August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Reload

by zn01wr - Jam Entry

A game about a crazy scientist and a robot with only ten seconds of energy! Controls with arrow keys, e to dash and space to skip dialogues.
Main theme was made by Franklin Webber (https://soundcloud.com/franklin-webber/sets)
Thanks to shinD for making a windows executable! Check his game, it's really fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#69Fun(Jam)3.55
#79Overall(Jam)3.63
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#109Theme(Jam)3.50
#159Audio(Jam)3.23
#166Humor(Jam)2.90
#219Innovation(Jam)3.14

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nice graphics, and good idea :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Awesome graphics! very fun too! great work :D

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Would have prefrered an executable version sooner

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I just fancy your graphics, shame I can't play the game.

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Solid mechanics and level design, the graphics are good too. The sound was a too stressing for my taste, but over all a cool game!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

Solid gameplay with a good difficulty ramp and neat puzzle elements. Love the art style, too!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

Very nice looking game with awesome game mechanics!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Love graphics and game mechanics! :)
It's also a really polished game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:05am

Great game! It might just be my keyboard glitching out but at some point the game started always moving left

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:37am

Really awesome graphics, really fluid animations as well, loving that jet-pack, well done!

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

Love the graphics and gameplay, but the fans were more annoying than fun. The high pitch whine in the music got annoying too.

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

I like the mechanics of this game. Sacrificing battery power (time) for speed/jump boosts is a fun risk/reward. The face of the scientist reminds me of the face and mask designs from Hotline Miami (which I like).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:43am

i like graphics, concept, but its bugged at the third level, when i spawn the char move to left and die. So crazy! Good job anyway

shinD says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Fun, looks nice and polished and controls well. Good job!

dylanigan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

level 1 was just an empty room for me. Pressing the arrow keys did nothing.

soulrot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

The last level is pretty frustrating because of the fact that I kept wasting my double jumps by getting stuck to the level. I did manage to complete it after quite a few retries though. Nice game, looks great!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Can't seem to extract the file.

zn01wr says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:35am

@dylanigan
@pighead10
I checked the zip files, they seem to be working fine. If you get any error message, please post it.
Thanks everybody for the nice comments :D

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:09pm

So cool!
Got stuck once at the beggining of the jump jump jump level.
Awesome graphics and nice design. Verbal abusive mad scientist FTW

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Came here because of your awesome avatar, stayed for the game!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:10am

I tried to use the source code on Mac OSX Mountain Lion and got the following errors: http://tinypic.com/r/i6i4ow/5

To be fair, I haven't used Pyglet since last LD and I installed Mountain Lion over Lion in the interim, so it may be a problem at my end rather than yours.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:12am

It IS my end. I just tried running my ow LD26 game to no avail. >_> How embarrassing.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:42am

Best 2d pixel graphics I encountered in the whole LD so far. The jetpack flame - plus the effect you leave behind on the ground made you actually "feel" you used a powerful tool, which upgraded the already good mood into really great experience!
Took me a while to figure out that the jetpack and dash(!) could be used over a longer timespan, if held down longer...
Nice percussive beat, btw!

burtlo says ...
Dec 10, 2013 @ 1:17am

Awesome game. Proud to have contributed the music on such a cool project.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]