August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Planet Destroyer

by Latency - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Mouse

Saved out as an HTML5 game, if you have a modern browser it should work, let me know what you think :)

Goal is to do as much damage to the planets as possible with your setup within 10 seconds. Enjoy!

Also click to use missiles in the battle, not sure if I made that clear or not.

I used Construct 2 for the game, Photoshop for the graphics, BFXR.net for the sound effects, and inudge.net with virtual audio cable and audacity for the audio.

Edit: I'm as done as my motivation can take me, didn't get a chance to add in a tutorial or info screen like I wanted but I think I squashed most of my bugs, there might be 1 or 2 left that I just cant find. unfortunately I'm not an artist so I didnt waste any more time on art either. Hopfully you enjoy the game. :)

*Start Edit Post-Submit*
I'm glad most of you like it, Totally know I need to add in a tutorial screen or something, might do a quick one up and put in a post-compo build in the links above.

I was also thinking of taking this idea and fully fleshing it out, if your interested in that let me know by signing up to my mailing list, I won't use it for anything but the announcement of the post-compo build, but I want to do it all proper and in a different engine so it might take some time.

Heres the link: http://eepurl.com/EjxdP
*End Edit*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#286Audio3.00
#439Fun3.06
#444Mood2.86
#511Overall3.10
#576Graphics2.85
#592Humor2.18
#606Innovation2.89
#700Theme3.00

Comments

Drakonid says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:58am

The game is a bit unclear(there's no explanation on how combat works, what the misiles are for, prices, etc.). And I once both won and lost in the same planet at once.
Other than that, I really liked it.

Latency says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:57am

Thanks for the feedback, a small tutorial or intro explanation is in the books for tomorrow if I have the time. And Ill have to look into the victory/losing conditions, must be a bug

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:18am

yea nothing happens when the timer runs out...
just saying

Latency says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I just cant get that bug (When the time runs out it is defeating the player for me), but I changed how my victory and defeat triggers are working so hopefully that will fix it. But without a way to test it, I'm not sure.

Thank you very much for the feedback, I'll keep trying to get it.

Senevri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08am

That was fun.
Web-accessible games ARE much easier to test, I must admit.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good colors.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

I was confused. Who am I? How much are things to buy? How do I win or lose? I'm confused.

Bouyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice graphics! Though it could have been a little harder.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Looks like a nice little strategic game. However would need a bit of quick explaining on how different upgrades help you and how the different mechanics work. At first I wasn't really quite clear on whether I was the planet or the fleet destroying it. Haha!

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

I like the clean art style and the soothing audio.

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

After beating the first planet the game seems to be very easy. There also isn't much to spend money on other than more ships once you have the missiles. Good game though.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

I really enjoyed it! space fleets vs planets is awesome.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

found this game to be rather soothing. great job on the sfx and projectile graphics! some more ingame direction (why it's good to have more damage, missiles, etc) would be helpful

jugglerrob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

I almost felt bad after destroying all those planets. Almost.

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

The only negative I can post is the lack of costs on upgrades.

The good though, loved the simplistic soundtrack and classic laser sounds. The fire and hit effects were really nice.
Spamming a huge fleet and just destroying planets was good fun.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

Very interesting submission. The graphics are pleasant to look at, the sounds are nice, and the game is fun (even if it can be unclear)

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Neat little game, I don't get what the rockets were for though. Understanding upgrades was a bit tough.

Ghandhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

I like it! Make a post compo version : )

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31am

Watching the ships attack the planet interested me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered identifying the difficulty of each planet?

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Wow thanks for all the great feedback, I'm glad most of you like it :) If I keep developing this I definitely need to work on the UI and include a Tutorial, and probably scale the difficulty a bit more as some have pointed out it's pretty easy near the end (on the plus side its more planetary explosions? that's something right?)

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

It looks fun and the graphics are simple but aesthetic - but don't understand how I can affect the outcome of a battle? Can I control the ships or not? Would love a tutorial or a little help :)

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

@rasmusrn Once your in a fight unless you have missiles you can only sit there and watch it unfold, the way to aid in the battle is by setting up your fleet outside of it then watch it inside it. once you have missiles you can click to fire them while in the battle for extra damage to the planets.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I don't know how to control the game :(

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

@aquilico it's all with the mouse and left mouse button

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice submission. Not sure if there was a way to actually destroy enemy lasers or to dodge. Upgrade costs were unclear too.

How did you like Construct2?

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

@davidwparker For quickly making the game and prototyping it is amazing, one of the best I've used to date. But I will need to learn a bit more about creating the plugins and what-not to see if I could use it in a fully polished and finished game, it still feels a bit restrictive and hacky, although by the end whether you write the game engine yourself or not most finished products do hahaha.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Missing a tutorial, also there is not much to do in general, just buy and equip ships.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

goof job

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Pretty addicting, got hard fast. Not bad at all.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

It's definitely missing explanations, but it's a nice game anyways :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fireworks at the end are awesome!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Interesting game concept, For some reason the game ran extremely slow for me, but the nice little music loop made it tolerable. I was using firefox on an older computer, not sure if that's the reason it was so slow or not. Great game overall though.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Would be helpful if the prices were shown

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Lol, this game is so awesome and moody!
Love the sound effects!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I thought I was defending the planet from invaders ha. A small intro would have been handy but no biggie and the end was nice. Music made this planet destroying feel like a stroll in the park. Camera movement following the action was subtle and good

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

thanks for the feedback :) and I really wish I could have added in a tutorial screen at the start or something, would have REALLY helped XD.

@Beardbotnik TBH I don't have an older system to check it on and my system is quite fast, but I can see the slowdown due to the sheer amount of particles. Sorry I didn't optimize it a bit better didn't realize I would run into an issue.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Web version is a bit off for me on some details, like the price and upgrade points that I see in the screenshot. Game as otherwise clean, simple and soothing, Kinda like the "plan then execute" formula.

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

nice

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I like the effects you've got in there. It is a bit unclear at the minute about what you do and how you win etc but I'll be coming back to see it updated :)

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very nice! Quite enjoyed the particle effects, though there could have been spaceship sprites instead of giant green rectangles XD

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Took me a while to understand how to play it - really could have used a little more feedback!

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

It kind of snowballed after I beat level one. Overall it was fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

That was a lot of fun; I would like to see this fleshed out more for sure.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Very fun overall.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

I'm having some trouble playing, but it looks nice and seems to have potential. A bit more instruction would be nice.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

Exactly the kind of game I wanted to play!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13am

Game was pretty good. I had a few issues with it though: 1) its very easy, once i killed one planet i just steam rolled the others, 2) not sure why the missiles spawn from the cursor and not from one of the ships, you could even randomize which ship they spawn from for variety, 3) ships frequently overlapped eachother with more than enough room for them all to fit side by side. Other than those 3 quarrels I actually enjoyed it and played till the end, and appreciated the fanfare once you win :P

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

I don't understood how to receive money and win, but I like your idea and sounds.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

Fun little project. Could use a little clearer rules, and more strategy in it (for example, deploying your ships in your own way), but it was fun nonetheless.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

The title of the page says "New project".
Really nice art and animation! I don't like so much the strategic games, i felt the need of doing something when the animation of destruction of the planet was going on... But probably it's just me!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I't a cool idea. but it could be a bit clearer upgrade menu.

Also I would like to see more interactivity during battles. Right now it's mostly luck if I win or lose.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I liked it.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very creative and fun. I got a hang of it pretty fast

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Loved the concept! If some more time is put in this game it could be really great.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Love the particle effects!

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

PRetty good visual effects and music. I didn't get the idea how to control the ships (except of deploying rockets) so it's not very challenging. Won all battles from the first try.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Take that you silly planets!

Pretty fun. I loved the particle effects.

lcass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

hmm, thats not 10 seconds more like 30.

Latency says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:30am

@lcass ya I just tested it on my laptop, I was stupid and forgot to use deltatime so its based on how many ticks happen, on slower computers it will be slower, never noticed on my pc as its 10seconds based on the max frame rate set. Just an oversight

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:57pm

EARTH MUST BE DESTROYED FOR THE GREATER GOOD

Fun game.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Very nice graphics though I sucked at the game! XD I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Really fun space entry, I especially liked the upgrades :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:19am

This is incredibly satisfying! I'm pretty much forced to find the planet with 1 turret on it at the beginning to get going. After that it's great fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]