August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lil' Kingdom Strives To Survive

by lucidlarva - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An evil wizard has cursed your kingdom, Reducing your peasants lifespans to ten seconds. You must gather 400 gold, food, wood and stone in order to pay him to undo it.

Made the how to play below a lil' easier to skim through with the magic of ALL CAPS! Such yelling.

HOW TO PLAY:

Move CURSOR TOWARDS EDGES TO PAN.
SCREEN PANS FASTER ON EDGES, SLOWER TOWARDS CENTER
Shoulda did keyboard panning, sorry d:

SPACE to make NEW BUILDING AT CURSOR.
BUILDINGS COST: 10 wood, 10 gold, and 5 stone.

CLICK BUILDING and THEN a TREE/STONE/WOOD/BARLEY to HARVEST RESOURCES.
EACH TREE/STONE/WOOD/BARLEY ONLY CONTAINS 15 UNITS of resources each
Must RE-ASSIGN BUILDING AFTER COLLECTING 15 UNITS FROM A RESOURCE, almost added a counter, ran outta time.

R to restart... except on end screens d: woops

GET 400 of EACH RESOURCE to WIN.

Units die in ten seconds.


UNITS will automatically be created but COST 2 food and 1 gold.

If you can't produce a unit you lose.


Buildings that are tinted red need orders.

KEEP UPKEEP IN MIND, each house costs 2 food and 1 gold every ten seconds due to the cost of spawning a unit, don't spread yourself too thin.





Figured out how to do the dropbox thing, so now there's an ad free link to make voting easier. I'm not sure how long the dropbox link will stay up after voting, so if you share the game or link it somewhere, I recommend the gamejolt link. If I update the game with new features I will update the gamejolt version, not until after voting of course. If there's some sort of severe bug then I'll update both

tools used:
Gimp for graphics.
BFXR for sounds
LMMS for music
Audacity for sound/music editing recording
Flashdevelop for the ide
Flashpunk for the engine
Ogmo editor for the levels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#205Graphics3.55
#342Theme3.38
#544Innovation2.99
#548Audio2.57
#558Humor2.23
#610Overall3.00
#698Mood2.55
#851Fun2.56

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

I keep dying a lot. It's cool though. Cursor movement is a little iffy.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

I'd like to see if the current guy in the field follow your current order... at least until he dies...;) cool for 6hrs work...

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

Stressful and fun, good stuff!

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

I won! Poor little guys.. it's like they can't stand out in the sun for more than 10 seconds before exploding. It was fun once things got going. Perhaps sequential buildings should grow in cost, because otherwise it gets too easy near the end.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21am

Definitely a good idea with the theme. It was cool that you went for a more strategy-based genre.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

This is a good start. An RTS where the real resource actually is time. However, the music got on my nerves, and not being able to control spawned people was frustrating. So if you work hard on the control and concept, this one can be really good!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

damn I suck at this game.. love the looks of it tho!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Cool concept. I really want to play it more, but I feel a bit confused as to the concept. Obviously needs a bit more time, but I hope you give it the time: I think it could be something excellent.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54am

Cool idea, but it gets a little stale after a while.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

My guys just keep exploding on me! I'm trying to help them but I'm not sure what to do about it! :(

Looks great though. Like the vivid colours :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36am

Pretty cool. I do wish the mouse didn't effect scrolling at all, only the arrow keys or WSAD for scrolling.

Would also be awesome to be able to click a house then a resource at the top. The house would mine the closest resource of that type.

CrisisSDK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59am

I thought this was pretty good, although I wanted to be able to destroy unneeded buildings, that'd probably make it too easy :P
I kept wanting to scroll with arrow keys or WASD as well though, and I think it really should have had that.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Cute art style and sound effects. Not in love with the music, but it works okay. The gameplay mechanic is not my idea of fun, but I don't particularly like micromanaging things. It's a solid concept and a pretty good interpretation of the theme.

CTATZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55am

This is a pretty awesome concept, and the art is really nice.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

really neat game! I was certainly never bored. the camera was a little touchy, and it would have been awesome to see which building was selected!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Screen scrolling is a little fast, over than that very fun and interesting

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The responsiveness of the controls left a little bit to be desired. I also found myself trying to find out how to get units to go to specific ones. Functionality aside, it's quite aesthetically pleasing.

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

@MegaMasterX Yeah, the aesthetics is what I wasted most of my time on d:

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Frantic and fun! Way to hard for me though. Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I like the idea a lot, but it's a little confusing at first. It's unclear that you need to keep assigning a house to a task - I expected that assigning one to a resource would mean that it would keep gathering that resource. I'd like to see this one developed further, as I really think it has potential.

imef says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice little game you have here! I'm sure adding a few more mechanics could make it even better! :)

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Really loved the pixel gfx and fun gameplay. Found it hard the first few times but then got the hang of it. Can't believe you used barley as your food resource as well?!?! Nice job.

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

@berkano Thanks, just got done playing your game, a little complex but cool.

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

it is a nice game, I keed dying a lot but I will reseve some time to improve skills beacause it is challenging enough.
I just would say mouse sensitivity is a bit high.
Nice work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

good job

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

ah this is cute!! Good progress for a couple days, wow

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Being able to pan with keyboard and not mouse would have been a huge control improvement. Other than that, it was a solid entry. The greedier you get with the housing, the tougher it is to deal with upkeep, so there's an interesting balancing act at work.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:29am

The mouse control is a bit tricky. And it took me a lot of time to realize that you had to click on the house and then click on the resource that you want to collect. At the start, I could only watch helplessly as those guys exploded. T_T
Good job, but the controls have to be more intuitive.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:41am

agree with awppy, keyboard panning would have ruled! :) still a great game though. good work

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Cool economic strategy! Good theme realisation! Nice sound, great game at all! Good Luck!

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

Pretty cool, I like it.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Nice art. I suck at the game. Good potential here. I'd keep working on it.

JQCoding says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

Overall, a fun little game, thought some of the sound effects could have used some work, and maybe some better music, but AMAZING use of the theme.

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:32pm

You have a nice start here. I had to play it a few times before I really got the hang of it. I enjoyed the non-stop action and cute graphics. My only complaints are that the controls were a little wonky, and there wasn't a whole lot of variety to the gameplay. I hoped you add onto what you already have, because it has potential.

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Thanks to everyone for the nice comments and criticisms so far. I definitely am working on a post ludum dare version for this game.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Liked the tone of this game and found it fun, but the controls really let it down. This combined with the strict time element really creates a lot of frustration. Would have loved to see what this could become if those issues were dealt with though. Not a bad effort all-up.

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I like the graphical style for this game, even if it is hard to get the hang of.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:15pm

I like this one a lot! Nice graphics, great gameplay!

urth says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I love resource games. I need to make one someday.

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:38am

My first impressions on the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-jTBxT0nDI

Tanser says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:48am

Really cool game! I had to watch the video from one of the comments to understand how to play it though :) I read what you have written :) The mouse movement is very very hard :( But i like it! Great game, great work! :)

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:33pm

really great game - could perhaps do with more of a beginning and an end to flesh it out a bit, but a lot of fun nonetheless :)

Alink says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:21am

Very interesting take on RTS and the theme. The result is pretty good. Keep adding new stuff (even just new maps) and I could play a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]