August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard Slap

by Velro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fun rhythm game using Libgdx and Freesound.org samples.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Audio3.11
#430Innovation3.14
#863Fun2.54
#902Theme2.74
#937Overall2.64
#1119Graphics1.84
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

This is really difficult! I was lost once there were three lines. Two things I would have loved to see: Better feedback on what "the game" thinks I am doing right and an easier mode :) Not bad for a "first "finished" game" game :)

oajfh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Quite a nice idea, an audio-based game. However, no real ending, and I managed to get through by mashing the keys (sorry). I quite liked this game, anyway.

Velro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

@oajfh It's intended to be fun and somewhat educational. I didn't want to punish anyone for not having ridiculous hand coordination. It's cool if you facerolled your way through it :)

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I couldn't run it! It just flashed up and closed. (Mac 10.7)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Hell no, too difficult for me ;) I will always have some love for music games! Nice work!

Velro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

@Canobie Sorry about that, I'm not sure why it's doing that. I haven't been able to try it on a Mac. Its a Java game so I orginally thought it'd work on all platforms. Now that I'm researching I'm seeing there is a conversion process. Sorry for the confusion, I'll try uploading a converted version tomorrow. Thanks for the feedback on this!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Damn, this game gets difficult fast! At least for someone with very little instrument experience. I really like the idea though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

Extremely difficult. Wasn't sure which key to be pushing most of the time. No visual recognition if i was doing right or wrong (aside number up top?, not near where my eyes are focused)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:35pm

While I play drum myself and would have no problem on a drum kit, it's very very difficult on a keyboard :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I wonder if it's easier on actual drums... It's totally challenging, looks much easier on the screenshot :P

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Even though I make music myself (although I don't play actual instruments much) this was hard as hell. I could manage when the cymbal rides came in, but then the cymbal crashes as well, ouch. Interesting take on the theme though.

Arcana says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:24am

Holy crap, that was difficult. Like the others I wasn't really able to tell if I was doing well or not. I do finger drumming on drum pads once in a while but I couldn't get through the four instrument types!

I do like the idea and I'm glad that someone submitted a rhythm game for this theme.

Velro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:14am

The feedback I was trying to give was the color changing. When its black your on a "streak" and when it goes back to the original color you missed one.plus I couldn't change individual note colors. At the time I didn't know how to make particle effects, which would have been great for this. If I can get it to fit the theme I'm hoping to do another music game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:23am

The controls felt a bit awkwardly laid out, there was no way I was hitting all four of those keys in rapid succession. It was a blast, though.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:17am

What da ... this is fucking hard... but hey I think there are music loving gamers who can play this! Looks good...

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:18am

No idea what I was doing half the time, but I made it through by button mashing :P Cool game.

galman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I really like the idea, but it's to hard already at the beginning :P

Wertle says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:21am

Apparently my capacity to retain tracks of rhythm information stops at 3, but I'm glad the drum sounds made it good for flailing frantically :) I had a little trouble with the color feedback for the lines, I couldn't tell if color or black meant "success" or "miss" Nice work overall!

geekdrums says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I wanted to challenge more! (by a drummer)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]