Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ROBO-TIC

by Omar_q8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about some broken down robots that only last for 10 seconds, but within that time they can move and activate other robots who last also for 10 seconds. the player must keep activating robots and guiding them to reach the end.

Used Unity3d as the main engine:
Additional Assets from the asset Store
- 2DToolkit
- iTween
- FX Maker

Illustrator CS6 for Art
Spine for Animation
LogicX for music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#54Theme3.92
#92Fun3.60
#126Overall3.60
#154Innovation3.61
#172Audio3.25
#248Humor2.86
#255Graphics3.43
#286Mood3.10

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

Wow, this game is neat. I adore the idea. My only issue with it is that it's so difficult. I always die right before I hit what I assume is the end of the level!

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

This is a pretty enjoyable game. I like the central mechanic of it, with the activating robots. The soundtrack is pretty good too. It could have used a few more levels, but I understand that's sometimes hard with the time limit.

LemonTree says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

I like this game and idea!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice concept and graphics. I only wish the camera centered on the newest robot that you picked up instead of the oldest alive robot, plus it was a tiny bit difficult, but fun nonetheless.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

This game is good , great Idea too

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

Great idea!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Wow, that was good.
Idea was really fantastic, and I liked the animations a lot, rather funny.

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Well done, thi sis a rather interesting take on the timelimit - just run out, you got spares. Sometimes the platform detection is a bit wonkey though.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

great game! loved your background and visual effects.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51am

Love the interpretation of the theme. I found the best strategy was simply to focus on the robot with the highest number above their head. Were there any cases where you would have to sacrifice one robot to get another? If not, that might be a cool addition.. :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41am

Great game. A little tricky but the balance felt just about right for me. The mechanic works well and it's capped off with some nice fluid animation on the 'bots.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Superb. Cool concept and nice execution. Cool post effect too!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very good idea and very well made!!

Sour says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Wow, that was Robo-tastic!

m1_10sz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Completed it! The idea fits theme very well, I totally liked it! :)

llamaguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The plataform mixed with selfdestruct robots like checkpoints is a awesome combination!! The psicodelic music and the psicodelic scenario hynotize me :|

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

The music was a nice touch, so it was quite short making the looping a little...much. But overall the game was a pretty awesome concept and it played really well too. Awesome job on the graphics and gameplay!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Awesome game !

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Finished it. Very cool. So psychedelic.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

For some reason this is reall fun! But short!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very nice concept! The game is very fun and has a great idea to it, robots that explode after 10 seconds is awesome, just the idea gives this game a very nice feel imo, the robots control well and very responsive. The game is very fun in it self, the graphics fit this and go really good. the audio was great. The game is kinda humorous, and the mood is very well done. Overall very fun and well executed game!

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

The little robot guy is well done and I like the game mechanic. I especially like the name of the game - one letter short from the name I chose :)

TheBoat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

great concept!

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Whoa! nice entry I enjoyed all the levels

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Instant smile when playing this :) great music and graphics too, well done :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Clever usage of the theme! Nice work! The jumping was bit odd, but otherwise I didn't think it was too hard.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Very cool idea ! Easy to pick up and clever. Fun graphics and music.

Eirikir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

Awesome art on the robots, and loved waking em up

DigiTec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

This is definitely one of the most complete end to end games and the theme is well represented. The fact that your ten seconds resets with each robot and you are simultaneously controlling all of the robots at all times is pretty awesome.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

Good controls, good graphics, good music, great theme - I liked everything about this game except how I kept dying :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

good job

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

The web please doesn't work on linux, please release a linux binary!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59am

@josefnpat Added Linux build :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

This is great! love the music and gameplay. The idea of extending your life is pretty neat too. The effects cool too :)

It did get really difficult though after some time.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I like the theme interpretation and the robot animations are really cool! Levels are challenging in the right way. :)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Cool use of the theme, the multi-character controls really open up a lot of possibilities. Great visual effects as well.

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Nice job, works well. The multi-character control didn't have much effect on the gameplay, though (maybe it does in later levels, though). I always ignored all robots I was controlling except the most recently activated one.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

fantastic! the concept was great. the background and visual effects made me feel like I was in an 80's music video... which was pretty amazing

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Good game !

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:54am

Nice game mechanic. Loved the shaders here and the music added a nice Heavy Metal mood to it. Solid entry :)

goyal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:29am

Smart concept. Nice graphics!

I think the robots should not collide with each other. Sometime they create unnecessary blockage and the time runs out.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:42am

Love the music! gets somewhat tricky later, but its awesome

Codexus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Good interpretation of the theme. It was original and fun. The robots look cute the levels are bit too blocky. Excellent music for a compo game.

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:40am

That game was cooperative and amazing :D ... Loved the graphics and effects. Great job on this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]