August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the n00b Models

by metranil - Jam Entry

This game is a first-person shooter where you must defeat increasingly large waves of incompetently modeled enemies. Every 10 seconds, a new wave spawns and your gun stats are randomized. If you can survive to wave 100, you win.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys to move, mouse to look, left mouse button to fire, space to jump.

Tools used: Unity Pro, Blender, Pixelmator, Bfxr, Fake Music Generator

Special thanks to Mayan A for his excellent feedback, suggestions and play testing.

Edit: Fixed (hopefully) two bugs. Disabled the collider on the gun, which seemed to be causing character control issues on Windows. Also corrected enemy spawn boundaries. Please let me know if you have any problems with the updated version.

Also tested a Linux build, but the mouse sensitivity was so high that it was unplayable. If there's any interest, I'll work on getting it to a usable state.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#214Humor(Jam)2.74
#420Audio(Jam)2.35
#427Fun(Jam)2.57
#492Mood(Jam)2.27
#494Graphics(Jam)2.54
#512Theme(Jam)2.55
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#589Innovation(Jam)1.96

Comments

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46am

Nice! It was challenging!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

good god...

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Not a bad start! It was fun to see the models - the pigs are very cute. I didn't really want to keep playing until wave 100, though.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice work! Some of the models are quite cute. But it turns so fast that makes me dizzy.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Fun game! I like the spread on the shotgun.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41am

This is one of those ideas the sound awesome but however when it comes down to it it breaks down. The reason is that when I finally get used to a gun It changes wildly.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14am

Subtly terrifying in a "dozens of tiny robots want to get me" sort of way

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

While the mouse responded well, the player movement was a little weird. crazy stuff!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

Circle strafe circle strafe circle strafe

Those little Wall-E's are vicious, and the soothing elevator music was a fine choice.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

Movement feels smooth, enemies are interesting.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06am

Nice work! I like a lot of the models. When the tank, er, is that what it is? Hahah. When the tank mounts you it looks like it licking your face, how cute. Keep it up.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52am

The about screen earns you 5 humor stars!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Unique and challenging game

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like the variety of enemies

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Really fun as strange!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good idea with the switching gun mechanic, controls for strafing were a little weird though!

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Cute models but nothing much to have fun with. It would much better if you had more control over your gun.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Pretty fun, especially because I run Linux, and Windows Unity games under WINE have no mouse movement. Quite interesting when I attempt Slender. Anyways, the game could easily have looked a bit better with strategically placed lighting.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

good job

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Good job, enjoyable game. :)

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

There is something scary about those green stools! Nice entry.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:03am

Didn't play it until the end, tbh.
Totally like the idea of randomized stats. Seems like your focus was on creating a lot of different 3d models. Some of them are really basic, but all in all, you managed to pull off good graphics =)

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:43pm

This was awesome, loved the simplicity and feeling of progression. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]