August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Graviteer

by Linusson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game has three different game modes, each with their own version of the "Ten Seconds" theme.

Racing
You race from one platform to another one. You've got ten seconds between each checkpoint, make it in time or die.

Assault
In this mode you need to kill one enemy every ten seconds or you die. The goal is to kill all the enemies and then return to the platform. This mode is pretty hard as I didn't have any time left to tweak it.

Delivery Day
Go get all the red packages and bring them back to your base, one by one. You have ten seconds to find a package, then you have 10 seconds to bring it back to the main platform.

There are 3 levels / game mode.

As I'm such a nice guy you have five extra lives in each mode. :D

Controls:
Accelerate: Up Arrow, A, or Left Ctrl
Steer: Right and Left Arrow
Fire: Space, S, or Left Shift

Edit 1:
I rewrote this description after I had got some sleep. :)
Added web version.
I also uploaded a new version where I fixed two bugs
- The number of lives in the HUD didn't match reality.
- It was impossible to complete a level in Assualt mode (the if-all-enemies-are-dead-line was missing).

Edit 2:
Added Mac-version.
I found a bug in the camera code when I tested the Mac version. The ship ended up outside the screen sometimes. :/
I updated the Windows-version with the same fix (changed two lines of code) just to make sure the game is playable, which I hope was an ok thing to do.

Edit 3:
Added Linux-version. I haven't tested it myself but a friend tried it out and it worked for him at least. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#57Fun3.73
#153Overall3.55
#249Graphics3.45
#271Mood3.13
#286Audio3.00
#652Humor2.07
#752Theme2.94
#798Innovation2.65

Comments

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27am

loosly connected to theme; but still a great game.

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

Nice, but too hard for me. There should be deacceleration on down arrow i think.

netmute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

Very nice implementation of a classic game :)
10 seconds is hard, but not too hard. Nicely balanced overall, I think.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

Graphics are not bad and ship control feels pretty good. Nice job.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Nice work!

Love the physics-movement :)

orunbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Good old NES-HARD. I think that's what makes me want to play it. Art is great and physics are simple and solid.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The controls are very smooth and the checkpoint spacing makes it much easier to work with time wise. The gameplay itself is pretty simple and it ties in the theme pretty well, but the game seems very polished!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Fun mechanics and nicely polished overall! I would have liked the option to start from last checkpoint when you crash in racing mode. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

berkano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Beautifully balanced, addictive gameplay! Brought back happy memories of Space Wars. Nice Job!

Vico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Simply great!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Excellent work! Good old-fashioned arcade action, well polished and balanced. Minor gripe: the black on black in the web version makes it harder to see walls coming from the sides.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

Man, I love games like this, please move on and release this for iPhone!

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Thank you to all of you for your feedback and for playing my game! :D

@bvanschooten I added a border around the game on the web page, thank you for telling me. :)

bisk8s says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very well done I loved it!

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Fun little game. Hard to control at first but it's fine. Love the 3 modes. Gratz !

Serishmus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Fun game! I wish gravity were stronger, most of my deaths are from hitting the ceiling.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Liked a lot! Kinda hard in the beginning, but once you get it the challenge is right! :)

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Great racing mechanic, you should release it as a space racing game with AI opponents

TheDreik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very good prototype for future bigger game, I think.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

classic! very nicely executed :)

autlos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Woah this is like a better version of asteroids with the 10 seconds implementation.

Maybe the inertia is too exagerated. I mean, it's really hard to control the ship (that's fun btw).

Good game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Terribly addicting! There is no escape, flying, fly, and more fly! It is difficult, but this is even more addictive.! The sounds great!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Wow, very difficult, but not at all frustrating somehow! Saying that, I thought the time limits, while consistent with the theme, were slightly irritating. I really enjoyed this game, even though I wasn't very good at it :P a few graphical glitches, but i've heard this is down to unity rather than anything you've done, apart from that, the graphics are excellent, and I loved the audio too. Really nice work, especially for only 48 hours ;)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

So HARD! I had fun though :P

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Great physics. Love the game. :)

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Overall I enjoyed the feel of the game. The physics were nice. The game was deliciously hard, too. Not much to complain about here. Good job.

Zccc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Very solid and addictive game!

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:03am

Lost all my lives before getting to the first check point :P

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:16am

Nice game, but wasn't really connected with the theme, not in a good way I mean. But I liked the graphics :D

Larzan says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Very difficult to control, but nice. Theme not really used though...

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Solid programming. Nice to have different game modes. Also very challenging

Dioiminik says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Wow this game is Hard! But awesome, an addicting combination that hooks you until you eventually ragequit ... And then come back only to sooner or later ragequit again ... I like it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]