August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Apocalypse

by donfabio - Jam Entry

You are a dinosaur and you have to escape a giant metroid in 10 seconds. Luckily there are portals and magic apples.

The game was realized in C++ with SDL2, OpenGL and stb_image.
It contains seven unique levels. You can find the level editor on my site: http://fabioarnold.de.

Polona Caserman did the art and level design, Clemens Chu made sound and the Linux build and I programmed the game.

Have fun!

Warning: The Mac build is untested... You might want to try to build from source :/
Also there's gamepad support (only tested XBox 360).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#63Theme(Jam)3.65
#86Fun(Jam)3.49
#90Humor(Jam)3.33
#100Overall(Jam)3.54
#122Mood(Jam)3.39
#132Graphics(Jam)3.86
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20am

Unfortunately, the game close right at the start.( I have Windows 7 64bit )

donfabio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

Is there any error message or files like stderr.log in the game directory?
Unfortunately this is compiled with Visual C++ Express 2010. So you need the Visual C++ 2010 runtime package (x86): http://www.microsoft.com/de-de/download/details.aspx?id=5555
Hope that helps. :/

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Fun game, and nice graphics. Unfortunately some of the sound effects were a little annoying (specifically the jumping sound and the noise you get when you die on a spike.)

Also, there is no way you can fit that much blood in one dinosaur.

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Audio was a bit loud (especially the death sound) and you don't get hurt by the spikes on the ground if you walk into them (you have to jump onto them, walking is harmless) but otherwise, pretty good!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02pm

The arterial spray made this game. Well done.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Works with me ;)
Very, very, very, very hard game... But nice graphics :)
Good job.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

It's good but it's very hard to control where you land. I always failed at level 2 !

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Hard to control but the game is fun:)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Works fine on OS/X. Very polished visuals. I like the shaking screen. The little dino lives in a dangerous world and seems to have a lot of blood pressure :)
But I only made it to the second level :-/ I am so bad at jump and runs...
Overall a very good game!

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

That's my favorite dinosaur.

fantasywiz54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I really enjoyed the gameplay, art, sounds, and music. My favorite part was the character, it's so adorable!

donfabio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Thanks everyone. Especially for testing on OS X. :) (But I think it works on 10.8 only...)
For everyone who thinks it's too hard to control: We forgot to mention there's gamepad support :D

KeinBaum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

very cool but hard game

Polona says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:54am

We also made a playthrough. You can see it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf2_EgqsHFk

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

I drowned within 2 seconds of first playing the game :D

SOO much blood!! It was Glorious!!

Love the dinosaur!

<3 the game

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Really amazing game! One of the best I've played in this LD. High Five! :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

Waaaay too hard. The controls are too floaty, and it seems one particularly bit is impossible to get past. Nevertheless it did keep me trying for a while, and the graphics are very nice.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

Felt too fast sometimes. And ohmygod the blood xD
Also the portal transition was awesome. Nice graphics and sfx!

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:25pm

The game isn't taking input or rendering for me correctly. The dinosaur is just a white square. However I did at least have a good look at the game.

The opening takes a really long time to get through and the music is quite grating. However the graphics I could see did look nice ^^.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I think this is one of the best games I played so far. It has a unique story, a cute character and fun gameplay. The only thing I don't like that much is the audio, especially the static noise after death. The immense blood gush was quite funny though.

Gear says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Aww, that's such a cute dinosau-OH GOD IT'S SPURTING BLOOD EVERYWHERE

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Fantastic game! I'm thinking the apocalypse is probably caused by a giant meteorite/asteroid, not a metroid. And, as has been pointed out, you can run through spikes as long as you don't fall onto them.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really cute nice game! Loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:41am

Game is fun! But really hard to control. :)
I can't understand why spikes kill me when they are stuck to the ground!

schnerble says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:55am

I really like the style; the graphics are cool, and the sound fits well. Unfortunately it's just a bit too hard for me :(

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:12am

Oh this is cute a simple platfo... Oh god, the blood... it's everywhere!

Nice graphics, and solid meatboy like gameplay. As a small design note though, the small lava bubbles on ground on level three are not obvious that they are a obstacle and I died a few times before realizing it was an obstacle.

Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very fun, annoying, hard, and faced paced! But fun!

char68 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I like it. Incredibly brutal. It seems like you spent a lot of time figuring out how this little dino could die and it paid off :)

euske says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:16am

I spent about 3 to 4 hours for this and gave up. My friend who're a superb platformer player made it. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]