volleyball. :D

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Cool concept for a multiplayer game. Plays nicely with the theme. For some reason, I think your block crowds are awesome. Good job!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

fun game i kept losing though.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:04am

Good use of the theme 10 seconds. As a suggestion, I think you must implement an IA for singleplayer :D

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Fun gameplay and player choices. It's kind of funny to play against yourself. The crowd was a nice touch.

AidanAK47 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I can't say much considering I played it by myself. I can definitely see it being fun with another player. All I can really say is that it would be nice to have a method of controlling your spin. Maybe a kick button which spins your player rapidly.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:31pm

good game very fun

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:24am

It has been more than a week since I rated this game, it has held the test of time! I play it every other day and I have gotten pretty good at landing flips. This is still not boring! You are in my top three for sure! (Unless I find a new favorite in the next 80 hours, this will mostly like me crowned THE BEST GAME OF LD.) Very nice work!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:03am

This is crowned the best game of this LD in my opinion. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

It's boring to play after the 5th goal))But funny)

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I can see this game goes wild :)
Anyway, I can't fully experience the game though as I don't have someone nearby to play with. But I really sense the good fun as I tried to play it alone as well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]