August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Switch

by Friday - Jam Entry

A platformer made in 48 hours for the Ludum Jam 27. It contains a paralell world kinda mechanism which makes the game a bit more intresting.

Walk with A and D, jump with W or Space, Switch sides with Ctrl, Look with mouse.

By Fredrik Hernqvist and Alvin Combrink.

Please note that we did not make the music, we got it from incompetech.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#34Fun(Jam)3.71
#85Overall(Jam)3.58
#92Innovation(Jam)3.51
#150Theme(Jam)3.41
#258Audio(Jam)2.94
#294Mood(Jam)2.90
#303Humor(Jam)2.37
#349Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

killmonday says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Awesome idea! Really liked it! And the music was pumping hard in my headphones :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great concept and I kinda liked the graphics and sound! Very funny!

Sink says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:45pm

unique game. The controls are a bit awkward and the camera is a little strange to change around. But besides that it's a very fun and engaging game!

xaby says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:17pm

when I came to ground with holding the spacebar pressed, the figure will slide at the ground. Sometimes I wished a Save-Point after a hard passage. So after the first rocket launcher and dying at the second I give up.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I like the simple graphic style. Great idea!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great concept, good levels, clean execution, very cool :D

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Awesome!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Really loved this game. 1st one I played until the end and my favorite of LD so far. The faster paced it got the better in my opinion. Great game.

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Good job overall, the levels are well designed and mechanics are fun to play!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Awesome.
If I had to complain about something, I'd say that it was a bit annoying to wait for the switch so often. The parts where you have to walk 2 steps and then have to wait 8 seconds are kind of pointless :) Very well done!

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Thanks guys, this means a lot! :)

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

@timtipgames You can switch manually with ctrl :)

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Great idea done well!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Wow! Great game. I died like 1000 times and always though "One more time..." and finally made it to the end. Awesome music!

DarfnageL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

The graphics are cool, controls a little wonky but over all work, I love it!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Haha funny and fun!

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice game, I found the controls a bit confusing and hard to use and some of the situations were a little bit tricky. The use of the 10 seconds was fine though. Check out our game too! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21pm

It's well made, good level design.
Graphics are a bit poor.
I like the idea of no HUD

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

This is an excellent game and great concept. hard are nails though ;)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Awesome! Five stars!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Really great idea and very good game. I like it very much although I am not a fan of platformers. The Theme is optimally realized in this game.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:29am

Wow, haha, man, I had way more fun than I expected! The plane switching, while not a new idea, was executed very well and solidly. The puzzles were unusually fun, too -- it doesn't penalize you for dying lots of times, and actually makes trial and error fun and exciting! The way new mechanics surprise you at first also made it hilarious for me, haha (damn that rocket!). I guess what made it meld together was your good choice of music, as it made things light and fun! Great work! :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Great puzzler and nice to see some 3D too during LD27

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I would've liked a checkpoint system since the levels are so long and it's only tedious going back through old parts, but fun anyways and the character animation is quite good :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Nice concept, reminds me a bit of Echocrome :)

Good work, keep at it!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice player model. Also the game mechanic was very good. It could have used some checkpoints in the longer levels. Solid entry otherwise :)

kibertoad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:58am

great functional level design. possibly the most fun I've had with actual platforming during this ludum. surprisingly clever and well-balanced use of the theme.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Nice concept and really fun, but I would replace the control with another key, for example S or F.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]