August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Detective Shadow

by Mandraw - Jam Entry

Boring rambling /On/
I want to say : It's teh first time I do a game (outside of my head , I mean) I'm bad at art , i do now some programmation language but it's the first time I apply it to a game.Anyways these hours have been fun and frustrating , making games is awesome !
Boring rambling /off/

You are a detective who just woke up in front of the house he needed to search for a criminal case...but he seems to have a little black out : before he can remember what happened , he hears a sound behind him , and his soul scream : RUN !


I wanted to do 10 romms , and more interactivity , but time is hard oII think I'l do a refined , with true art version...
For now , enjoy this one, i hope ^^"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#424Humor(Jam)1.87
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#485Audio(Jam)1.70
#524Graphics(Jam)2.38
#530Theme(Jam)2.48
#547Innovation(Jam)2.25
#578Fun(Jam)2.00
#593Overall(Jam)2.21

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This game is alright, I guess. I got stuck once I got the key, got in the house, went in the right door and went right. With the forks, and bowl...Puking or something? 4/10.

Mandraw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

hey first game and i'm reading along the manual...anyways , im almost donbe with the old kitchen...

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Maniac Mansion like :D Found the key... died in a hole at the left room ^^

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I played a little on Wine running on linux. I like how you mixed the artwork. for your first game it's an accomplishment to just finish.

Keep up the good work and you'll earn a lot of experience in the process.

my first game was some REALLY WEIRD geometry shooter in flash.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55am

The art is a bit of a mess, you could of put some mysterious soundtrack too. Also - arrow keys and mouse? Recipe for disaster! Put WASD atleast.
Although it is not that bad, keep on working and you can show great work! :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

For a first game this is not bad. It was awfully short though, at least I think. I managed to get 2 endings, after jumping into the hole.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59am

no music, no sounds, but nice idea. Good work

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03am

The female scream scared me...

Mandraw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21pm

To answer some of you : I didnt want to put wasd , I have a non-qwerty keyboard and i always hazd probems playing games...arrow keys are on every keyboard and if you dont have to use others keys(like ctrl , alt, shift...) they are not bad...

I'm bad at art...music is worse , so until i find

Mandraw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28pm

To answer some of you : I didnt want to put wasd , I have a non-qwerty keyboard and i always hazd probems playing games...arrow keys are on every keyboard and if you dont have to use others keys(like ctrl , alt, shift...) they are not bad...

I'm bad at art...music is worse , so until i find someone who can help me with it...

there is a third ending but i couldnt include it :/
It was to be at least 10 rooms , but midway i choose to completely change the art, it was really bad :/

Actually the screamer is a boy , but i cannot blame you for thinking otherwise XD

senseidav says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This is one of the few graphic adventures has appeared in this contest, so that I give you good points.

Art its good, althought you you are bad i think not.. I think a little of music has had encouraged the party too..

Good work, keep on.

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I think this has a nice premise, and can be worked further upon!

As an advice, do try to follow control conventions: arrow keys and mouse is a little strange combination.

Keep working on your games! :)

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:30pm

The room with 2 doors were confusing because they both said it was wrong. I had to click on one door a few times and it let me in. I didn't get the puzzle there. lol.

Mandraw says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:02pm

That because you must go in before some seconds : if you don't go quick , the monster is waiting behind the door

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:55am

not bad!! great idea! good job!

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Good work on your first game! Cant wait to see what you do in the next Ludum Dare

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:18pm

A mouse and arrow-keys feels rather finnicky and imprecise (mostly because I wasn't sure whether I should be clicking on my character, the item, or what). Mapping investigate to something like the space bar, and having a visual indicator (like a ! above the character's head) would make this much clearer.

Mandraw says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:39am

Yeah that would have bee better , but I was a little in a panic/frenzy between the fact I never used gamemaker , the fact I never made a game and the fact that I wasn't sure if What I was doing was worth putting online... in the end I learned how to use gamemaker , and I finished a game(cool!) and friends encouraged me (they said they would kick my ass if I didn't put it online XD) anyways I'll keep all of your advices for next time !

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Hey this is my first LD and first time with game maker also... nice game mandraw, I thought the visuals were actually good and also that demon really caught me by surprise lol

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]