August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Doom Hex: Escape

by Omnus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TRAPPED! As a legendary hero, you've been in your fair share of rough spots. But when you went after the ancient Lich, Duhrigol, in the Tombs of Shadow, you nearly met your match. As you struck forth with the killing blow, the dying Lich cast his most powerful spell: the Doom Hex.

Although you managed to destroy Duhrigol, the Hex transported you to his underground dungeon. Even worse, you were afflicted by it's terrible curse: you will grow weaker and weaker as you spend more time in the dungeon!

You must escape...or die.

Created by Omnus (Alex Yoder)
http://omnus.cc
http://www.twitter.com/alex_yoder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#165Graphics3.65
#290Fun3.27
#296Overall3.33
#333Mood3.04
#392Theme3.33
#447Innovation3.12
#458Humor2.41
#566Audio2.53

Comments

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

This was pretty fun. Monitoring all the bars was a bit much for me at first but I got the hang of it after a while. Love the graphics too.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Beautiful little game, very fun to fight! :)

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Quite fun and I liked your art style.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

fun game, nice presentation

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Pretty fun game. Love the concept and how well you executed it. Great job!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Great classic RPG feel!

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34am

Took a bit to figure out what was going on. But I love these type of games.

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34am

Wow, all of that in HTML.

Looks nice. Very polished in general.

Not all that much to the actual game, I'm afraid, but I'm not one to talk on that front.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

It never really gets hard, but It's an entertaining little combat system. I think it needs more motivation to change targets frequently. As it was, there were rarely any decisions for me to make. I never ran out of mana or came close to dying, through liberal use of regeneration.

Quite a lot of polish here, the art and sound that are there are actually quite nice.

Omnus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57am

Hey guys - thanks for playing! It's funny, the game ended up being quite random in difficulty - sometimes you can make it through easily, other times it can be really close, and other times you die the first 3 rounds. Some things I'd like to work on in the future: 1) finish the Shadowmaster, 2) add more enemies, 3) add enemy abilities, 4) balance the classes a little more, 5) add sounds and animations for powers, 6) add music (since I'm actually a composer by trade :) ).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice, loved the character design. Was a cool little feature that you could choose how to assign your skill points up front

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

This was a nice experience! Graphics are great. Only thing missing is the music :) Good job!

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice game. I like the graphics a lot. You should push it with more enemies and more abilities.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33pm

buah! Amazing result for just 2 days!
I'm not a role game geek, but this one really deserves it.
Congratulations and keep on going like that :)

foumart says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:16am

Like how the game is going. I suggest to add an autoselection of an enemy, and specially for the "Wrath of Nature" ability where isn't necessary to select target at all. Also the button texts are selectable.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]