August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You have 10 seconds

by Gus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#517Mood2.78
#527Audio2.60
#683Humor2.03
#700Theme3.00
#922Innovation2.44
#979Graphics2.14
#1052Overall2.45
#1128Fun1.94

Comments

loolpolo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:39am

this is the specops os the indie games.

Gus says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:47am

thx

Kapitany says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:43am

This game is a bit bizarre...

senseidav says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Shoot or not shoot.. That´s the only question ?

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24am

can't stop playing!!

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13am

A trully masterpiece. It makes me think about what i have done in my life. And i expect to be a better person in the future. JUST BECAUSE OF THIS GAME. THANK YOU GUS!

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12am

it reveals the reality of the human nature

targaciej says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33am

I can still see his face

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Didn't shoot at first... Good job on this one :D

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

No it's not that simple. Oh god! I killed a man. NO!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

This is amazing, I love it.

Adroitboss says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Sorry about when you played my game , I just noticed the bugs about Spawning monsters. Ill get on it asap! But Really nice game!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice job. I love the animation the briefer makes with his little arm. XD Keep it up.

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Very disturbing game!
Why are the army light toned and the victim dark toned?

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I didn't shoot him. I feel like such a rebel/pacifist now.

(Then I clicked on "replay" and shot him just to see what happens. Okay, maybe I actually feel like a hypocrite.)

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

@urth
The racism is implicit, just like real war.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

An interesting psychological experiment. No idea what happens if you don't shoot. I killed him every time. ;)

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

this is a serious game with real consequences.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice idea to let the player alone after he has chosen to shot or not to shoot... This is no game, this an ethics quest!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Interesting idea. Would of been nice to see the consequences or what happens next, but I think that's against the point

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Interesting concept. I agree with Jimanzium. I tried both ways to see if it changed something, but maybe it's not your point.

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I would have liked two different endings. But the idea is simple and shocking. I like it.

netmute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Wondering what the consequences would be. They'll probably just sent someone else to kill that guy. Why is he supposed to die in the first place? So many questions... ;)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:10am

Very raw and visceral. A very powerful piece, that is well worth playing. It reminds me of Brenda Braithwaite's talk about her game "Train" and why games don't have to be "fun" to have value and importance.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:45am

Interesting. Very simple and yet quite complex. Not much to say that others haven't. The aiming animation lends a lot to the tone. I shot the first time, second time I clicked elsewhere on the screen to see if it would fire somewhere else (nope!), then third time I spared him to see what happened. I didn't feel bad at all for it (it's a game afterall), but it did make me think about the natural reaction to kill in videogames as a default state, even though I don't think it's a real issue (again as it's a game).

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:10am

The audio is nice, even if it's a small loop it creates a oppressing mood.
I was a bit disappointed for not seeing consequences of my choice.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Interesting, to say the least.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]