August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Erfingi

by olafurw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are stuck in a cave. An ominous sound can be heard in the distance. Can you explore the caves and battle the foes that roam the dark halls?

Have no worries though, when you die, your heir can continue your journey. There are a lot you can chose from. But you only have 10 seconds to select from one of your children, so make that choice count.

-------

- Randomly Generated Caves
- Mouse only controls
- Your children are generated via Genetic Algorithm based on you and a random mate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#257Innovation3.40
#489Mood2.81
#596Overall3.02
#730Humor1.97
#785Audio2.08
#806Theme2.88
#858Fun2.55
#888Graphics2.33

Comments

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02am

Good game. I lost quite a few minutes to it :)
I like the heir idea, it is a good twist on the theme.

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Interesting game. I wasn't sure if there was a win objective other than going through the door? Was pretty fun nonetheless. :)

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

No win objective, just to try to get as far as you can and try to select optimal heirs. Thanks! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Heh, someone's been playing Rogue Legacy. Nice job simplifying that & adding a 10 sec timer to the choice.

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I really loved the atmosphere of this game. I'm a huge fan of the lighting! I would have liked some music ^_^ but it's cool nonetheless, good job dude

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Interesting idea and implementation. Movement was a bit unwieldy around tight passages.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04am

Great concept and execution! 10 Seconds is definitely not enough time to choose an heir and that makes it all the better! I like how you used sound to create direction for the player and the low view distance made it tense and suspenseful. Also, having almost max limp suuuucks haha! The game would benefit greatly with some completed art, otherwise great job!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Nice game. The choice of a heir within 10s is an interesting take on the theme.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

5/5 from me. Really cool design that would be nice to see a full, polished version of. :)

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

Pretty fun. Not sure what a lot of the stats were

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

The movement felt odd to me, and the world seemed very empty.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24pm

The concept is really cool, the genetic algorithm seems to work well. It was hard to pick a heir quickly due to the unclear overview it has because of the scrollbar. The spellcasting felt good, but I wasn't always sure if I was damaging the monsters.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Will post video comment when done

noom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

That was fun, I like the concept and I'd love to see it expanded on with some more depth and graphics etc. As much as I understand the time limit on choosing your heir, it really goes against my style of play so I found myself getting flustered with the choices. There were many moments when I simply ran out of time and ended up with a terrible mutation!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

I really liked it! Neat use of theme. Good Job!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

Nice idea, some of the stats are a bit confusing.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

Live review available: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831050

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Neat dungeon crawler. It started slowing down a bit on my system after I died a few times.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice concept with the inheritance. The lighting and sounds certainly lend well to the mood. I did find it a little dull, mainly to running into no enemies after the first level (if I remember correctly).

yagiz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

I could not get to kill any enemy no matter how strategic I attacked. As somebody who worked with genetic algorithms it is always interesting to see them in games.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I like the idea of heirs and inheriting traits. More stuff in the world would be good. I liked the map revealing, it made exploration more interesting

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

Lighting was cool, but I don't really understand how to attack and what the red flashy thing is.

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:45pm

This was fun.

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Cool! I love the idea of choosing a heir in 10 seconds. Controls are pretty good, but I'm not quite fond of the combat system, took me a while to figure out enemies can hurt you by being nearby. But other than that it was good! Innovative!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]