August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb defuse - 10 seconds

by choqaae - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "Bomb defuse - 10 seconds" you play as a highly advanced bomb disposal robot. You must get to the bomb and defuse it in less than 10 seconds, in a random generated world!

Each round you upgrade the robot and make a plan. The terrain becomes a little bit more difficult to get through every round (more trees rocks and water).

Tools:
Language: Java
IDE: Eclipse
Graphics: Photoshop
Sound: Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#616Theme3.12
#694Fun2.76
#714Innovation2.76
#784Overall2.83
#842Humor1.76
#853Audio1.83
#998Mood2.03
#1082Graphics1.94

Comments

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

bomb defusing is awlways really fun and intense!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Always wanted to become a sapper... At least this one who is steering bomb defusing robots ;) Nice entry!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

The upgrade idea is cool, and it would be better if you don't loose them at the end of a level... Anyway, it's a funny game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

This was pretty fun and it did get intense at some times. I like the idea of having to build a new robot with new stats everytime.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

This is a very cool idea. I really liked the upgrade system and the whole scouting out the map before hand and planning your route.

My biggest complaint would be the difficulty is quite random although that is also to be expected in a game including random generation made in 48 hours.

Good job!

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I finished the first level but all my upgrades were gone.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really cool game. I love the concept of studying the map and adjusting the robot based on that. That said, the speed powerups seem too cheap for how effective they are. I got up to 300,000 by only buying a couple of each speed boosts per level. I used one chainsaw and one rock drill.

Also, I broke the game by using that 300,000 to get up to level 40 on speed...

f345an says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am

Awesome game, really interesting use of the theme. Also a little bug fix, I'm going to assume the white space around the game isn't intended this is probably because you're setting the resizability after you pack your frame. You should do it the other way round, hope that helps :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28am

Enjoyed this one, the upgrade system adds a lot to it. As a few folks have mentioned it could use a little more balancing, but that's to be expected for a 48-hour game. Still a nice piece of work.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

It took a while to understand that you have to buy at least one speed upgrade to be able to move at all. In my first try I just spent all my money, failed, and was left with a non moving robot for followup missions :) In another mission I actually failed although I had defused the bomb in time.
Like the upgrade system!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05am

This is really fun, I like the concept. Unfortunately, it felt unbalanced in terms of how much money you have in the beginning and what you get later. Also, the cost of some upgrades felt somewhat arbitrary.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

I played for over 20 levels, so if that's not a measure for the game, I don't know what is. It was fun, though it wasn't that hard once I figured out a basic setup that worked for most of the levels.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Funny game. A little bit unbalanced but nice. Good work. :-)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

It could be a better game if you don't lose the upgrade at each level. It's very frustrating. Good concept and good use of the theme.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Its a fun game just may be a little bit hard, also sometimes the bomb gets block out.

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very cool concept - loved it.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I got to level 30, this game was very fun and very intense. I feel like some trees or boulders were not destroyable? Otherwise I had a blast playing it, it is kind of cool to see how far you can make it!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

The game is interesting but I believe for the idea to work it would need more carefully designed levels.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Interesting concept! I like it a fair amount!

I like the art and the gameplay mechanics

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Really interesting setup, if the upgrades could stack on top of each other I feel like you could really start creating some interesting level designs. Really liked the map preview too, gave you a chance to plan your route. Great job!

Monofraps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I had quite some fun playing this game. Very interesting idea. :)
The graphics are very basic but they do match the overall style of the game - so, well done on this part!
Audio and sounds was very basic as well - but again, it matches the overall style. However, I do miss some kind of background music.
Furthermore, I found some bugs. The first one seems to remote a water tile if you chop down a tree next to a water tile while standing on the water tile.
It does sometimes happen that your loss - when failing a mission - is $0 ...which is nice but doesn't make sense (to me at least)

Bernhard says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:32am

I think I rock-drilled the bomb away and lost once :-)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:17pm

It was really fun! Could have used some music.. and the collision was buggy at times.. but otherwise it was great!

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:17am

I liked to concept of adjusting yourself to the map, however... losing all upgrades (even after WINNING), while having to keep the money stats constantly was not too nice =/
Will play it again though, trying to increase my money rather than wasting it =)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

This is good fun! It takes a while to get used to how many points to assign to an upgrade - it caught me out that if you assign no points to movement on land or water, you can't move at all!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I like bomb defusing :D upgrading is cool.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 9, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Hmm, I can't move my robot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]