August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bluescreen

by sirengames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Humor3.11
#307Graphics3.32
#399Audio2.81
#479Mood2.82
#714Innovation2.76
#800Overall2.81
#842Fun2.57
#1055Theme2.45
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I like this game! Great work on the gameplay!

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very cool concept and presentation! I loved the old computer setup and the buttons on the side were a nice settings touch. The survival mini-game got pretty difficult as time went on and the normal mode was kinda easy. Pretty funny having the computer bluescreen when you lost! Remind me never to install Paladin Virus Hunter software.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:59pm

curious one! At first sight I thought it would be kind of a strip poker hahaha
I loved it!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Arrrgh - wut? It has alll the elements I look for in a game: 286 aesthetics. Crunch chip tunes, busty cops, floating binary strings... but I didna get it! What was the antivirus thing? Gimme a hint - 'cause I'm sure I should be in love with this one ;)

sirengames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Hey Mrspeaker,

So the game's presentation is very confusing, I realize that. It's mainly due to lack of time in creating the UI. Ha ha.

So you play the embodiment of a virus software, the Paladin Virus Hunter. Busty Cops II is the software that has been installed which just happened to contain a virus. You have 10 seconds to get rid of the virus before your pc bluescreens. Which tends to happen a lot.

Then inspiration came from my friend, who installed the drivers for his new graphics card and ended up bluescreening about 15 seconds into startup due to the driver software being ran. He had 15 seconds to uninstall the software. When the 10 second theme came up I thought, "Perfect." So I went with a more generic example of bluescreening that everyone should have a bit of experience in. Ha ha.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:57am

that was pretty cool -- original -- good job

MrBlade says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:27am

Very nice work! I loved your game. Your take on the theme was interesting and it was done pretty well. I have never had a "blue screen" but I think this was the perfect simulator. Hahah. Very nice visuals. I wish the computer monitor would have had rounded edges with transparency not just a play rect, oh well. Sound was great too. Catchy beat, but not irritatingly so. Keep it up! 8/10.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:27am

Cute game and nice presentation. It would be good to see more levels, powerups, and enemies.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:28am

Nice game, I love the graphics and artwork ! Good job !

laaph says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:34am

Awesome game! Did not find out what I could shoot, but otherwise very fun and simple game.

Jimanzium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:40am

Very cool graphics/display

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:18am

Nice little game!

Larzan says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Nice idea, i love the fact that you simulated a cothode ray shadow effect :)

urth says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:34pm

It reminded me of the old days of monochrome and dos software installation.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:35am

Update; the day after I played this game I had my first blue screen of death ever. Then within 24 hours I had another one. I have been good for a solid three days now but YOU GIT DA DEVIL SINS BOY! YOU GOT 'EM. *wags finger*

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]