August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mechanical Covert Espionage

by EncryptedCow - Jam Entry

You are a uni-wheeled robot given the task of stealing a memory chip from a top secret facility. Use your environment and stealth training to get in and out without being noticed.

Fullscreen recommended. (F to toggle)

Engine:
- Construct 2

Graphics:
- Paint.NET
- Graphics Gale

Audio:
- Linux Multimedia Studio
- Bfxr

A collaboration between EncryptedCow Games, Medieval Art Studio and SpacialPumpkin Studios.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Fun(Jam)3.29
#154Graphics(Jam)3.76
#158Overall(Jam)3.41
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#295Audio(Jam)2.82
#541Theme(Jam)2.40
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16am

Great job! I really like the graphic style =]

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56am

Character design of the robots was quite nice. The music was good but some sound effects would really make this shine.

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30am

The graphics look great! I also like the sounds. You made the music with Bfxr? That's pretty impressive.

I love the art and the detail that went into it. I also like the tutorial, real neat stuff.

I'd like the text to be alot bigger though, or maybe just scale the whole screen larger? Maybe I missed that. I also find that having to return back to the entrance pretty redundant, but the puzzle heading toward the main Safe Door was fun.

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I really liked the graphic style and the music associated. They really felt, futuristically robotic. When I was playing the level, I was like, "OMG THIS LOOKS HARD" and then I beat it I was like, "Woah, I beat that!" I like your way of designing levels!

Patriick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Haha! Thanks for all of the nice comments guys (and or gals?)I assisted EncryptedCow with the graphics for this project, it was real fun to work with him on this =]

He took care of all of the level design though :P

We also live streamed a lot of the development, I believe Cow did but I know I did for most of the art assets anyhow =] - I didn't know where to post that we were doing such a thing though =\

I'm glad you all enjoyed it, I know I did :D


Kind Regards
Patrick Griffiths

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nicely done! I love the graphics and audio. The theme wasn't really well implemented, but the game's fun makes up for that.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Wow, awesome art :D Robots FTW ;D

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10pm

The text was way to small, and I wish some of the animations were a bit faster, but overall, a very nice job. Great graphics and audio. Gameplay was quite tricky, but definitely got me hooked. Hope to see you in the next one.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

I really liked how the animations worked, it really adds to the feel of the game. Nicely designed levels too

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I really like the puzzle mechanics on this, it could just use a bit of tweaking to make it a bit less difficult. Definitely fun though. Good work!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very polished for a weekend. You should add more levels and put it on Kongregate! Nice graphics and audio, I sort of wish I didn't have to start over from the title screen when I died, but I'm sure that will come with adding more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]