August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Archery

by Bmanrules - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi,And welcome to 10 second Archery! The game where you have to hit all the targets (with a bullseye) in a round in under 10 seconds! Can you do it?

Didn't have that much time to work on the game over the weekend between Kayaking, Gardening, Walking the dog and other stuff, but I'm happy with my results. It doesn't have a title screen and isn't nearly as polished as I want it to be, but for my first time making a proper game in Unity and my first Ludum Dare I'm happy with myself :) I suck at art/modeling so most of it is pretty bad, but I like the style I took with the bow and arrows, and the water is pretty.

I originally planned on making various types of combat but found Archery to be the most polished, However the other types can be found in the Source code ;)

Click to start, or use RT on a controller, Aim around and shoot the targets. Click when done to restart

I need to change the resolution of the webplayer as it causes the bow/text to go out of place, but it's 2AM here so I'll do it tomorrow :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#636Graphics2.76
#730Theme2.97
#788Fun2.66
#829Audio1.93
#864Overall2.73
#900Innovation2.48
#941Mood2.17
#945Humor1.47

Comments

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19am

Good game but you can kinda cheat with the bow by spamming left mouse. Also the aiming is off. But on the whole it kept me playing for a while.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30am

Thanks!I was planning on having a delay in firing arrows, but it made it difficult to hit all the targets within 10 seconds :P The aim was difficult to get straight, so it is off a good bit, because it shoots from the left instead of straight on. I might try and fix it after the compo :) Thanks for the criticism though :D

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

It's a very good looking game with some unique strategy and aiming... although some stuff like something to aim by, and a hit indicator would be appreciated.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

This is pretty interesting. I thought that it was hard to judge where the arrows were going, maybe if there was some point of reference or something? The game itself looked nice, especially the water. I tried it a couple of times, but could only get 100% on the first level.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I liked it, but I too felt the aim was off. It would be much more enjoyable if it shot from the center of the screen, I think. I still like it though - the water effects were cool! More levels couldn't have hurt either. :P

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Fun and challenging. Good use of physics.

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I like the model of the arrows and that they can fall over

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Thanks! The aim proved difficult, as trying to get the arrows from the arrow to the center of the screen was tough, so I removed the crosshair and left it. Originally I had melee combat too, but removed it for buggyness and this is one of the reasons for the lack of levels :)

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Reminds me of Link Archery on the Wii but on crack.

woodecker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I liked the idea, but the mouse controls are too fast!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I liked how the aim was a bit off, making the player compensate. It's like you get to learn how the bow works :)

There should be a delay between shots though, so you can't spam arrows :P

Nice entry!

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:54am

Cool Minecraft style!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:52am

Cool little game, though the aim was off a bit. Really nice idea. I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]