August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds is a Game Changer!

by JellyMan64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is, my first Ludum Dare game. I hope you guys enjoy. I worked my butt off.

Point of game:

As you all know the theme is 10 seconds, so I made it so that every 10 seconds, some core part of the game would be changed. That's how 10 seconds can be a game changer. The goal of the game is to get the highest score possible. You can post your score in the comments below

Controls:

WASD: Movement Keys.
R: Reload
Left_Click: Fire
Right_Click: Aim.
(Simple Enough)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#687Graphics2.68
#807Audio2.00
#811Humor1.81
#872Mood2.30
#943Overall2.63
#948Fun2.42
#1016Theme2.55
#1027Innovation2.23

Comments

Omnus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

It was kinda cool having the enemies walk through walls, I never knew when they'd show up. I eventually ran out of ammo, but I had fun shooting little sphere-men!

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Actually, its set to randomize ammo amount every 10 seconds. Once you reload after the 10 seconds it's different. It's possible the variable of bullets could have been set to 0. Just know to wait and constantly reload with R.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Was a pretty adventurous idea to fit 10 seconds. Where literally anything can change every 10 seconds. Leaves the mind asking "What just changed" whenever the timer hits zero. Nice job on this, glad it worked in the end.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nice job!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

Cool stuff. The little sphere guys remind me a bit of the characters from Ecstatica. Congrats on making it through your first LD btw!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

This is a Good shooter really good job for 48 hours.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

Fun game, nice graphics and controls! Good work :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Was an interesting idea but the gameplay was clunky and I saw a few issues with the level. Were the enemies meant to be able to clip through walls?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Nice to see an FPS on here. :)

superfoonly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25pm

It would be cool if the game told you what changed. I got swarmed after a couple minutes and couldn't move anymore. Nicely done

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I gave the enemy's no-clip so they could surprise you.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I like the idea of the game changing every seconds, but I never really noticed anything changing other than my ammo...
But good job anyways.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36pm

The time between each spawn of enemys changed.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I only saw a black screen, then my mac completely froze and I had to force a restart :-/

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

It's clear that you put a lot of time into making this. Good job!

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

For a moment I thought this was going to be a Sega 32x game. :P </obscureconsolereference>

I like the concept of this! Didn't see much of a noticeable difference throughout the game, however. Maybe I should try to get further.

But the thing is, the controls were very sensitive and somewhat buggy (kept trailing to the right, though this might be a Unity bug with Wine in Linux...); that detracted from the experience so I couldn't really get far.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

All bugs have been noted and are being worked on. Sorry for freezing your computer kristof!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

The concept seems interesting I did not notice any difference while playing though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

Good first attempt at this!

fun game, good gun, could use a little more polish and it could have been so much better

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Hmmm, I barely noticed my ammo change. Thought gravity or something like that will be altered, hmm. Enemies vere surprising, I would maybe add some red screen or sound or something to aler player he is being hurt by spheremen. :)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Enemies went through the wall was my only complaint. Great job I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]