August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PILLOWMAN Defeats the Robots

by Spencer Alves - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Also known as: Why to never use Crafty or Box2D for a platformer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#490Humor2.34
#685Audio2.31
#915Graphics2.28
#965Theme2.64
#997Fun2.33
#1037Mood1.87
#1092Innovation2.08
#1122Overall2.28

Comments

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39am

Simple and works, also the fact that objectives change is really cool. I don't like how you spawn in the middle of the air every level, the sound effects are horrible to listen to for more than 10 bullets and the bg music is a bit repetitive. Still, it's simple and quite fun.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

I didn't really like the movement, and it was kinda of glitchy (for example, getting pinned against the wall).

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13am

Haha, love that bullet physics you got going on!

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

I love the pyhsics of the bullets. But didn't like the movements :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Not sure if all the tasks are solveable.. :)

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Was nice how the objectives kept changing. I felt the platforming was really slippery; it was hard to get between small gaps. Great work, though! :)

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

simple and fun

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Had an incredible lag at times. Nice graphics, though.

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09am

It lags a bit after a while. Movement is ok but the shooting is odd.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

If you're having slowness issues, you can try using a recent Chrome or Chromium build. It's much better there than in Firefox for me.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Fun little game. Bullet physics were really cool. Good Job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

I had some nasty intermittent lag, even in chrome. Graphics were cool. Nice idea, and fun gameplay. It could definitely use some polishing.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

The changing objectives and the switch of level architectures made this interesting.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Fun with the changing objectives but i had som lag spikes

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

I have to say using actual physics for bullets is really interesting. I'd almost be interested in an entire game where you have to work with bouncing bullets. :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

Pretty nice gameplay, but game has performance issues, if theres a lot of robots, and you constantly shoot, then framerate drops to like 2 fps. Graphics could use a little bit more work also

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Simple, working, but lags a lot and aggressive audio unfortunately

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:24am

Lagged my firefox down to like 2 FPS after a while... Garbage collecting troubles maybe? Graphics are nice, liked the splashscreen =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]