August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rebound Recon

by TheHermit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to maneuver your remote drone to the airlocks within 10 seconds in order to escape Zantium Electronics with stolen industrial secrets. Use your drone's advanced predictive software to plan a route in an instant.

How to Play:

- The red line is your current trajectory
- You can click on the trajectory to add or select a node.
- You can click and drag a node to apply thrust
- In the UI at the bottom there's a timeline - when a node is selected, you can delete it by clicking on it on the timeline.
- You can look at a static moment in time by click/dragging on the timeline to that moment.
- The graph at the bottom is your fuel gauge.
- When you have a successful trajectory, hit Go to play it out!

A minor hint: try accelerating down into a bounce. The collision is conservative. It can be useful to build up as much energy as you can, then use tiny burns to adjust the angle of reflection when you hit a wall or corner.

This _should_ run on mobile devices though it might be awkward on smaller screens.

Rebound Recon is made primarily with GIMP, LMMS, and Tiled. It uses Quintus for the underlying HTML5 engine.

I added a post-combo version that has some better controls and a more zoomed-out view that should be easier to plot trajectories with, as well as 9 new levels. I'll continue to update it every so often (things like the 'how to play' screen are not yet resized to the new resolution). You can also now delete nodes with a right-click and use the arrows to fine-tune the path.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#30Innovation4.00
#130Theme3.70
#158Overall3.54
#219Audio3.15
#380Mood2.96
#455Graphics3.05
#508Fun2.98
#693Humor2.00

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Strange game. I actually had trouble understanding what to do even with looking at the instructions. Nice music in the back, and nice interface overall.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Wow, great stuff!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Cool game, except I didn't really understand how to do it. ;)

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

This is a really great use of the theme! The game's also pretty clever. The main fault right now is that a lot of unpredictability and randomness can be created with miniscule changes, and as a consequence I started brute-forcing puzzles. The momentum and movement also were a little confusing (i.e. my mental prediction and sense of what I should be able to do often conflicted with what the pathing said I actually could do.) Introducing the different mechanics a little more slowly, and giving the player sandbox opportunities—because the mechanic is pretty fun on its own—to play around might help this. In any case, I hope you keep working on it after the jam, because there are good ideas here!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

nice idea. plus the best music I've ever heard in this LD.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Awesome game! My only gripe is that the controls were a little difficult to work with. I loved everything else about it.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Holy mother of physics, great job with them man! the graphics remind me of the days of windows 95...

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

Very nice game! Very fresh take on the theme.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47am

Yeah pretty weird but cool.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

Nicely done! Here's some sophisticated programming. Wow!

You'll find that my game has some similar elements like scrubbing back and forward in time and adjusting physics. Not similar enough to be embarrassing, though, I think :) Try: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=25979

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

@OldPeculier, yeah, I played your game earlier and noticed that. I like this particular type of idea a lot - giving the players what amounts to a supernatural control and perception of something that would otherwise be impossibly complex.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

If there is a technological excellence category in LD, this sure earned five stars.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Quite innovative idea here. Really feels like an early windows game - which is great for the mood. I find the dynamics and easings too sluggish.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

Great graphics, i found the gameplay to be a little slow but overall enjoyed it.

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Very awesome game mechanics! Never seen anything like this. Got very difficult at the end, I had to give up on lvl10 when bouncing two balls into switches at same time :S

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very original and tough. Nice job.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Unfortunately it doesn't start in my Chrome on MacOS

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I wish I could click messages away instead of waiting for them to close slooowly. And for a bigger screen. And for a button to stop again after I clicked "GO!". (Also the "motion detectors" announced in one of the early levels aren't really motion detectors, but just gates that open and close in frequent intervals, aren't they?) And the controls are sluggish and hard to figure out at first.

Okay, that's out of the way now. So: That being said, this game is amazing! I LOVE the way you've made time AND force/fuel a limited resource and then let me plan how to use both in detail. I don't know why, but something about that feels just great. The puzzles got really hard over time - some a little bit too hard for my taste. I stopped at level 13 - might try it again later, after you've been so kind to save where I was.

I'm really partial about the music. At the beginning I loved it, but after more than half an hour of playing it starts to get a bit annoying. It's far from bad, it's just a bit too powerful I think.

The rest fits too: The graphics have a nice retro touch and strangely the absence of sounds didn't affect me at all - normally I am extremly fussy about that.

All in all, a superb entry that doesn't feel like it was developed in a mere 2 days. Also congratulations to finishing your first LD game!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Instantly downloaded the source after playing. This plays great, graphics a little uninspired but fine, and the UI is a bit confusing just like the games in the 90's this feels like. But I'm nit picking, great work!

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Controls were a little awkward. I would like to be able to reset quicker after a failed attempt. But, it's a small nitick. Great music and idea and programming. Great entry!

TheHermit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

Thanks for all your comments everyone! I'm working on an updated version right now based on these suggestions, but I don't want it to interfere with the judging. I'll post a journal entry about it when done and host it separately.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Love the concept, but it's a bit hard to play - especially if you accidentally hit 'go' before you're actually ready. There's no way to go back to planning mode!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

This is a really great idea. The interface can be a little difficult, but overall it's pretty well executed. I made it as far as the first Lv.13. There is a trial-and-error feel to it, but you still have to think and think hard to even guess what's a plausible move in a lot of situations. Well done!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:32am

I liked this one a lot. A unique kind of strategy game. Very nicely done. I'm looking forward to the updated version.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Great idea, the bounciness was nice. I found the controls very fiddly and tricky to understand though. The music drove me nuts too. Lot of potential here.

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Ohh, awesome! Changing the path of the drone panning and doing click-drag is great. The time concept is very solid, everything is so precise. You have a great engine under this.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Planing the path and watching the drone is great fun, combination of time and fuel limits adds a nice challenge. Very well made!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Clever! Could have been executed better, but I like what you have.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

Great Idea. very cleverly created puzzle game. A little confusing how to reset the game to setup the trajectory again... but wow...thx for this imaginative game

wrongcoder says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:51am

Absolutely love the concept. It looks great, and the music fits well. I found the controls to be a bit fiddly, though; sometimes I was scrolling instead of moving nodes, sometimes the other way around, and it was a little frustrating. Great entry overall!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

I like the work you did on physics here.
It was a bit hard sometime due to not seeing the whole trajecotry, is there a way to see the whole level that I didn't find.
The music is great, it fits the atmosphere.

Aceria says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:59am

Trying to figure out how to remove nodes was not very intuitive. The system itself was very neat though. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]