August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Entropy

by Supercannon - Jam Entry

Entropy is a survival game where the world changes around you as you play. Every 10 seconds, something in the world changes, for better or worse. The controls are WASD to move, shift to sprint, space to jump, and click to shoot. Good Luck!
Credits:
Supercannon
Pizzadude23

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#112Fun(Jam)3.39
#143Theme(Jam)3.43
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#276Innovation(Jam)3.01
#279Graphics(Jam)3.30
#282Mood(Jam)2.95
#288Audio(Jam)2.84
#397Humor(Jam)1.97

Comments

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55am

lovely entry good work!

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

Looks good, controls aren't annoying (on Unity+Mac, that's saying something), difficulty increase is paced well.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

Nice

gbear605 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

Fun little game. Gets extremely hard towards the end. I enjoyed playing it.

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

Great way to approach the theme and crunch on time.

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

This was AWESOME.
I really liked events that you did.

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

I really like this "random-" mechanic!

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Looks really good, I like it! I'd feel better with a bigger gun, or more gun options, nice work!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

nice job! good all round effort :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

This arena style survival game could have started just a little but faster

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

That was great. I loved the art style and the various enemies were all great. Only problem was I got a mediocre short ranged random weapon right before a bunch of more difficult guys started spawning!

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Great job, I enjoyed it.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

Cool game. It's fun when a lot of the larger enemies start to spawn and things get crazy. The basic concept could be expanded on even further in some interesting ways.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

I like this game a lot. The only thing I would have to criticize is the graphics and even then it looks really nice. Good work

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

Love the style and controls. Really fun nice work :D)

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36pm

This game was definitely impressive but you did what most people did. You went for the map to change. I loved the concept and all that but if you used 10 seconds in a different way I would of loved this game. Good job anyway!

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

That game was beautiful and fun!!! Could have been a little bit optimized; had some pretty bad framerates in some situations, but that was great!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:53am

I like your use of the theme, and the starburst effect of shooting a wall. Nicely done for a weekends worth of work!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57am

Decent FPS survival. I feel the enemy cubes are hard to beat. Good work :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59am

Easy to understand and play. Fun theme idea.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Interesting style of graphics, and all is very solid. :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice!

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Solid entry. I have never feared a cube so much.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Well done!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54pm

good job

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice ambiance ! Love it ! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:17pm

good job, very nice game !

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Addicting gameplay and cool visuals. Great job :)

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice game.Very tense.
Visuals and sounds fitting nicely together.
Could be something from Tron ^^

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Very neat game, wow. Interesting art style, too.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

100 POINTS!!! Very good game!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Good job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

I like the simple tron kind of look to this guys! The game got a little imbalanced later on though since it seems the enemies can shoot lasers through the cube walls : ( I liked firing the laser gun though it had a nice effect : ). Dat jump sound also, lol. Good stuff : )

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Controls arge goods, the graphics are cool, the music a little low maybe, all in all a fun game, totaly in the theme :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very nice, only thing i didn't completely understand was how the bullets worked(i think they just explode right in front of you?)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Neat idea adding something new every ten seconds. Loved the glowing graphics + driving music.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I got the BOSS after 30 seconds! Damn it this is fun! :D

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The randomness on the effects was a really good idea. I can see myself playing this game again and again.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Pretty great. Run backward and shoot like mad! Cool concept.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Very funny

X-0r says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Would be nice to have a bit more "info" about what's going on... I'm not even sure, if these dropships(?) can be shot. I believe I took one of these down, but my shots usually exploded like fireworks as they reached them.
I liked the neon effects ^_^ and the amount of different weapons. That plasma-gun-ish projectile deals a hell lot of damage. I never recieved a full automatic weapon, but it might just have been bad luck (by that I mean, it would be awesome to riddle the cubes with massive amounts of projectiles :P)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

This is probably the most fun game I've played this session :) I played this for about 2 hours.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Feels highly complete for a game in such a short space... it has a very unique graphic style which is complemented by the music very nicely... In the random weapon I got a bad weapon that made me lose fast, so possibly... weapons may bneed balancing xD

dremelofdeath says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

Nifty! Really enjoyed playing this one. Really, really loved the 90s MIDI style audio, was totally classic. Some of the guns seemed really weak, though. The super slow rate firing blob gun plus like 4 boss spawns in a row proved lethal. Thanks for the fun!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

So many Bosses! One of the few games that give a complete experience, nicely done!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Idea is obvious in retrospect! Had a lot of fun reacting to random input, but then suddenly died upon receiving the reflecting weapon. Which,I guess, is fair enough. Good work!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

The changing world part was the best thing. the flying ships shooting at me were cool.

villhest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Pretty awesome!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Really slick and polished gameplay. Everything about this worked and I had a lot of fun playing. Good job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The music! pew! pew! I love it :) It gets harder and harder, but maybe a little bit too slowly. Nice game though!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The graphics reming me of torn, in a good way! Only the music isn´t really fitting in, in my opinion.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Pretty neat idea. I liked it.

Khopa says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Great :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:18am

DAMNED SNEAKY CUBES! Great job, guys!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:21am

found it very hard to kill the enemies, would have liked more power in the shot. in any case, a nice little game. well done! :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:32am

I like the concept! My favorite weapon in this is the yellow lasers. Less reload time and more range. Its difficult to survive with the small short range sphere bullets.

Great job on this!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Style is cool, sound wondiful! Good game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice shooter. Loved the random generation. Difficulty increased very nicely and I was entertained the whole time. Sounds were a bit lacking and it could have used some music. Solid entry otherwise. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Real nice FPS-like-random-feature-wireframe game..

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice entry. Would polish it up some more. The mouse movement was way too fast for me on osx. Some unity games are fine and some are not. Razer high dpi mouse for what it's worth.

sergilazaro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:26pm

This was pretty fun!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Pretty good for the time you had. Thought the basic idea was good but would have liked to have seen some stuff that really mixed it up more. Even with all the random stuff happening in the game my gameplay didn't really change from any of it so it would have been cool to see some powerups or guns spawn in randomly also. Also the it would of been nice to get some more use out of the jump. Other than that this was pretty good. Difficulty curve seemed spot on and the music/sounds were nice too. Good work!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice entry! I'm not sure of what happens when it says "random movement", my movement seems pretty identical as usual..
The idea of a changing world every ten seconds is very good. You keep the player attached to the game because i want to see what's going on next

paraple-geek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice game, played a lot!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:14pm

This was cool! I loved it but got really screwed over with random weapon and a boss

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:46am

Oh wow. Random weapon is so awesome, it feels so powerful (sometimes). Really solid entry. Random gameplay is awesome (if a little unbalanced). Very fun!

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Nice game. Would have loved powerups or ways to change the weapon other than waiting for it to get randomized. Good fun otherwise!

crashbanito says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I love the dynamic weapon randomization, although sometime it can get extremely unbalanced in some skews. My first play through gave me a grenade launcher with hardly any range or damage, but my second gave me a gun that killed everything instantly with a fireworks explosion.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Very fun game , the difficulty was cool. The balance of the guns is a little off, some guns are nearly useless and some are way too powerful. I love the MOD sound of the music, reminds me of a DOS game pretty cool!

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good Game! but it got a little frustrating i faced a boss right away and the weapon was kinda weak

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Very nice! I had great fun playing this :)
And, for me, it definitely has that "one more try" factor to it :D

superfoonly says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:31am

Sweet graphics but it seemed like the difficulty ramps up pretty quickly

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:39am

Excellent graphics! Struggled at first to control things (web on mac).

Jason says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Nice job! I like the art style and felt the controls worked pretty well. I did get random weapon once right off the start that gave me something that just lobbed a projectile right in front of myself, made that play through really annoying for the rest of it!

Mesene says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Was fun to play :D good job!

motty says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Looks great. Linux version did not work for me :(

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Really fun game. Control works good and difficulty increase smoothly. :)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:05am

A very good idea, that I could definitely see grow into something bigger. The difficulty scaled nicely over time.

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

Really fun to play! Cool art style and theme usage. Not knowing what's going to change next really adds to the excitement and it gets pretty challenging when you are preoccupied with the current enemies to see what's coming next. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]