August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ahh! It's Chasing Me!

by Zknet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first time participating in a Ludum Dare. I actually just started playing with game development a couple weeks ago. I updated Twitter (@zknet) during the course of the competition if you want to see how I flailed throughout the competition.

The idea is simple. You're in a very dark wilderness and you have a 10 seconds head start before you will start being hunted. It's very dark. The skyline and two feet in front of your face (and the glowy thing chasing you) should be the only visible things.

Truthfully, the game world is too big and it's very unlikely anyone will be patient enough to find the end. I wanted to do more to make it more interesting, but you know... 48 hours.

If you fall through the world after dying, I apologize. It's a bug I tried to band-aid before the end, but it still can happen.

I haven't tested the Mac or Linux builds... I'm trusting in Unity for those. (I do have a Mac and will try to test it later.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#282Mood3.11
#652Audio2.37
#857Graphics2.38
#945Humor1.47
#1122Overall2.28
#1153Theme1.93
#1154Innovation1.86
#1178Fun1.66

Comments

realtutsgml says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very Glitchy and couldn't quite see where I was, needed more lighting. After I died once it would spawn me back under the map and I would fall to my death. Not 100% sure how this fits the theme as well, maybe I missed something. 2/5

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Oh, unfortunately my puny laptop can't handle this game. And I love horror games.

Zknet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

Unfortunately, the falling the world bug got through to the final build. I did note it on the web version's page.

Zknet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

*falling through the world....

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

the ten second theme application is not very strong here..

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Great concept, maybe a little tooooo dark, but it was very creepy and atmospheric. I ran around lost for a while before giving up.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

It feels very much like slenderman. As a game it's pretty light, I didn't really feel like I was playing it so much. There was a good sense of being lost, but never any sense of being found to take advantage of it. Basically atmosphere without contrast.

Really impressive for a first attempt. Now that you havea grasp on the technical stuff, focus on the game elements!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

I ran into a serious bug at the very beginning. screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/jt6Xlw7.png

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

I'd suggest more lighting. I couldn't see anything.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

I spent way longer than I thought I would looking for that house. I never found it, but enjoyed running around!

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Well I couldn't find the house :P. Keep up the game dev work. Its tough but its worth pursuing.

mklee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Appropriately spooky atmosphere for a game where you are being hunted. Unfortunately the game runs only for 2 playthroughs before you start clipping through the floor.

Graphics are functional, would have liked to have seen more varies terrain than trees and the ghost itself is only seen if you're about to die. Interpreting the theme as a "10 second headstart" is clever though.

I wish overall there was a better sense of being "hunted" in this game. Right now it still very much feels like you're just walking around a sparse forest and even when the chase is on there's no real sense of urgency. It would be nice when a ghost gets closer to you to both warn the player and give them a chance to escape! Having a dash mechanic could add a lot of tension and action to the game.

Still congrats on finishing Ludum Dare! Good luck on getting started in game development and hopefully you'll be working on many future Ludum Dares to come!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

I feel like it's missing some crucial gameplay elements, it doesn't really feel like a game at the moment...
Works perfectly on Mac btw :)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I got really low fps

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Cool, similar take on the theme as my entry :D (getting a head start from something chasing you) It's a good job, but the darkness is a little too much - obviously it should be dark to set the atmosphere, but I'm unable to differentiate between a hill right in front of me, and one way off in the distance and keep just banging into walls as a result. Good job though, nice atmosphere and it can really be a little intense when you hear the hunter thing approaching D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23am

While the concept is good, I feel the execution lacked some important things (even keeping in mind it is your first attempt, which is something I congratulate you on :D). Mainly, the lighting was way, way insufficient. I would have gone for a flashlight or included lights in the environment itself, to give a better sense of position and depth to the world. As of now it was really a "I hope I stumble in the right direction" kind of things, even on repeated playthroughs, because it was near impossible to know where you were. That said, hope to see more horror (or other!) games from you in the next LDs to come!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:04am

I have Mac OSX Mountain Lion, and when I tried to open the game I was given the unhelpful error that it quit unexpectedly.

euske says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:28am

Somehow managed to get to the house by keep running and walk along a leftside wall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]