August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wappansai!

by 5outh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everything is zipped up in Wappansai.rar.

The executable is called "Wappansai.exe"

This was my first Ludum Dare, so it's kind of buggy and a lot of things are organized poorly; sorry the folder is messy and apologies if the game crashes on you :P

Anyway, this is kind of a "roguelike-like" where you have to clear rooms in less than ten seconds, or you die. Use WASD to move, arrow keys to attack. Apart than that, you'll just have to figure it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#476Fun3.00
#634Audio2.40
#636Graphics2.76
#666Theme3.06
#867Innovation2.53
#899Overall2.69
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:34pm

fun! ^_^

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very impressed with this. Much more fun than I thought it would be. I enjoyed it more than binding of isaac. I hope you continue to develop this!

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

There's an idea that deserved to be developed.
A found attacking a bit weird, it took time before I know for sure how it work

5outh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

@jordans and @Lo-X, thank you both so much! Attacking is definitely one of the things that I felt didn't work correctly, so if I do continue to work on this, that'll get fixed quickly.

5outh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Oh, and @cbear_wallis, of course, thank you as well!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

Didn't know what to do. Then suddenly crashed.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56am

Once you get going, having to make split decisions to clear rooms is pretty fun. The process of getting going, though? Felt rather slow and opaque. Free movement often felt more like a hindrance than a help, as it was easy to overstep when walking up to a foe. The start of something really cool, though!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

There isn't any any key...

That was neat. Obviously still wants a lot of development.

Is that supposed to be Commander Video after an all-month pie eating binge?

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Pretty good. Some items would spawn on enemies and pitfalls. The attacking was a bit awkward.

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I don't know if any of you will actually see this again, but I just want to say thanks for all of the constructive criticism and suggestions, I appreciate it!

triforcespark says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15am

Good game, but attacking feels weird, probably the sound effect isn't coordinated with the animation.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Some random deaths and crashes are frustrating, and some rooms seem impossible, but otherwise a fun game.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

The red enemies could have some kind of simple movement maybe,
and the attack range was too short, otherwise, very nice work!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:27am

I was randomly generated an unbeatable level, killed the flow. This was a lot of fun, given the time constraints. I could see this turning into something marketable.

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:07am

Would love to see this developed further - I totally agree that attacking needs refining, but you've said this is your first LD and you've done a solid job on your entry so well done :) I hope the experience inspired you to take part in future LDs!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]